Dat Politics

No Void

Shitkatapult strike_154 cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
"We're big fans of French synthpop like Jacno, Deux, Ruth and Serge Blenner. This kind of playful synthetic sound mixed with weird and sometimes depressing poetry had a big influence on us as kids and as musicians,"" reveal the French duo DAT POLITICS. Since 1999, Claude Pailliot and Gaetan Collet have been working on music shaped by those influences, without referring to them directly. The initial spark that led to the founding of DAT POLITICS happened during the mid 1990s. The two met for the first time at a party somewhere in the Champagne-Ardenne region of France and then started DAT POLITICS in the garage of Gaetan's parents.

A lot has happened since then. The duo grew into a four-man band and subsequently shrank back into the duo it is today. In these formations they recorded various albums and EPs for labels such as FatCat Records, A-Musik, Chicks On Speed Records and Sub Rosa. DAT POLITICS also toured frequently around the globe with their ecstatic live show. The previously mentioned influences were integrated into their moving sound in every aspect, with an individual touch. But their work was not only influenced by synthpop. Drone, noise and musique concrète are points of reference that clearly come through in their electronic songs to this day and are also closely related to pop music. Their new album 'NO VOID is now being released on SHITKATAPULT, whose label slogan 'Special Musick for Special People' fits perfectly to the often euphorically rocking music of the French duo. DAT POLITICS themselves refer to their latest LP as a "hallucinating ride in a space roller coaster: scary and funny!""

This time around, their songs took shape once again under influences outside of music such as astronomy, philosophy and programming language as well as surrealism, fantasy films and their own dreams. The nine tracks, all of them created last winter in a small cabin in northern France, occupy an eclectic territory that includes catchy melodies, versatile singing with pop appeal, and playfully rocking chiptune, synthwave and electro. The whimsical tour de force was recorded using computers, old beat-up synthesizers, worn out keyboards, samplers, voice boxes and kids' play instruments. Claude and Gaetan whisper into the microphone in French and English, their voices naked or distorted by a vocoder, at times using both languages in the same song, as the track 'Reptiloid' demonstrates with poignant levity. Both of them grew up in the 1980s to the music of Depeche Mode, Yazoo, OMD, Jean-Michel Jarre, Jacno and Kraftwerk, and this can be perceived just as much as their love for the music of Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze and the soundtrack worlds of Ennio Morricone, Giorgio Moroder and John Carpenter.

Yet DAT POLITICS is not a band that repackages its personal preferences. The duo acts rather as a human filter for all forms of art, which is later transformed into something totally autonomous using a creative 'cut-up' method as practiced by Williams S. Burroughs and Brion Gysin. Although you don't notice it at first, the laid-back, undulating song 'Black Hole' is influenced by the comics of American artist Charles Burns. But if you are familiar with the work of the cartoonist, the lyrics will give you a sense of the existential weight that make his comics so special.

In any case, the lyrics of DAT POLITICS never refer directly to anything tangible. They are instead a combination of surreal stories, hidden meanings and a search for clues within one's own subconscious. They are always written after the music has been composed. And since DAT POLITICS seeks mainly to electrify in a live setting, every new track begins with bass and rhythms. Despite the atmospherically dense interplay between melancholy and joy, this approach is what makes 'NO VOID' above all an album intent on rocking it in high style.

Dat Politics: No Void

Junk Funk Dat Politics 4'52''
Reptiloid Dat Politics 4'02''
Vibrator Dat Politics 3'47''
Black Hole Dat Politics 3'34''
Pyromaniac Dat Politics 4'53''
Echo Radio Dat Politics 3'52''
Small Cell Dat Politics 3'09''
Krystal Krank Dat Politics 3'52''
The Wave Dat Politics 3'32''
All Along Dat Politics 4'34''

Nice as well:

Dat Politics

No Void

Shitkatapult strike_154 cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
"We're big fans of French Synthpop like Jacno, Deux, Ruth and Serge Blenner. This kind of playful synthetic sound mixed with weird and sometimes depressing poetry had a big influence on us as kids and as musicians." verrät das französische Duo DAT POLITICS. Seit 1999 verarbeiten Claude Pailliot und Gaetan Collet jene Einflüsse in ihrer Musik, ohne wirklich direkt auf sie zu verweisen. Die Initialzündung zur Gründung von DAT POLITICS fand Mitte der 1990ern statt. Damals trafen sich beide erstmals auf einer Party irgendwo in der französischen Region Champagne-Ardenne und gründeten anschließend in der Garage von Gaetans Eltern DAT POLITICS.

