• LP : Gatefold Sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
After all the accolades from press and peers, what's a legendary band left to do? Rent out an abandoned office space in the middle of the desert in New Mexico in lieu of a regular recording studio, go in with little or no preconceived notions of what would happen, set up, plug in and get loud! After seven days Deerhoof had found (you guessed it) The Magic, a raw and refreshing wallop of an album about leaving your comfort zone and finding a pineapple.

With The Magic, Deerhoof dreamed up an alchemy of '77 punk, pop, glam, hair metal, doo-wop, hip hop, and R&B, late-night car rides, long days, spandex, shadows, and attitude. Poetry into noise, volume knobs into pleasure, friendship into rock band.

"Maybe it came from the music we liked when we were kids, when music was like magic—before we knew about the industry and before there were rules—sometimes hair metal is the right choice. We all showed up in the mood to sing. says drummer Greg Saunier.

For singer and bassist Satomi Matsuzaki, the making The Magic was the latest episode of an ongoing gamble. "I joined this band a week after I arrived in San Francisco from Japan. I hopped on a MUNI bus to have a first meeting with Deerhoof. I got off at a wrong stop. I was lost and confused. They found me on a dark street corner after I called for help from a pay phone. Since then my adventure expanded. Deerhoof is a vehicle with four powered wheels that takes me through forest, desert and buildings. My life is adventure!

The Magic is a mixtape imbued with Deerhoof's sorcery—boldness, wonder, technical know-how, risk. It is a mixtape by the kid with the biggest music collection you've ever seen, who will take you camping and show you how to pull a rabbit out of a hat.

The Magic comes out on June 24, and will be supported by an extensive tour.

Deerhoof: The Magic

The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue Deerhoof 3'15''
Kafe Mania! Deerhoof 2'43''
That Ain't No Life For Me Deerhoof 1'43''
Life Is Suffering Deerhoof 3'36''
Criminals Of The Dream Deerhoof 5'01''
Model Behavior Deerhoof 2'36''
Learning To Apologize Effectively Deerhoof 3'16''
Dispossessor Deerhoof 2'10''
I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire Deerhoof 1'37''
Acceptance Speech Deerhoof 3'01''
Patrasche Come Back Deerhoof 47''
Debut Deerhoof 2'55''
Plastic Thrills Deerhoof 2'02''
Little Hollywood Deerhoof 2'57''
Nurse Me Deerhoof 2'42''

Nice as well:

Skeletons Am I Home? Altin Village & Mine
LP: 16,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio A.R.C. (dvd Pal) Morr Music
DVD (pal) +CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
DVD (ntsc) +CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Andrew Pekler Tristes Tropiques Faitiche
LP: 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio Ea1 Ea2 Rmx Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tarwater The Needle Was Travelling Morr Music
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL

• LP : Gatefold Sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Was soll eine legendäre Band nach unzähligen Lobpreisungen von Presse und Künstlern noch tun? Ein verlassenes Büro in der Wüste New Mexicos als Studio beziehen, ohne zu wissen, was dort passieren wird. Aufbauen, einstöpseln und aufdrehen. Nach sieben Tagen hatten Deerhoof (erraten!) The Magic gefunden; ein roher, erfrischender Prügel von einem Album, das davon handelt, die eigene Wohlfühlzone zu verlassen, um eine Ananas zu finden.

Mit The Magic haben Deerhoof eine alchimistische Kombination aus '77 Punk, Pop, Glam, Hair Metal, Doo-Wop, Hip Hop und RnB gefunden, eine Hommage an nächtliche Autofahrten, lange Tage, Leggings, Schatten und Attitüde. Poesie und Noise, Lautstärkeregler und Lust, Freundschaft und eine Rockband.

"Vielleicht war die Musik entscheidend, die wir als Kinder gehört haben, als Musik noch wie Magie war — bevor wir die Musik­industrie kannten und bevor es Regeln gab. Manchmal ist Hair Metal einfach die richtige Wahl. Wir hatten alle Lust, zu singen, als wir dort angekommen sind", berichtet Schlag­zeuger Greg Saunier.

Für die Sängerin und Bassistin Satomi Matsuzaki war die Entstehung von The Magic die neueste Episode eines fortdauernden Glücksspiels. "Eine Woche, nachdem ich aus Japan nach San Francisco gezogen war, bin ich zu der Band gestoßen. Ich habe einen MUNI-Bus zu meinem ersten Treffen mit Deerhoof genommen. Ich bin an der falschen Haltestelle ausgestiegen, habe mich hoffnungslos verlaufen und war verwirrt. Sie haben mich an einer dunklen Straßenecke gefunden, nachdem ich von einer Telefonzelle einen Hilferuf abgesetzt hatte. Hier ging dieses Abenteuer für mich los. Deerhoof ist ein Fahrzeug mit Vierradantrieb, das mich durch Wälder, Wüsten und Gebäude befördert. Mein Leben ist ein Abenteuer!"

The Magic ist ein Mixtape, das von Deerhoofs Hexerei durchdrungen ist — Unerschrockenheit, Erstaunen, technisches Know-How und Risiko. Es ist ein Mixtape von dem Typen mit der größten Plattensammlung, die Du je gesehen hast; der Typ, der mit dir zelten geht und dir zeigt, wie man ein Kaninchen aus einem Hut zaubert.

The Magic erscheint am 24. Juni und wird von einer ausgiebigen Tour unterstützt.

Deerhoof: The Magic

The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue Deerhoof 3'15''
Kafe Mania! Deerhoof 2'43''
That Ain't No Life For Me Deerhoof 1'43''
Life Is Suffering Deerhoof 3'36''
Criminals Of The Dream Deerhoof 5'01''
Model Behavior Deerhoof 2'36''
Learning To Apologize Effectively Deerhoof 3'16''
Dispossessor Deerhoof 2'10''
I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire Deerhoof 1'37''
Acceptance Speech Deerhoof 3'01''
Patrasche Come Back Deerhoof 47''
Debut Deerhoof 2'55''
Plastic Thrills Deerhoof 2'02''
Little Hollywood Deerhoof 2'57''
Nurse Me Deerhoof 2'42''

Auch schön:

Skeletons Am I Home? Altin Village & Mine
LP: 16,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio A.R.C. (dvd Pal) Morr Music
DVD (pal) +CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
DVD (ntsc) +CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Andrew Pekler Tristes Tropiques Faitiche
LP: 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio Ea1 Ea2 Rmx Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tarwater The Needle Was Travelling Morr Music
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL