Dakota Suite

The End Of Trying

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-46
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Liverpool is the home town of Chris Hooson, Singer/Songwriter for Dakota Suite. The band is an extremely personal guitar project that deals with tragedies in Chris’s life and the constant up and down in the success of his favourite team FC Everton. One things for certain, we’re not talking about happy music here. The track titles on the album "Alone With Everybody" (1996), "The Way I‘m Sick" (2002) or "Waiting For The Dawn To Crawl Through And Take Away Your Life" (2007) already point out some of this sensitive man’s feelings. The fool for football sticks to the motto of his club „Nil satis nisi optimum“, which means something like „Only the best is good enough“. He sometimes speaks about an event in his life that helped him to bring his soul out into the daylight a bit more and, above all, to be able to write about it. Then there was the time when several people around him died resulting in the fact that some of his songs are more intended for funerals.
Deeply sad melodies and melancholy pain are also the main emotions on the new record “The End Of Trying”, which is coming out in winter on Karaoke Kalk. But we're not talking about sadness in the form of self-pity. For sure the englishman who live in Leeds, succeeds time and time again to send unstable people plummeting into the abyss. But they never really lose it completely and stay hanging on happily with all their strength to the little masterpieces.
With "The End Of Trying" Hooson focuses on understated sounds like the flowing piano chords and a flexible cello arrangement. The songs tell purely instrumentally of worry and pain. While writing the individual piano pieces Chris felt very lost and saw his life flash before his eyes. Without singing, without guitar and without the otherwise touching voice of the Everton supporters, each track contains its own unique feeling. David Buxton, Colin Dunkley and Chris take turns on the piano. The Liverpudlian Hooson grew up in the Netherlands which becomes clear when one looks closely at the title of song Nr. 11 ("Een Langzaam Lekkende Wond").
David Darling wonderfully accentuates Hooson's harmonic sadness with his stylish string instrument. Chris was already crazy about the American cellist as a teenager and bought his first David Darling record at the age of fourteen. Darling usually feels at home in the areas of Jazz and classical. But improvised music is also a large part of his work, which had a big effect on the record "The End Of Trying". He started playing cello in 1951 at the age of ten and went on to study the instrument classically at Indiana University. After having been employed by several orchestras he started to concentrate more on his own compositions in the 80s. He made soundtracks for Wim Wenders ("Until The End Of The World" and "In weiter ferne, so nah") and has also worked together with Peter, Paul and Mary, Bobby McFerrin and Pierre Favre. In 2002 Darling was nominated for a Grammy Award for his album "Cello Blue". And further releases appeared on ECM Records, a very unconventional Label from Munich, which since 1969 has signed some of the most outstanding artists in the field of Jazz and improvised music.
Together Dakota Suite and the guest cellist Darling form a striking ensemble which by no means only have depressing moments - their music is very soothing too. The recordings were made in various houses in Leeds and at Darling's home in Goshen Connecticut. Chris realized a life long dream recording the album with his all time favorite cellist. He doesn't usually find life so great. He only gets the strength to survive from collaborations like this, a healthy portion of cynicism which he otherwise channels into his lyrics and above all, through his peaceful and sentimental sound experiences. Despite wild mood swings Dakota Suite are touring through Europe at the end of october to present their wordless, but none the less meaningful "The End Of Trying", to live audiences.

Dakota Suite: The End Of Trying

One Day Without Harming You Dakota Suite 5'22''
This Failing Sea Dakota Suite 2'00''
Hands Swollen With Grace Dakota Suite 3'53''
A Quietly Gathering Tragedy Dakota Suite 3'38''
All The Love I Had Was Not Enough Dakota Suite 1'12''
Very Early One Morning On Old Road Dakota Suite 3'06''
The End Of Trying Part I Dakota Suite 2'59''
The End Of Trying Part II Dakota Suite 3'46''
The End Of Trying Part III Dakota Suite 2'59''
The End Of Trying Part IV Dakota Suite 5'19''
Een Langzaam Lekkende Wond Dakota Suite 2'17''
The Night Keeps Coming In Dakota Suite 1'46''
How Could You Let Me Go Dakota Suite 3'15''
Second Hand Light Dakota Suite 1'37''
Things We Lost Along The Way Dakota Suite 5'13''
Z-Cars Dakota Suite 2'23''

Nice as well:

Dakota Suite

The End Of Trying

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-46
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Liverpool ist die Geburtstadt von Chris Hooson, Singer/Songwriter von Dakota Suite. Ein sehr persönliches Gitarrenprojekt über Tragödien des eigenen Lebens und dem ewigen Auf und Ab eines Lieblingsvereins namens FC Everton. Von fröhlicher Musik kann hier nicht die Rede sein. Die Titel der Alben "Alone With Everybody" (1996), "The Way I‘m Sick" (2002) oder "Waiting For The Dawn To Crawl Through And Take Away Your Life" (2007) weisen schon auf einige Gefühle des sensiblen Mannes hin. Der Fußballnarr hält sich ganz nach dem Motto des Clubs „Nil satis nisi optimum“, was soviel heißt wie „Nur das Beste ist gut genug“. Er spricht manchmal von einem Ereignis in seinem Leben, das ihm geholfen hat den Zustand seiner Seele ein wenig mehr ins Tageslicht zu rücken und vor allem darüber zu Schreiben. Dann gab es diese Zeit, wo mehrere Menschen aus seiner Umgebung starben und somit einige Lieder von ihm, umso mehr für Begräbnisse gedacht sind.
Tieftraurige Melodien und melancholischer Schmerz sind auch die Hauptregungen auf der neuen Platte “The End Of Trying”, die im Winter auf Karaoke Kalk erscheinen soll. Von selbst mitleidiger Tristesse kann hier allerdings nicht die Rede sein. Sicherlich schafft es der Engländer, der in Leeds wohnt, immer wieder labile Menschen mit seinen Melodien in den Abgrund zu stürzen. Aber selbst die gehen nicht ganz unter und halten sich an den kleinen Meisterwerken mit allen Sinnen glücklich fest.
Mit "The End Of Trying" setzt der Engländer diesmal auf dezente Klanganimationen mit meist fließenden Klavierakkorden und einem geschmeidigen Cello-Arrangement. Rein instrumental erzählen die Songs von Kummer und Schmerz. Beim Schreiben der einzelnen Piano-Stücke fühlte sich Chris sehr verloren und sah ein jähes Ende seines Lebens vor Augen. Ohne Gesang, ohne Gitarre und ohne die sonst so anrührende Stimme des Everton-Anhängers beinhaltet jeder Track seine eigene Empfindung. David Buxton, Colin Dunkley und Chris wechseln sich mit der Klaviertastatur ab. In den Niederlanden wuchs der Liverpudlian Hooson auf und das weiß man spätestens, wenn man Songtitel Nr. 11 genauer betrachtet ("Een Langzaam Lekkende Wond").
David Darling untermalt wunderschön harmonisch die Traurigkeit von Hooson mit seinem stilvollen Saiteninstrument. Für den amerikanischen Cellisten schwärmt Chris schon im Teenageralter und kaufte mit vierzehn Jahren seine erste David Darling Platte. Darling fühlt sich normalerweise in den Bereichen Jazz und Klassik zu Hause. Aber auch die improvisierte Musik ist ein großer Bestandteil seiner Arbeit, die sich auch auf der Platte "The End Of Trying" auswirkt. 1951 beginnt er als Zehnjähriger mit dem Cello Unterricht und studierte das klassische Instrument später an der Indiana University. Nach dem er in einigen Orchestern unter Vertrag stand konzentrierte er sich in den 80ern vermehrt auf seine eigenen Kompositionen. Er kreierte Filmmusik für Wim Wenders ("Bis ans Ende der Welt" und "In weiter ferne, so nah") und arbeitete gemeinsam mit Peter, Paul and Mary, Bobby McFerrin oder Pierre Favre. Für sein Album "Cello Blue" wurde Darling 2002 für den Grammy nominiert. Weitere Veröffentlichungen erschienen auf ECM Records, einem sehr eigenwilligen Münchner Label, die seit 1969 herausragende Künstler des Jazz und der improvisierten Musik unter Vertrag nehmen.
Gemeinsam bilden Dakota Suite und der Gast-Cellist Darling eine durchaus beeindruckende Symbiose, die keineswegs nur depressive Ausbrüche zulässt. Der kleine Herzensbruch hat durchaus beruhigende Momente. Die Aufnahmen wurden live in verschiedenen Häusern in Leeds und daheim bei Darling in Goshen Connecticut gemacht. Chris erfüllte sich damit einen Lebenstraum, gemeinsam mit seinem Lieblings-Cellisten das Album aufzunehmen. Das Leben findet der Hauptprotagonist normalerweise nicht so toll. Die Kraft zum Überleben bekommt er nur durch solche Zusammenarbeiten, einer gute Portion Zynismus, die er sonst in seinen Texten einfließen lässt und vor allem durch die ruhigen und sentimentalen Klangerlebnisse, die wir hoffentlich demnächst auch in Deutschland zu hören bekommen. Trotz Stimmungsschwankungen reisen Dakota Suite Ende Oktober durch Europa, um nun auch das wortlose, aber bedeutungsvolle "The End Of Trying" ihrem Publikum vorzustellen.

Dakota Suite: The End Of Trying

One Day Without Harming You Dakota Suite 5'22''
This Failing Sea Dakota Suite 2'00''
Hands Swollen With Grace Dakota Suite 3'53''
A Quietly Gathering Tragedy Dakota Suite 3'38''
All The Love I Had Was Not Enough Dakota Suite 1'12''
Very Early One Morning On Old Road Dakota Suite 3'06''
The End Of Trying Part I Dakota Suite 2'59''
The End Of Trying Part II Dakota Suite 3'46''
The End Of Trying Part III Dakota Suite 2'59''
The End Of Trying Part IV Dakota Suite 5'19''
Een Langzaam Lekkende Wond Dakota Suite 2'17''
The Night Keeps Coming In Dakota Suite 1'46''
How Could You Let Me Go Dakota Suite 3'15''
Second Hand Light Dakota Suite 1'37''
Things We Lost Along The Way Dakota Suite 5'13''
Z-Cars Dakota Suite 2'23''
Pierrot Lunaire Dog Chakra Opal Tapes
MC: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
COH To Beat Editions Mego
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
Man Of Moon Medicine Melodic
EP: 9,74 € 12,99 €
Royal Trux Hand Of Glory Domino
LP: 16,49 € 21,99 €
Markus Oehlen Wanne 4 Infinite Greyscale
10”: 14,99 € 19,99 €
incl. instant DL