Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Morr Music morr 153-cd
  • LP: incl. printed inner sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
A return to simpler set-ups and times, Antwerp-based musician Dieter Sermeus has started a new chapter in the wake of his acclaimed releases with The Go Find: He is back with a new band called Dieter von Deurne & The Politics, a new formation that sees him revisit and update his indie rocking nineties roots.

Harking back to an even earlier band called Orange Black, a project he formed at 15 years old and which eventually played support shows for indie greats such as Pavement, Seam, and Stereolab, the new entity’s s/t debut album is many things at once: a collective reassurance and rocking-off-chest, an ode to wild simplicity and more direct impacts, less irony, and some good old, heart-felt, fuzzy crunch.
Inspired by the very bands Sermeus used to open for with Orange Black as well as classics such as “Teenage Fanclub, Dinosaur Jr., The Modern Lovers” (and more), it’s the kind of album that makes you want to immediately hitch a ride to sunnier climes. Far from being merely nostalgic, it’s a timeless roadtrip recorded by a musician who’s always been fond of walking.

Jump starting the old engine with “Nuclear Love,” the soothing, mending, reassuring quality of this release is apparent after that first wild-haired guitar solo: “I’ll pull you back in/cause stars don’t give in,” Sermeus sings, whose voice often barely swims above those swathes of guitar and the pace-making lower end in tow, lo-fi backdrops (at times not so) carefully assembled together with his band mates.

An album “about these weird times we are living in” and “the Trumpness,” as the singer puts it, a lot of its essence is hidden in the lyrics of “Channel”: “It’s a beautiful life/It’s a beautiful lie,“ goes the punch line before the tune explodes into a wild jam session. At their softest and most well-balanced, there’s the pop bliss of “Heart-Shaped Stone” and the hypnotic harmonies of “I’m On Trial,” only to be washed away by the straight-forward fun of “The Law of Misunderstanding”. Elsewhere, there’s organ-based minimalism (“I Guess I Needed You More”) and acoustic confessions (“Jupiter’s Moon”), sonic book reviews wrapped in mellow life ruminations (“Knausgard’”), explosive guitar-shredding ecstasy with multiple ignition stages (“Too Much”), until closing track “You” rounds off the LP with its melancholy pop innocence.

Coming full circle after 15 years of The Go Find, Dieter von Deurne & The Politics’ debut album arrives from the land of illuminated, orange freeways and, refreshingly, it doesn’t even try to be any kind of new black. Instead, it just oozes that longing for transformation. For never-forgotten hooks presented in a new light. In a way, it’s 1993 done à la 2017: ain’t no better ointment to ease those current ailments anyway.

Dieter von Deurne and The Politics: Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Nuclear Love Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'36''
Heart-Shaped-Stone Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'57''
I'm On Trial Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 3'33''
The Law Of Misunderstanding Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'27''
Channel Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'33''
Reckless Kids Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'05''
Jupiter's Moon Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 3'11''
I Guess I Needed You More Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'14''
Knausgard Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'18''
Too Much Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'30''
Love Trouble Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'48''
You Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'04''

Nice as well:

Lali Puna Two Windows Morr Music
LP: €17,99
CD: €13,99
incl. instant DL
Regis Live in N.Y.C. Cititrax
Pre-order EP: €18,99
Various Artists Monika Werkstatt Monika Enterprise
2LP: €22,99
CD: €14,99
incl. instant DL
The Go Find Over The Edge Vs. What I Want Morr Music
MCD: €4,99
12”: €4,49 €5,99
incl. instant DL

Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Morr Music morr 153-cd
  • LP: incl. printed inner sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Indem er sich auf einfachere Zeiten und Ansätze zurückbesinnt, schlägt Dieter Sermeus nach vier Studioalben mit The Go Find ein neues Kapitel auf: Mit seiner neuen Band namens Dieter von Deurne & The Politics knüpft der Sänger und Gitarrist aus Antwerpen an seine Gitarren- und Indie-Wurzeln aus den Neunzigern an.

