B. Fleischmann

The Humbucking Coil

Morr Music morr 063-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
The Humbucking Coil is a schizophrenic apparatus. A pick-up that eliminates the guitar's usual interferences, its white noise, just by means of doubling them. Two electromagnetic coils turn each other mute. What solely remains is the pure sound of the vibrating string. And that what is done with this single sound.
Bernhard Fleischmann named his latest album after the roughly 50-year-old Humbucking Coil. As old as modern pop music: the pick-up, not the artist. And Bernhard Fleischmann has taken an electronically amplified guitar. This happened for a first, a curious time. The Humbucking Coil has become an open, breathing album. Rather soundbox than hard disk. Being part of a process that has become visible in different moments on his previous album Welcome Tourist already. In between, and last year, there was the project duo 505, developed together with Herbert Weixelbauer. There the groovebox (Roland 505), here the amplified guitar (Humbucking Coil), there the micro levels of clicks and cuts, here the warmth of an old valve driven microphone. Vibraphone, piano, guitar, they all come together in a still electronic context. The album's cover, this graphic strictness on an ivory fond; a visual quotation of jazz that gets on very well with the music inside.
Eight songs came out of this process, songs especially in terms of melody. Of melancholy perhaps. Songs that linger, that indulge. Songs that allow a halt as well. Aldebaran Waltz is a slow farewell in three-four time. According to the background sounds it seems as if one can hear the door squeak softly. Static grate is a smooth piano miniature, garnished with the slightly distorted, rustling rhythm structures that one knows of Bernhard Fleischmann yet and that he carries on using on The Humbucking Coil. The opening song broken monitors, euphoric pop in slow motion, carefully arranged around a guitar's slowed down melody.
The Humbucking Coil's recording, assembling and mixing was done once again together with and in the studio of Christoph Amann. Besides, the Viennese bricoleur of Jazz and Electronica Christof Kurzmann being a close friend not even since Bernhard Fleischmann's debut Poploops for Breakfast of 1999 was involved in this process once again.

B. Fleischmann: The Humbucking Coil

Broken Monitors B. Fleischmann 7'08''
Gain B. Fleischmann 4'44''
Composure B. Fleischmann 5'34''
First Times B. Fleischmann 5'10''
Phones And Machines B. Fleischmann 5'04''
Static Grate B. Fleischmann 4'24''
From To B. Fleischmann 5'49''
Aldebaran Waltz B. Fleischmann 5'38''

Nice as well:

The Year Of Slow Days Morr Music
CD: 5,99 €
LP: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Herrmann & Kleine Our Noise Morr Music
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Múm Early Birds Morr Music
2LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL

B. Fleischmann

The Humbucking Coil

Morr Music morr 063-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
The Humbucking Coil ist eine schizophrene Apparatur. Ein Tonabnehmer, der die bei einer elektrischen Gitarre sonst üblichen Störgeräusche, ihr weißes Rauschen, gerade dadurch eliminiert, das er sie verdoppelt. Zwei elektromagnetische Spulen schalten sich gegenseitig stumm. Übrig bleibt einzig der reine Ton der angeschlagenen Saite. Und das, was mit diesem Ton eben so angestellt wird.
Bernhard Fleischmann hat sein aktuelles Album nach dem etwa 50 Jahre alten Humbucking Coil benannt. So alt wie die moderne Popmusik, der Tonabnehmer, nicht der Künstler. Und Bernhard Fleischmann hat für The Humbucking Coil zur elektrisch verstärkten Gitarre gegriffen. Ein erstes, neugieriges Mal. The Humbucking Coil ist eine offene, atmende Platte geworden, mehr Resonanzkörper als Festplatte. Eine Entwicklung, die sich in Momenten schon auf seinem vorherigen Album Welcome Tourist abgezeichnet hatte. Zwischenzeitlich und im vergangenen Jahr dann das gemeinsam mit Herbert Weixelbaum entwickelte Projekt duo 505. Dort die Groovebox (Roland 505), hier die E-Gitarre (Humbucking Coil), dort die Mikroebenen der Klicks und Cuts, hier die transparente Wärme eine Röhrenmikrophons. Vibraphon, Klavier, Gitarre fließen hinein in einen immer noch elektronischen Arbeitsprozess. Und das Albumcover, diese graphische Strenge auf elfenbeinweißem Grund: ein visuelles Jazz-Zitat, dass sich mit der darin eingeschlagenen Musik ausgezeichnet versteht.
Acht Songs sind es geworden, Songs vor allem im Sinne von Melodie. Von Melancholie vielleicht. Songs, die schweben, schwelgen, die auch mal Einhalt gewähren. Aldebaran Waltz ist ein langsamer Abschied im Dreivierteltakt, im Hintergrund meint man, noch leise die Türe quietschen zu hören. Static grate eine ruhige Klavierminiatur, garniert mit den angezerrten, raschelnden Rhythmusstrukturen, wie man sie bisher und auch weiterhin von Bernhard Fleischmann kennt. Der Opener broken monitors euphorischer Zeitlupen-Pop im Band-Ambiente, sorgsam drapiert um eine verzögerte Gitarrenmelodie.
Das Aufnehmen, Assemblieren und Abmischen von The Humbucking Coil geschah einmal mehr gemeinsam mit und im Tonstudio von Christoph Amann. Ebenfalls einmal mehr war an diesem Prozess der Wiener Jazz- und Electronica-Verknüpfer Christof Kurzmann beteiligt, ein enger Freund nicht erst seit Bernhard Fleischmanns Debüt Poploops for Breakfast aus dem Jahr 1999.

B. Fleischmann: The Humbucking Coil

Broken Monitors B. Fleischmann 7'08''
Gain B. Fleischmann 4'44''
Composure B. Fleischmann 5'34''
First Times B. Fleischmann 5'10''
Phones And Machines B. Fleischmann 5'04''
Static Grate B. Fleischmann 4'24''
From To B. Fleischmann 5'49''
Aldebaran Waltz B. Fleischmann 5'38''
Wechsel Garland Easy Karaoke Kalk
LP: 13,99 €
CD: 3,25 € 12,99 €
A-Symmetry I Am Life AGF Producktion
CD: 3,75 € 14,99 €
incl. instant DL
Static Talking About Memories Static Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Normal Echo Accidental Forever Mansions and Millions
LP: 3,75 € 14,99 €
incl. instant DL