Seit dem ist viel passiert. Aus dem Duo wurde eine vierköpfige Band, die heute wieder zum Duo geschrumpft ist. Zu Zweit oder im Bandformat wurden diverse Alben und EPs für Labels wie FatCat Records, A-Musik, Chicks On Speed Records oder Sub Rosa eingespielt. Um den Globus tourten DAT POLITICS ebenfalls öfters mit ihrer ekstatischen Live-Show. Die zu Anfang erwähnten Einflüsse wurden bei allem mit individueller Note in ihren bewegenden Sound integriert. Aber nicht nur Synthpop beeinflusste ihr Œuvre, auch Drone, Noise und Musique concrète sind Referenzpunkte, die bis heute spürbar durch ihre elektronischen Songs spucken und sich auch mal mit Pop verbrüdern. Ihr neues Album "NO VOID" erscheint nun auf SHITKATAPULT, dessen Label-Credo "Special Musick For Special People" perfekt zur oft euphorisch rockenden Musik der Franzosen passt. DAT POLITICS selbst bezeichnen ihren jüngsten Longplayer als "hallucinated drive in a space roller coaster: scary and funny!".

Auch diesmal waren für Entstehung ihrer Songs wieder außermusikalische Einflüsse wie Astronomie, Philosophie und die Programmiersprache, sowie der Surrealismus, Fantasy Filme und die eigenen Träume wichtig. Musikalisch bewegen sich die neuen Stücke, die alle im letzten Winter in einer kleinen Hütte im Norden Frankreichs entstanden, charmant zwischen einprägsamen Melodien, vielseitigem Gesang mit Popappeal und spielerisch rockendem Chiptune, Synth-Wave und Electro. Eingespielt wurde die spielerische Tour de Force mit Computern, alten ausgeleierten Synthesizern, abgenutzten Keyboards, Sampler, Voice Box und musikalischem Kinderspielzeug. Ins Mikrofon hauchen Claude und Gaetan zudem bilingual auf Französisch und Englisch - mal pur, mal vom Vocoder verzerrt und zuweilen zweisprachig im gleichen Lied wie das Stück "Reptiloid" mit ergreifender Leichtigkeit zeigt. Dass beide in 1980ern zur Musik von Depeche Mode, Yazoo, OMD, Jean-Michel Jarre, Jacno und Kraftwerk aufwuchsen, ist ebenso spürbar wie ihre Liebe zur Musik von Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze und den Soundtrackwelten eines Ennio Morricone, Giorgio Moroder und John Carpenter.

Dennoch sind DAT POLITICS keine Band die persönliche Vorlieben neu verpackt. Das Duo agiert eher als menschlicher Filter für jede Form von Kunst, die später mit einer kreativen "Cut-Up" Methode à la Williams S. Burroughs und Brion Gysin in etwas völlig autonomes verwandelt wird. Dass ein Song wie der lässig rollende "Black Hole" von den Comics des US-amerikanischen Künstlers Charles Burns beeinflusst ist, fällt im ersten Moment nicht auf. Wer sich in der Welt des Comiczeichners auskennt, wird in den Lyrics aber jene existentialistische Schwere entdecken, die seine Comics so besonders macht.

Ohnehin sind die Lyrics von DAT POLITICS nie ein direkter Verweis auf gelebtes. Eher ein Mix aus surrealen Geschichten, versteckten Bedeutungen und der Spurensuche im eigenen Unbewussten. Verfasst werden sie immer erst nachdem die Musik komponiert wurde. Und da DAT POLITICS vor allem live elektrisieren möchten, stehen Bass und Rhythmus stets am Anfang jedes neuen Tracks. Eine Vorgehensweise, durch "VO VOID" trotz eines atmosphärisch Dichten Wechselspiels aus Melancholie und Heiterkeit vor allem ein Album ist, das mit viel Style rocken will.

Dat Politics: No Void

Junk Funk Dat Politics 4'52''
Reptiloid Dat Politics 4'02''
Vibrator Dat Politics 3'47''
Black Hole Dat Politics 3'34''
Pyromaniac Dat Politics 4'53''
Echo Radio Dat Politics 3'52''
Small Cell Dat Politics 3'09''
Krystal Krank Dat Politics 3'52''
The Wave Dat Politics 3'32''
All Along Dat Politics 4'34''

Auch schön: