incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
After more than 50 releases, it is time for Morr Music's first licensed record. Yes, we have more love than for our artists only. Thus, this release here is also a document of our being fans, because ever since the "Home EP Vol. 5" had been released on the US label Post-Parlo at the beginning of 2003, it has a safe and warm place in the upper regions of our office charts.
The idea behind the "Home" series is simple, clear and good: Take two artists, ask each for three exclusive songs and a cover version of one of the other's song. For their fifth edition of this series Post-Parlo were able to get Ben Gibbard (Death Cab For Cutie/The Postal Service) and Andrew Kenny (American Analog Set) on board. They prove that reduced singer-/songwriting (both only need their voice and an acoustic guitar) does not necessarily have to deal with whining self-indulgence or with the tyranny of songs about the absent (ex-)girlfriend. Instead, Gibbard and Kenny both succeed in approaching the subject of this ep's title with subtlety: Home. After all, this is the place both are longing for most of the time, as they are constantly on the road with their respective bands. So it just fits nicely, that all of these songs have been recorded on fourtrack in the artisits' living rooms in New York and Seattle.
Considering the minimalist approach of this record as well as the simplified recording process, it clearly shows, that both Gibbard's and Kenny's songwriting are only fractures of the same thing, meaning they're closer musically, than the sound of their bands might initially suggest. The choice of their covers - Ben Gibbard plays American Analog Set's "Choir Vandals", Andrew Kenny interprets "Line Of Best Fit" by Death Cab - can only stress their close connection.
This record being re-released on Morr Music is also a sign of a collaboration initiated by Styrofoam, becoming more and more apparent now. It all started a few years back when Styrofoam did remixes for American Analog Set's "Updates EP" on Tiger Style Records. He also did a beautiful picture-split-7" on Rocket Racer with Dntel aka Jimmy Tamborello, who runs The Postal Service with Ben Gibbard. Gibbard and Kenny both have contributed to Styrofoam's album "Nothing's Lost" at the end of 2004 and at the beginning of 2005, Sub Pop will release something new by The Postal Service, featuring a Styrofoam-Remix as well.

Benjamin Gibbard & Andrew Kenny: Home Ep

You Remind Me Of Home Benjamin Gibbard 2'16''
Carolina Benjamin Gibbard 2'25''
Farmer Chords Benjamin Gibbard 2'26''
Choir Vandals Benjamin Gibbard 2'34''
Hometown Fantasy Andrew Kenny 1'53''
Secrets Of The Heart Andrew Kenny 2'15''
Church Mouse In The Church House Andrew Kenny 4'42''
Line Of Best Fit Andrew Kenny 5'00''

Nice as well:

Tied & Tickled Trio A.R.C. (dvd Pal) Morr Music
DVD (pal) +CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
DVD (ntsc) +CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Lali Puna Our Inventions Morr Music
CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
LP: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Seabear We Built A Fire Morr Music
2CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Duo 505 Walzer Oder Nicht Morr Music
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio Observing Systems Morr Music
CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL

Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Nach mehr als 50 eigenen Veröffentlichungen ist es bei Morr Music nun erstmals Zeit für eine Lizensierung. Schließlich kann man nicht immer nur die eigenen Acts toll finden. Und so ist diese Veröffentlichung in erster Linie eines: Das Dokument unseres Fantums, denn die "Home EP Vol V" hält sich seit ihres Erscheinens Anfang 2003 auf dem us-amerikanischen Post-Parlo Label konstant hoch in unseren Office-Charts.
Die Idee der "Home"-Serie ist dabei schlicht, ergreifend und gut: Man nehme zwei Künstler, bitte sie um jeweils drei exklusive Songs und eine Cover-Version des jeweils anderen Musikers.
Für die fünfte Ausgabe dieser ursprünglich nur über ein Abonnement erhältlichen Reihe konnten Post-Parlo Ben Gibbard (Death Cab For Cutie/The Postal Service) und Andrew Kenny (American Analog Set) gewinnen, die hier den traumhaften Beweis antreten, dass auf's Wesentliche (in diesem Fall Stimme und Akustikgitarre) konzentriertes Singer-/Songwriting nichts mit weinerlicher Selbstbezüglichkeit oder der Tyrannei von Liedern über das aus welchen Gründen auch immer nicht mehr anwesende Girlfriend zu tun haben muss. Stattdessen gelingt es sowohl Gibbard als auch Kenny, sich in ihren Stücken auf eine subtile Weise dem Titel dieser EP-Serie zu nähern: "Home". Schließlich ist dies der Ort, an den sich beide die meiste Zeit des Jahres sehnen, sind sie doch mittlerweile pausenlos auf Tour. Ehrensache sozusagen, dass Kenny und Gibbard ihre Songs mit Vierspurgeräten in den Wohnzimmern ihrer Appartments in Seattlle und New York aufgenommen haben.
Unter den vereinfachten Produktionsbedingungen zeigt sich darüberhinaus sehr deutlich, wie nah sich die zwei in ihrem musikalischen Verständnis trotz der Unterschiede ihrer Hauptprojekte doch sind. Die Auswahl der gegenseitigen Coverversionen - Ben Gibbard spielt American Analog Sets "Choir Vandals", Andrew Kenny interpretiert "Line Of Best Fit" von Death Cab - tut ihr Übriges, um diesen Eindruck noch zu unterstreichen.
Dass diese EP nun auf Morr Music wieder veröffentlicht wird, ist natürlich auch ein Zeichen einer sich schon länger anbahnenden Zusammenarbeit. So hat Morr Music-Artist Styrofoam bereits vor Längerem Remixe für das American Analog Set produziert. Gibbard und Kenny wiederum zählten zu den Musikern, die Styrofoam für die Produktion seines Ende 2004 erschienenen Albums "Nothing's Lost" eingeladen hatte. Der Kreis schließt sich Anfang 2005, wenn auf SubPop ein Styrofoam-Remix für The Postal Service erscheint.

Benjamin Gibbard & Andrew Kenny: Home Ep

You Remind Me Of Home Benjamin Gibbard 2'16''
Carolina Benjamin Gibbard 2'25''
Farmer Chords Benjamin Gibbard 2'26''
Choir Vandals Benjamin Gibbard 2'34''
Hometown Fantasy Andrew Kenny 1'53''
Secrets Of The Heart Andrew Kenny 2'15''
Church Mouse In The Church House Andrew Kenny 4'42''
Line Of Best Fit Andrew Kenny 5'00''
Aster Things That Just Happen Rel Records
LP: 8,50 € 16,99 €
incl. instant DL
Candie Hank Demons Shitkatapult
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ms. John Soda While Talking Morr Music
CDEP: 2,50 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL