Butcher The Bar

Sleep At Your Own Speed

Morr Music morr 082-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Joel Nicholson has just packed the removal cases, his guitar and the instruments. It's good that his music is so easy to transport from one place to another, between the places and to the people. Once, the 22-year-old Briton has described the cast list of his intimate band as "me and my bedroom". In Manchester the songs of "Butcher the Bar" fill a small house now. But soon these walls won't be the single ones in which they live.
"Make this house a home" maches this atmosphere. It sounds a little like Elliot Smith, the chords' persuasive power, the immediacy of the softly spoken words. An artist like Joel Nicholson would have been called a singer / songwriter when this word had not become an overall label by now. In the meantime quiet was the new loud - in the case of Joel Nicholson it has stayed the old quiet. One is allowed to call it authenticity. But the times when artists did foolish things in order to write small big pop songs afterwards belong definitely to the past. Says Joel Nicholson.
"Sleep at your own speed" tells about it once again. The album is a coming-of-age novel consisting of thirteen short stories. "Getaway", for instance, this declaration of woes to a city that used to be home once - "It used to be a good place". Or "Ball Point Skin Notes", this weightless forlornness of youth. "Leave Town" finally is that reduced and at the same time as exuberant as a pop song can be. An acoustic guitar, a banjo, a warm, direct voice. "I leave town tonight, if only western civilisation feels alright."
Melancholy, deceleration and reduction are Joel Nicholson's musical topics. Folk and postfolk, old and new heroes (Nick Drake, Paul Simon but also Sufjan Stevens), searching, finding and letting go.

Butcher The Bar: Sleep At Your Own Speed

Getaway (Album Version) Butcher the Bar 3'12''
Sex Szene Butcher the Bar 3'56''
Gumble Butcher the Bar 3'58''
You Know Everything Butcher the Bar 2'40''
House / Home Butcher the Bar 3'23''
New Nest Butcher the Bar 3'24''
Opening Night Butcher the Bar 3'01''
Bike Butcher the Bar 2'39''
Leave This Town (Album Version) Butcher the Bar 3'02''
Head´s Contents Butcher the Bar 2'59''
Ball Point Skin Notes Butcher the Bar 3'08''
The Boy You Miss The Most Butcher the Bar 3'30''
Rounds Butcher the Bar 3'09''
Young Hare Unbreak My Heart Altin Village & Mine
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Jan St. Werner Felder Thrill Jockey
LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 8,50 € 16,99 €

Butcher The Bar

Sleep At Your Own Speed

Morr Music morr 082-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Gerade hat Joel Nicholson den Umzugwagen gepackt, seine Gitarre und die Kiste mit den Instrumenten. Gut, dass sich seine Musik so einfach transportieren lässt, zwischen den Orten und zu den Menschen. Als "me and my bedroom", hat der 22-jährige Brite einmal die Besetzung seiner intimen Band bezeichnet. In Manchester füllen die Lieder von "Butcher the Bar" nun ein kleines Haus. Bald werden es nicht mehr die einzigen Wände sein, in denen sie wohnen.
"Make this house a home" eben, so heißt es ganz passend auf seinem Debütalbum "Sleep at your own speed". Und klingt ein wenig nach Elliot Smith, die Überzeugungskraft der Akkorde, die Unmittelbarkeit der leisen Worte. Singer/Songwriter hätte man einen wie Joel Nicholson einmal genannt, als es um dieses Wort noch nicht geschehen war. In der Zwischenzeit war Leise schon einmal das neue Laut - im Falle von Joel Nicholson ist es das alte Leise geblieben. Man darf ruhig Authentizität dazu sagen. Aber die Zeiten, in denen man törichte Dinge tat, über die man nachher kleine große Songs schreiben konnte, seien nun vorbei. Sagt Joel Nicholson.
"Sleep at your own speed" erzählt nun noch einmal davon. Das Album ist ein Adoleszenzroman in dreizehn Kurzgeschichten. "Getaway" zum Beispiel, diese Leidenserklärung an eine Stadt, die einmal eine Heimat war - "It used to be a good place". Oder "Ball Point Skin Notes", dieses schwerelose Verlorensein der Jugend. "Leave Town" schließlich ist so reduziert und gleichzeitig überbordend wie ein Popsong nur sein kann. Eine Akustikgitarre, ein Banjo, dazu eine warme, nahe Stimme. "I leave town tonight, if only western civilisation feels alright."
Melancholie, Entschleunigung und Reduktion sind die musikalischen Themen des Joel Nicholson. Folk und Postfolk, alte und neue Helden (Nick Drake, Paul Simon aber auch Sufjan Stevens), Suchen, Finden und Loslassen.

Butcher The Bar: Sleep At Your Own Speed

Getaway (Album Version) Butcher the Bar 3'12''
Sex Szene Butcher the Bar 3'56''
Gumble Butcher the Bar 3'58''
You Know Everything Butcher the Bar 2'40''
House / Home Butcher the Bar 3'23''
New Nest Butcher the Bar 3'24''
Opening Night Butcher the Bar 3'01''
Bike Butcher the Bar 2'39''
Leave This Town (Album Version) Butcher the Bar 3'02''
Head´s Contents Butcher the Bar 2'59''
Ball Point Skin Notes Butcher the Bar 3'08''
The Boy You Miss The Most Butcher the Bar 3'30''
Rounds Butcher the Bar 3'09''