Byul.org

Selected Tracks for Nacht Dämonen

Alien Transistor N 55 CD
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Nocturnal soundscapes, brooding electronics, ambient layers and occasional hooks: "" compiles rare and early recordings of Seoul's Byul.org, an influential creative collective known for its multidisciplinary/one-stop shop approach & post-punk-inspired DIY aesthetics. Carefully compiled by the collective's director TaeSang Cho and The Notwist's Markus Acher, the album is out via Alien Transistor.

What started out in 2000 as a group of friends who'd meet for drinks (and for sharing the occasional poem), has long established itself as a shape-shifting key player of Seoul's thriving scene: With a huge amount of both commercial and non-commercial projects under their collective belt, Byul.org's members –TaeSang Cho, Yu Hur, Jowall, YunYi Yi, and SuhnJoo YI – went from publishing to recording, from releasing tunes to doing art shows, offering everything from branding to consulting and art direction, from naming and design to software development along the way. Although their list of clients includes Atelier Hermès and the Venice Biennale (they did the Korean Pavilion twice), the group still remains a drinking circle of close friends at its core: Buddies who love to create music and document their daily lives via recordings and performances… indeed: Sometimes all it takes is the right crew.

Accordingly, for Byul.org's members, music has always been one outlet among many, one mode of expression to accompany and soundtrack others: Most of the songs on "" were originally released on CDs that came with the collective's own Monthly Vampire, A Magazine, while others were self-published via the group's own label Club Bidanbaem. Featuring sonic diary entries recorded between 2000 and 2007, the album is a nod to personal favorites such as Eno and Aphex Twin, Joy Division and Kraftwerk, personal hero Robert Smith, as well as Korean stalwarts such as Jae Ha Yoo, and Min Ki Kim – and yet there's hardly any daylight around, to be precise – hence the title: "Traditionally in Korea a 'BamDokkebi' is a kind of ghost or monster of the night, but it has also come to mean people who spend their nights out instead of sleeping. We've always been a group of 'BamDokkebi' - drinking, DJing, doing stupid things. These recordings document our night life in different ways, and we wanted to share them with other 'BamDokkebis' (Nacht Dämonen) like us."

Far from polished and often sparse, the 13 tracks all share a rather dark and haunting vibe that's partly inspired by "drug culture, dance floor scenes, the LGBT scene, and the hippie culture in Korea". Ranging from fairly straightforward synth/electro tracks (e.g. "Friday Night") to hazy hymns/understated pop tunes (e.g. "20th Century Of Me And You"), from more experimental textures (e.g. album opener "Job") to minimalist bangers ("A Customer") and haunting vocal tracks ("City Made Of Lights"), it's difficult to escape the soothing, cinematic pull of this nocturnal "Secret Show".

The Korean music scene has always been somewhat elusive on the global stage - even world-class acts such as Sanulim and Shin Jung Hyeon remain a bit of a mystery abroad - but this shouldn't be confused with mere insularity. These 13 tracks offer a peak into a hidden but vibrant scene, a glimpse of what takes place while the rest of us are sleeping.

At long last: Here come the demons of night, Seoul's original Nacht Dämonen.

Byul.org: Selected Tracks for Nacht Dämonen

Job Byul.org 1'32''
A Customer Byul.org 2'32''
City Made Of Lights Byul.org 6'41''
Just Let Them Kill Each Other Byul.org 1'01''
Black Market Byul.org 1'37''
Surf Byul.org 4'26''
Days & Nights Byul.org 2'54''
Nacht Dämonen Byul.org 1'15''
Secret Show Byul.org 5'53''
20thcenturyofmeandyou Byul.org 3'22''
Friday Night Byul.org 3'21''
AFKN (American Forces Korea Network) Byul.org 3'05''
Boy Byul.org 5'30''

Nice as well:

SKY H1 Motion Codes
EP: €12,99
incl. instant DL
Molly Nilsson Imaginations Night School
LP (color): €18,99
LP: €17,99
CD: €14,99
incl. instant DL
James Place Voices Bloom Umor-Rex
LP: €17,99
incl. instant DL

Byul.org

Selected Tracks for Nacht Dämonen

Alien Transistor N 55 CD
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Es sind nächtliche Klangwelten, schemenhafte Tracks zwischen schummrigen Electronica- und Ambient-Teppichen, wobei hin und wieder auch astreine Hooks aufflackern: "" vereint die frühesten Aufnahmen von Byul.org, einem einflussreichen Kreativ-Kollektiv aus Seoul, das für seinen multidisziplinären Ansatz auch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannt ist. Das von TaeSang Cho, dem Kopf des Kollektivs, und Markus Acher (The Notwist) kompilierte Album erscheint bei Alien Transistor.

Was im Jahr 2000 als kleiner Dichterzirkel und trinkfreudige Stammtischrunde anfing, hat sich längst als feste Größe in der kreativen Landschaft Seouls etabliert: Die Mitglieder von Byul.org – TaeSang Cho, Yu Hur, Jowall, YunYi Yi und SuhnJoo YI – fingen an mit Poesie, Publishing und Musik, machten dann erste eigene Kunstausstellungen, um parallel dazu auch alles von Branding und Consulting bis hin zu Art Direction, Design und sogar Software-Entwicklung zu übernehmen. Obwohl sie seither auch für Atelier Hermès oder die Biennale in Venedig gearbeitet haben (sie waren gleich zwei Mal für den koreanischen Pavillon verantwortlich), ist Byul.org in erster Linie noch immer jene Stammtischrunde, als die alles anfing: Es sind fünf gute Freunde, die es lieben, zusammen Musik zu machen, ihr Leben tagebuchartig festzuhalten – unter anderem in Aufnahmen und Performances.

Ein Großteil der auf "" versammelten Tracks ist ursprünglich auf jenen CDs erschienen, die ihrem eigenen Printmagazin "Monthly Vampire, A Magazine" beigelegt waren; andere davon sind in Kleinstauflagen über das eigene Label Club Bidanbaem erschienen. Entstanden zwischen 2000 und 2007, verneigen sie sich mit diesen Tracks u.a. vor persönlichen Helden wie Eno und Aphex Twin, vor Joy Division und Kraftwerk, vor ihrem Idol Robert Smith oder auch vor koreanischen Größen wie Jae Ha Yoo und Min Ki Kim. Die Sonne bricht dabei nur selten durch, daher auch der Titel "Nacht Dämonen": "Der Begriff 'BamDokkebi' steht im Koreanischen für eine Art Geist, ein Nachtmonster – aber heute meint man damit eher Menschen, die die Nacht zum Tag machen. Wir waren schon immer eine Gruppe von 'BamDokkebi': Haben zusammen getrunken, Platten aufgelegt, dummes Zeug gemacht. Diese Aufnahmen dokumentieren diese nächtlichen Erfahrungen, weil wir sie mit anderen 'BamDokkebis' – Nacht Dämonen – teilen wollten."

Zudem inspiriert von der "Drogenkultur, den Dancefloor-Szenen, der LGBT-Szene und der Hippie-Kultur in Korea", haben die 13 Tracks allesamt etwas Düsteres, Schemen- und Skizzenhaftes: Mal recht schnörkellose Synthie-/Electro-Tracks ("Friday Night"), mal unscharfe Pophymnen wie "20th Century Of Me And You", mal experimentelle Klangwelten ("Job"), dann wieder sind es minimalistische Tracks mit viel Nachdruck ("A Customer"), eindringlichen Vocals ("City Made Of Lights") oder einem fast schon besänftigendem Sog ("Secret Show").

Die Vertreter der koreanischen Musikszene haben global betrachtet schon immer eine Art Schattendasein gefristet – selbst Top-Acts wie Sanulim und Shin Jung Hyeon gelten wohl eher als Insidertipps im Ausland –, aber dieser Release wirft immerhin ein trübes Licht in dieses Dunkel: Diese 13 Tracks gewähren Einblicke in das nächtliche Treiben, das sich zuträgt, wenn alle anderen schlafen. Hier kommen sie: Die wahren "Nacht Dämonen" aus Seoul...

Byul.org: Selected Tracks for Nacht Dämonen

Job Byul.org 1'32''
A Customer Byul.org 2'32''
City Made Of Lights Byul.org 6'41''
Just Let Them Kill Each Other Byul.org 1'01''
Black Market Byul.org 1'37''
Surf Byul.org 4'26''
Days & Nights Byul.org 2'54''
Nacht Dämonen Byul.org 1'15''
Secret Show Byul.org 5'53''
20thcenturyofmeandyou Byul.org 3'22''
Friday Night Byul.org 3'21''
AFKN (American Forces Korea Network) Byul.org 3'05''
Boy Byul.org 5'30''

Auch schön: