Candie Hank

Demons

Shitkatapult strike_147 cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Candie Hank used to give the impression that he was being outpaced by his own ingenuity. That he didn’t even try to go through his ideas and put them in their place. That he had instead handed his tracks over to the regiment, leaving them to maraud at will through the clubs, radios and living rooms. Candie’s play instinct and an agitated measure of insanity were elements that shaped the style of his electronic mischief from the beginning.
Candie Hank is a project of Patric Catani, a Kreuzberg-based man of 1000 faces. With his new album Demons Hank shows that he now knows how to channel his flow of ideas in the right direction. Right from the opening track The Fox he presents a new type of desert rock or pimped surf music, of course with proper beats and bass. He has filtered out and distilled the mania, the subliminal madness appropriated by the surf and psychobilly genre. And with cold calculation, Candie has cast this insanity into tracks, administered throughout the entire album in just the right amount. There is now a method to his madness.
On Demons Candie Hank combines things that actually can’t be combined. Arabesque melodic lines, ethereal female choruses, high-speed drumming and Jamaican spoken word, for example. He switches elegantly and effortlessly from a typical Candie-like, slightly wooden Monty Python soundtrack with a tea dance sample to an acid bass line. He does this with a smile, a finger exercise. The wonderfully lunatic Babyshka Demona features – you’ve already guessed it – balalaika samples. Dervishes from the Carpathians playing stringed instruments of unknown origin to convulsive beats in Transylvanian Voodoo. And the sly electronic polka madness, Candie Hank’s trademark, can be admired on Elevator Life in its purest form. Giving the direction and at the same time standing in as the title track of the album, Peace (with my Demons) is a true club anthem, every bit as breathless as it is laid back. It is clear here that Candie Hank is the master of the irresistible four-note melody. Hovering over it all is the spirit of Groucho Marx, who also lent his name to the 2006 album Groucho Running.
Over the years, Candie Hank has undergone a consistent development: from producer of unbridled sound clashes to maestro of oblivious elegance. From hyperactive density to hypnotic transparency. Practically every one of his tracks once had a feisty life of its own. The master took them off the leash as scurrying, pint-sized monsters only to find them later running wild all over the place. Compared to his early work, Demons seems ambitious and salient. Hank has allowed his cunning to flow into short, concise tracks. And the breaks and chaotic combinations are what take each track in a new and unexpected direction at precisely the right moment. Candie Hank is the master of his own unpredictability, which he controls and puts to his own use. And every second you can hear what a diabolical kick he gets out of it.
How Candie gets you to hear his Candieness, among the broad range of styles from the first to the last moment, remains his secret. For the most part, this secret will not be revealed throughout the entire duration of his new album. Because whatever he does, Candie will always be uniquely Hank. It doesn’t matter what kind of mood he conjures up, or what style he draws on. He sounds unmistakably like himself.

Candie Hank: Demons

LP
CD
The Fox Candie Hank 3'57''
What Is Your Name Candie Hank 2'46''
Solaris And Shadowism Candie Hank 3'57''
Babyshka Demona Candie Hank 2'36''
Swimming Rabbit (feat. Yuko Matsuyama) Candie Hank 3'33''
Magnetic Forcefield Candie Hank 3'16''
Elevator Life Candie Hank 3'25''
Every Night Candie Hank 2'19''
Think About You Mama Candie Hank 2'35''
Peace! (With My Demons) Candie Hank 3'36''
The Fox Candie Hank 3'57''
What Is Your Name Candie Hank 2'46''
Solaris And Shadowism Candie Hank 3'57''
Babyshka Demona Candie Hank 2'36''
Swimming Rabbit (feat. Yuko Matsuyama) Candie Hank 3'33''
Magnetic Forcefield Candie Hank 3'16''
Transylvanian Voodoo Candie Hank 3'04''
Elevator Life Candie Hank 3'25''
Every Night Candie Hank 2'19''
Think About You Mama Candie Hank 2'35''
Peace! (With My Demons) Candie Hank 3'36''

Candie Hank

Demons

Shitkatapult strike_147 cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Früher hatte man den Eindruck, dass Candie Hank von seinem eigenen Einfallsreichtum überholt wurde. Dass er gar nicht erst ver- suchte, seine Ideen zu sortieren und auf ihre Plätze zu verweisen. Dass er stattdessen das Regiment an seine Stücke abgegeben hatte, die er marodierend durch die Clubs, Radios und Wohnzimmer ziehen ließ. Candies Spieltrieb und ein gerüttelt Maß an Irrsinn waren von Anfang an stilbildende Elemente für sein elektronisches Halunkentum.
Candie Hank ist ein Projekt von Patric Catani, dem Wahl-Kreuzberger mit den 1000 Gesichtern. Mit seinem neuen Album Demons beweist Hank, dass er seinen Ideenstrom inzwischen trefflich zu kanalisieren weiß. Bereits mit dem Eröffnungsstück The Fox präsentiert er neue Art von Wüstenrock oder auch pimped Surf Music, natürlich mit ordentlich Beats und Bass dabei. Das Manische, den unterschwelligen Wahnsinn, der dem Surf- und Psychobilly-Genre zueigen ist, hat er herausgefiltert und destilliert. Und mit kaltem Kalkül hat Candie diesen Wahnsinn in Tracks gegossen, wohldosiert und gut über das ganze Album verteilt. Jetzt hat seine Verrücktheit Methode.
Auf Demons kombiniert Candie Hank, was sich eigentlich nicht kombinieren lässt. So zum Beispiel arabeske Melodieführung, ätherische Frauenchöre, Hochgeschwindigkeitsschlagzeug und jamaikanisches Spoken Word. Elegant und mühelos wechselt er vom Candie-typischen, leicht hölzernen Monty-Python-Soundtrack mit Tanztee-Sample in eine Acid-Bassline. Er tut dies lächelnd, eine Fingerübung. Das herrlich irre Babyshka Demona besticht mit – Sie ahnen es bereits – Balalaika Samples. Derwische aus den Karpaten spielen Saiteninstrumente unbekannter Herkunft zu zuckenden Beats in Transylvanian Voodoo. Und die schlitzohrige Electronic-Polka-Madness, das Candie Hank Trademark, ist auf Elevator Life in Reinform zu bestaunen. Richtungweisend und zugleich so etwas wie der Titeltrack des Albums ist Peace (with my Demons), eine echte Club-Hymne, gleichermaßen atemlos wie zurück gelehnt. Hier wird deutlich, wie souverän Candie Hank die unwiderstehliche 4-Ton-Melodie beherrscht. Über allem schwebt der Geist von Groucho Marx, der auch dem 2006er Album Groucho Running seinen Namen gab.
Candie Hank hat über die Jahre eine konsequente Entwicklung vollzogen: Vom Produzenten ungezügelter Soundclashs hin zum Maestro abgedrehter Eleganz. Von hyperaktiver Dichte hin zu hypnotischer Transparenz. Praktisch jeder seiner Tracks führte einst- mals ein munteres Eigenleben. Der Meister hatte seine Stücke als wuselnde Minimonster von der Leine gelassen und seitdem rasen sie wie wild durch die Gegend. Verglichen mit seinem Frühwerk wirkt Demons jedoch zielstrebig und pointiert. Seine Durchtrieben- heit hat Hank in kurze, kompakte Stücke fließen lassen. Und es sind gerade die Brüche und wüsten Kombinationen, die jedem Stück genau im rechten Moment eine neue, unerwartete Richtung geben. Candie Hank ist der Chef seiner eigenen Unberechen- barkeit, die er kontrolliert und gezielt einsetzt. Und in jeder Sekunde hört man die diebische Freude, die ihm das bereitet.
Wie Candie es macht, dass man bei allem stilistischen Reichtum vom ersten bis zum letzten Moment seine Candieness heraus hört, bleibt sein Geheimnis. Und dieses Geheimnis wird im Grunde über die volle Länge seines neuen Albums nicht gelüftet. Denn egal was er tut, stets bleibt Candie unverwechselbar Hank. Es spielt keine Rolle, welche Stimmung er herauf beschwört, welches Stils er sich bedient, unverkennbar klingt er wie er selbst.

Candie Hank: Demons

LP
CD
The Fox Candie Hank 3'57''
What Is Your Name Candie Hank 2'46''
Solaris And Shadowism Candie Hank 3'57''
Babyshka Demona Candie Hank 2'36''
Swimming Rabbit (feat. Yuko Matsuyama) Candie Hank 3'33''
Magnetic Forcefield Candie Hank 3'16''
Elevator Life Candie Hank 3'25''
Every Night Candie Hank 2'19''
Think About You Mama Candie Hank 2'35''
Peace! (With My Demons) Candie Hank 3'36''
The Fox Candie Hank 3'57''
What Is Your Name Candie Hank 2'46''
Solaris And Shadowism Candie Hank 3'57''
Babyshka Demona Candie Hank 2'36''
Swimming Rabbit (feat. Yuko Matsuyama) Candie Hank 3'33''
Magnetic Forcefield Candie Hank 3'16''
Transylvanian Voodoo Candie Hank 3'04''
Elevator Life Candie Hank 3'25''
Every Night Candie Hank 2'19''
Think About You Mama Candie Hank 2'35''
Peace! (With My Demons) Candie Hank 3'36''