Zentraler Bezugspunkt ist dabei seine einstige Band Orange Black, die er gegen Ende der Achtziger als 15-Jähriger gegründet hatte, um mit ihr wenig später bereits im Vorprogramm von persönlichen Helden wie Pavement, Seam oder Stereolab aufzutreten. Da er den Geist dieser Ära in das gleichnamige Debütalbum seiner neuen Formation einfließen lässt, kommt vieles darin zusammen: Es ist eine kollektive Vergewisserung, ein ehrlicher Befreiungsschlag, ein vielschichtiges Statement für ungezügelte Direktheit, mehr Bauchgefühl, mehr verzerrte Gitarren.

Inspiriert von jenen Gruppen, für die Sermeus’ Ex-Band einst eröffnete, wie auch von „Teenage Fanclub, Dinosaur Jr., The Modern Lovers“ (und mehr), macht das gleichnamige Debüt postwendend Lust auf ungeplante Spontantrips in sonnige Gefilde: Mehr als bloße Nostalgie, funktionieren diese Songs tatsächlich wie ein Roadtrip – aufgenommen jedoch von einem Musiker, der schon immer am liebsten zu Fuß geht.

Gleich der Opener „Nuclear Love“ streckt seine Ellenbogen mit einem Gitarrensolo aus, und die lindernde, irgendwie wohltuende Energie dieser Tracks greift schon nach wenigen Akkorden: „I’ll pull you back in/cause stars don’t give in“, singt Dieter Sermeus, dessen Stimme immer wieder überspült wird von den Gitarren und dem dazugehörigen Fundament, jenen Lo-Fi-Gerüsten, die er zusammen mit seine beiden Bandmitgliedern aufgenommen hat.

Als Album, das „von diesen seltsamen Zeiten handelt, in denen wir leben“ (er sagt auch: „diese Trump-igkeit“), steckt vieles schon in der Zeile „It’s a beautiful life/it’s a beautiful lie“ aus dem Song „Channel“, der schließlich zu einer wilden Jam-Session ausartet. Sehr viel sanfter, ausbalancierter klingt der Popentwurf von „Heart-Shaped Stone“ oder die hypnotischen Harmonien von „I’m On Trial“, was die Belgier jedoch sogleich mit dem schnurgeraden Indie-Hit „The Law of Misunderstanding“ wegwischen. Dazu gibt es puren Minimalismus auf Orgelbasis („I Guess I Needed You More“) und akustische Geständnisse („Jupiter’s Moon“), eingängige Buchrezensionen verpackt als Lebensfragen („Knausgard“), ekstatische Momente mit mehreren Zündstufen („Too Much“) oder das sich im Chaos auflösende „Love Trouble“, bis im melancholischen Popsound von „You“ auch alternative Endungen auftauchen.

Nach 15 Jahren mit The Go Find schließt sich hiermit ein Kreis: Obwohl die Nineties hoch im Kurs stehen, schert sich dieses Werk nicht wirklich um den Zeitgeist, sondern vertont einfach nur den Wunsch nach dem nächsten Tapetenwechsel, nach den alten Hooks, die man wie ein zweites Skelett in sich trägt. Es gibt eh keinen besseren Balsam, kein besseres Kraut gegen all die kleinen und großen Probleme da draußen.

Dieter von Deurne and The Politics: Dieter von Deurne and The Politics

Nuclear Love Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'36''
Heart-Shaped-Stone Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'57''
I'm On Trial Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 3'33''
The Law Of Misunderstanding Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'27''
Channel Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'33''
Reckless Kids Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'05''
Jupiter's Moon Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 3'11''
I Guess I Needed You More Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'14''
Knausgard Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'18''
Too Much Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 2'30''
Love Trouble Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 5'48''
You Dieter von Deurne and The Politics 4'04''

Auch schön: