Console

Herself

Disko B DB156
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Four years after the last Console release “Mono” it’s time for some new vivid life signs of the famous Weilheim based collective. This time the new album titled “Herself” is a bit more of a solo attempt. Due to mastermind Martin Gretschmann’s always packed calendar it’s no surprise that first drafts of „Herself“ came to life on his laptop whilst on tour with The Notwist. The final recordings then took place in his studio together with singer Miriam Osterrieder and a bunch of electronic toys.
Martin Gretschmann can be called - in best sense - a creative factotum: The Notwist’s electronic wizard since 1997, as well as member of the allstar combo 13&God (a collaboration of The Notwist and the Anticon HipHoppers of Themselves). Under his alter ego Acid Pauli he does not only perform extraordinary club sets but – thinking of tracks like „Billy The Killy“ and „I See A Darkness“ – he also brought some humour onto the minimal dancefloor. “Anything goes“ – a maxim sometimes also showing up in his never ending eagerness to experiment, e.g. playing electronic music live on stage via Wii controllers. Over the years Console – in coop with Andreas Ammer - has also discovered another interesting playground: the radio play.
„Herself“ is not a born-and-bred ambient album, but bristles with bright pop appeal. Gretschmann, the alchemist, synthesizes beats, sounds and samples creating melodies and atmospheres which take unpretentiously possession. Miriam Osterrieders’ voice is much more present and smelts the sentiment between pop and ambient into just wonderful songs. Verses like „the code is clear / the child is safe / we leave the nerds / inside / their caves” may reveal a little about how prudent the album is. Just not kitsch, but its complete antithesis!
Console have already caused quite a stir with their releases for different labels like the major Virgin as well as for seminal indies like Payola and Matador (e.g. the Singles “14 Zero Zero“ and “Freiburg V.3.0“, the records “Rocket In The Pocket”, “Reset The Preset”). They did a live album (“Live At Centre Pompidou“), several radio plays as well as collaborations with Björk, Tocotronic and Depeche Mode. After „Mono“ (2006) and the re-release of the debut „Pan-or-ama“ the new album „Herself“ is another step in Console’s band history on Disko B.

Console: Herself

She Saw Console 6'16''
A Homeless Ghost Console 5'41''
Walking The Equator Console 4'09''
Cutting Time Console 4'00''
Bit For Bit Console 4'26''
Dropped Down Console 5'57''
Upon Console 6'21''
Her Eyes Console 4'53''
Leaving A Century Console 6'05''
Of Time Console 4'44''
For Herself Console 4'51''
Uniform Perfect World A L T E R
MC: 4,50 € 8,99 €
LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
incl. instant DL
The Pyramids Otherworldly Disko B
2LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 8,00 € 15,99 €

Console

Herself

Disko B DB156
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Endlich. Vier Jahre nach der letzten Console Veröffentlichung erscheint mit „Herself“ ein neues Album des Weilheimer Kollektivs. „Herself“ geriet notgedrungen allerdings fast zum Alleingang. Angesichts des stets prallen Terminkalenders von Mastermind Martin Gretschmann verwundert es nicht, dass erste Skizzen zu „Herself“ im Notwist Tourbus am Laptop entstanden sind. Aufgenommen wurde dann anschließend im heimischen Studio gemeinsam mit Miriam Osterrieder.
Martin Gretschmann ist im besten aller Sinne ein kreatives Faktotum: Seit 1997 der Elektronik-Wizard bei The Notwist, sowie Mitglied der Allstar-Combo 13&God (einer Kollaboration zwischen The Notwist und den Anticon HipHoppern von Themselves). Als Acid Pauli spielt er nicht nur außergewöhnliche Club Sets, sondern hat mit Tracks wie „Billy The Killy“ und „I See A Darkness“ dem Minimal-Dancefloor den Humor beigebracht. “Anything Goes“ – eine Maxime, die sich bisweilen auch an seiner nie endenden Experimentierlust zeigt, so z.B. Live-Musik auf der Bühne mittels Wii-Controllern zu steuern. Außerdem hat Console zusammen mit Andreas Ammer vor Jahren eine weitere Spielwiese entdeckt: das Hörspiel.
„Herself“ ist kein waschechtes Ambient Album, sondern strotzt nur so vor gewaltigem Pop-Appeal. Gretschmann, der Alchemist, synthetisiert aus unterschiedlichsten Beats, Sounds und Samples Melodien und Atmosphären, die unangestrengt Besitz ergreifen. Miriam Osterrieders Stimme ist noch präsenter und bündelt die Stimmung zwischen Pop und Ambient zu schlicht wunderschönen Songs. Textzeilen wie „the code is clear / the child is safe / we leave the nerds / inside / their caves” verraten ein wenig von der Schläue der Platte. Eben kein Kitsch, sondern dessen Antithese!
Console haben in der Vergangenheit mit ihren Veröffentlichungen auf verschiedensten Labels wie dem Major Virgin sowie auf wegweisenden Indies wie Payola und Matador für Aufsehen gesorgt (u.a. die Singles „14 Zero Zero“ und „Freiburg V.3.0“, die Alben “Rocket In The Pocket”, “Reset The Preset”). Man blickt auf ein Livealbum („Live At Centre Pompidou“), mehrere Hörspiele sowie Kooperationen mit Björk, Tocotronic und Depeche Mode zurück. „Herself“ stellt nach „Mono“ (2006) und dem Re-Release des Debuts „Pan-orama“ einen weiteren Schritt in der Bandgeschichte auf Disko B dar.

Console: Herself

She Saw Console 6'16''
A Homeless Ghost Console 5'41''
Walking The Equator Console 4'09''
Cutting Time Console 4'00''
Bit For Bit Console 4'26''
Dropped Down Console 5'57''
Upon Console 6'21''
Her Eyes Console 4'53''
Leaving A Century Console 6'05''
Of Time Console 4'44''
For Herself Console 4'51''
Dan Deacon Silly Hat vs Egale Hat Carpark
2LP: 13,49 € 17,99 €
HOLOVR Holo Earth Opal Tapes
LP: 14,99 € 19,99 €
President Bongo Serengeti Albumlabel
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Implodes Recurring Dream Kranky
LP: 12,74 € 16,99 €
Levon Vincent NS-14 Novel Sound
12”: 8,84 € 11,79 €