Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
There are a thousand reasons to establish a band. And probably a thousand reasons not to. For example, regularly setting the alarm for three in the night, getting up, making music for an hour, and going back to bed. And the next morning during daylight, checking to see whether it was all a dream or reality.
Or filming commuters in a train station, writing a computer program to accompany the film which generates music on the basis of the movements of the people filmed, and calling the whole thing ‘Sonata for the Unaware’.
One person who likes to follow such unusual practices is Alexander Chen, aka Boy in Static – 23 years old, residing in Boston, grew up in New Jersey and downtown Philadelphia, musical socialisation via classical piano and viola in the school string orchestra, later guitar and discovery of the wonderful world of CPU-clocked sounds and music. No (notable) band memberships, just going it alone. This can be difficult, when the heliocentric part takes the upper hand, but can also lead to revelation and fulfillment, when your own demo somehow finds its way to the label of your favourite band and is well received, leading to the release of the first album.
Enter „Newborn“: ten times DIY-homerecording using contemporary methods, ten songs made up of acoustic guitar, crazy fingerboard playing, rumbling bass, muted singing, distorted drums, expressive string sequences galore, cheap E-Bay organ and carefully orchestrated laptop manouvres. So it is something that has not yet been heard in this world of reference-modellers and categerisers. Not rock, not electronic, not folk. Not ‘post-‘, not ‘pre-‘, simply there. Present. At first glance perhaps a little bit of each, but on the second glance not the usual sum of its parts. Rather, more. Much more. A completely unique universe with delicate miniature mood portraits without over the top sentimentality, but with maximum effect. Accompanied by song titles that are like rays of sunshine on autumn days: „Warm Blooded“, Kissed Under The Sun“, „Truly Yours“ or „Slept Fine“. Melodious sound and beauty. Warmth and atmosphere. Stillness and drama in hectic times.
Layer by layer, colour spot by colour spot, mosaic tile by mosaic tile, pieced together according to an invisible personal master plan that will never be understood by outsiders, but will simply be enjoyed - with a happy heart and the knowledge that something very special has been discovered.
Andreas Schiegl

Boy in Static: New Born

Bellyfull Boy In Static 4'43''
Newborn Boy In Static 4'56''
Kissed Under The Sun Boy In Static 4'48''
Stay Awake Boy In Static 4'03''
Broke Boy In Static 4'24''
First Words Boy In Static 1'23''
Epilogue Boy In Static 5'01''
Truly Yours Boy In Static 5'25''
Warm Blooded Boy In Static 4'02''
Slept Fine Boy In Static 4'29''

Nice as well:

Amiina Puzzle Sound Of A Handshake
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Saroos Saroos Alien Transistor
LP: 13,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL

Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Es gibt tausend Gründe, eine Band zu gründen. Und vermutlich tausend, die dagegen sprechen. Beispielsweise sich den Wecker regelmäßig auf drei Uhr früh stellen, aufstehen, eine Stunde Musik machen, sich wieder schlafen legen. Und am folgenden Morgen bei Tageslicht nachsehen, ob das alles nur ein Traum war oder Realität.
Oder mit einer Kamera Pendler in einer Bahnhofstation filmen, dazu ein Computer-Programm schreiben, das basierend auf den Bewegungen der gefilmten Personen Musik generiert und das Ganze „Sonata For The Unaware“ nennen.
Einer, der gerne solch ungewöhnlichen Gepflogenheiten nachgeht, ist Alexander Chen aka Boy In Static’s – 23 Jahre alt, wohnhaft in Boston, aufgewachsen in New Jersey und Downtown Philadelphia, musikalische Sozialisierung via klassisches Klavier und Viola im Schul-Streichorchester, später Gitarre und Entdeckung der wundersamen Welt CPU-getakteter Sounds und Musiken. Keine (nennenswerten) Bandmitgliedschaften, nur Einzelkämpfertum (im positiven Sinn). Sowas kann schwer nerven, wenn der heliozentrische Anteil überhand nimmt, oder aber zur Offenbarung/Erfüllung werden, wenn über verschlungene Wege das eigene Demo beim Label der Lieblingsband höchsten Gefallen findet und sich daraus die erste Plattenveröffentlichung entwickelt.
Enter „Newborn“: Zehn mal DIY-Homerecording mit zeitgenössischen Mitteln, zehn Lieder zwischen Akustikgitarre, Griffbrettwetzen, Wummerbass, verhaltenem Gesang, distorted Drums, gefühlvollen Streichersequenzen galore, Ebay-Billigkauf-Orgel und ausgefeilten Laptop-Frickeleien. So noch nicht gehört in dieser unserer Welt der Referenzmodellierer und Schubladisierungsdenker. Nicht Rock, nicht Elektro, nicht Folk. Nicht „Post-“, nicht „Prä-“, sondern einfach da. Präsent. Auf den ersten Blick womöglich ein kleinwenig von allem, auf den zweiten aber dennoch nicht die übliche Summe der (Einzel)Teile. Sondern mehr. Viel mehr. Ein gänzlich eigenes Universum mit filigranen kleinteiligen Stimmungsbildern ohne übertrieben-laute Gesten, dafür mit maximaler Tiefenwirkung. Passend dazu Songtitel wie Sonnenstrahlen an herbstlichen Tagen: „Warm Blooded“, Kissed Under The Sun“, „Truly Yours“ oder „Slept Fine“. Wohlklang und Schönheit. Wärme und Atmosphäre. Stille (und) Dramatik für/in hektische(n) Zeiten.
Schicht für Schicht, Farbtupfer für Farbtupfer, Mosaikstein für Mosaikstein zusammengefügt nach einem unsichtbaren persönlichen Masterplan, den Außenstehende nie kapieren würden, sondern nur als Ergebnis genießen dürfen – mit einem Lächeln im Herzen und der Gewissheit, etwas ganz Besonderes entdeckt zu haben.
Andreas Schiegl

Boy in Static: New Born

Bellyfull Boy In Static 4'43''
Newborn Boy In Static 4'56''
Kissed Under The Sun Boy In Static 4'48''
Stay Awake Boy In Static 4'03''
Broke Boy In Static 4'24''
First Words Boy In Static 1'23''
Epilogue Boy In Static 5'01''
Truly Yours Boy In Static 5'25''
Warm Blooded Boy In Static 4'02''
Slept Fine Boy In Static 4'29''
Múm Early Birds Morr Music
2LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Andrea Taeggi Mama Matrix Most Mysterious Type Vinyl
LP: 10,00 € 19,99 €
incl. instant DL
Fenster Bones Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL