Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
There was once a pop music genre that was not actually a genre. It emerged in the late nineties and early 2000s. It was called 'electronica'. This genre was no more a genre than 'indie' or even 'pop'. Electronica was a term simply used to define club music, ambient or noise. It referred to a compartmentalized and, for the most part, friendly listening music that was not good to dance to. As a result, a wide range of musical styles came to be classified under this non-genre just because there was no other suitable classification at the time. And now Oliver Doerell is putting out an album that sounds like a late electronica manifesto.

As CUMMI FLU, Doerell mainly does sound design. There is not a sound on Z that has been included by chance. Each acoustic event has been painstakingly carved, demonstrating its creator's attention to detail. The squeak of a computer, the sound of a door shutting, the drawn-out hum of a cello – everything here is of equal importance, positioned democratically side by side. Each track feeds on a wide variety of sound sources. And even when there is a lot going on, there is immense transparency. Every one of CUMMI FLU's pieces develops in measured, coherent steps into a dense and, at the same time, clearly delineated sound puzzle.

A puzzle whose pieces do not always fit seamlessly together. Some go over the edges a little bit, giving an overall impression of unevenness. And this blurring or ambiguity is what makes Doerell's music so special.

In combining these sounds, Doerell prefers the ones that do not fit together at first. Sound loops running in opposite directions rustle and squeal. A woman's voice sings a meditative mantra in an unidentifiable language, accompanied by the clang of percussion that is apparently played on an array of kitchen utensils. And in the end, a groove emerges from the tightly woven layers of sound, suggestive of Afrobeats. It bounces and springs to all conceivable heights and depths. Doerell plays his most beloved percussion instrument: rubber bands. There is not a drum computer in the world that can offer such a variable range of sound.

On Z, Doerell pulls out all the stops in terms of every possible and impossible sound: from field recordings of all kinds, including children's voices and street sounds, to kalimba patterns and elusive fragments of melodies. All of these eccentric sounds, in all their waywardness, add up to something resembling songs. Sometimes dreamy and faded, at other times concrete and driving, giving rise to a very special kind of loop-based music – intimate, meditative and timeless.

Originally from Brussels, Doerell is a multi-instrumentalist and has been living in Berlin since 1990. He is a member of the bands Dictaphone, SWOD and Raz Ohara & The Odd Orchestra, with which he has released a total of eight albums to date. He has played concerts throughout the world and at festivals such as CTM (DE), Unsound (PL), Mutek (CA) and Benicassim (ES).

additional vocals : Lady Ived
mastering : Nils Frahm
cover art : Fehmi Baumbach

Cummi Flu: Z

In Cummi Flu 20''
Z. Cummi Flu 6'02''
Sherée Cummi Flu 4'52''
J. Cummi Flu 5'15''
7 Cummi Flu 5'13''
Gulabigang Cummi Flu 2'46''
B. Cummi Flu 5'02''
Leopold Cummi Flu 5'44''
154 Cummi Flu 2'59''
Watersong Cummi Flu 2'56''
Audrey Cummi Flu 2'13''

Nice as well:

Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
In der Popmusik gab es einst ein Genre, das eigentlich keins war. Seine Blütezeit erlebte es in den späten Neunziger und frühen Nuller Jahren. Die Rede ist von "Elektronika". Diese Musikrichtung war ebenso wenig eine Musikrichtung wie "Indie" oder eben "Pop". Den Begriff "Elektronika" benutzte man bloß in Abgrenzung von Clubmusik, Ambient oder Noise. Gemeint war eine kleinteilige und meist freundliche Zuhör-Musik, zu der sich nicht gut tanzen ließ. So kam es, dass die unterschiedlichsten Musiken diesem Un-Genre zugeordnet wurden, einfach weil gerade keine passenden Ordner zur Hand waren. Und nun liefert Oliver Doerell ein Album ab, das klingt wie ein spätes Elektronika-Manifest.

Als CUMMI FLU betreibt Doerell vor allem Klanggestaltung. Kein Sound auf Z geschieht nebenbei. Jedes Klangereignis wurde hingebungsvoll gedrechselt und zeugt so von der Detailverliebtheit seines Machers. Das Fiepsen eines Computers, das Geräusch einer sich schließenden Tür, ein langsamer Träller auf dem Cello – hier ist alles gleich wichtig und steht demokratisch nebeneinander. Jeder Track speist sich aus den unterschiedlichsten Geräuschquellen. Und bei aller Ereignisdichte herrscht große Transparenz. Denn jedes Stück von CUMMI FLU entwickelt sich in gemessenen, nachvollziehbaren Schritten zu einem dichten, gleichwohl übersichtlichen Klangpuzzle. Einem Puzzle, dessen Teile sich nicht immer nahtlos aneinander fügen. Manche stehen quasi an den Rändern etwas über, so dass sich ein irgendwie unebener Gesamteindruck ergibt. Und genau diese Doerellsche Unschärfe oder Mehrdeutigkeit ist es, die seine Musik so besonders macht.

Oliver Doerell kombiniert mit Vorliebe solche Sounds, die nicht auf Anhieb zueinander passen. Da raschelt und quietscht es in gegenläufigen Geräuschschleifen. Eine Frauenstimme singt ein meditatives Mantra in einer nicht identifizierbaren Sprache. Dazu erklingt Perkussion, die offenbar auf allerei Küchenutensilien gespielt wurde. Und schließlich schält sich ein Groove aus den dicht verwobenen Klangschichten. Afrobeats werden angedeutet. Es bounct und federt es in allen erdenklichen Höhen und Tiefen. Oliver Doerell spielt sein liebstes Perkussioninstrument: Gummibänder. Kein Drumcomputer der Welt bietet ein derart variables Klangspektrum.

Auf Z zieht Doerell sämtliche möglichen und unmöglichen Klangregister: Von Feldaufnahmen aller Art inklusive Kinderstimmen und Straßengeräuschen, über Kalimba-Pattern hin zu undefinierbaren Melodiefetzen. All die spleenigen Sounds, und seien sie noch so abwegig, ergeben in ihrer Summe stets so etwas wie Songs. Mal verträumt und verwaschen, mal konkret und treibend entsteht so besondere Musik in Loopästhetik. Intim, versponnen und zeitlos.

Der gebürtige Brüsseler und Multiinstrumentalist Oliver Doerell lebt seit 1990 in Berlin. Doerell ist Mitglied der Bands Dictaphone, SWOD und Raz Ohara & the odd orchestra, mit denen er bisher insgesamt acht Alben veröffentlich hat. Er hat weltweit Konzerte gespielt, u.a. auf Festivals wie CTM, Unsound (PL), Mutek (CA) und Benicassim (ES).

additional vocals : Lady Ived
mastering : Nils Frahm
cover art : Fehmi Baumbach

Cummi Flu: Z

In Cummi Flu 20''
Z. Cummi Flu 6'02''
Sherée Cummi Flu 4'52''
J. Cummi Flu 5'15''
7 Cummi Flu 5'13''
Gulabigang Cummi Flu 2'46''
B. Cummi Flu 5'02''
Leopold Cummi Flu 5'44''
154 Cummi Flu 2'59''
Watersong Cummi Flu 2'56''
Audrey Cummi Flu 2'13''

Auch schön: