Donna Regina

Slow Killer

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-32
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Donna Regina have opened the doors and stepped into the world. "Slow Killer" is breathing of experiences in unusual places and the tender affection of their fans in foreign parts. And as coherently closed this fourth album may appear to you musicwise, it has been more open in the making than any other Donna Regina album before.
Since their last realease "Late" in september 2003 Donna Regina and Günther Janssen together with their DJ and samples-trustee Steffen Irlinger have had more live appearances than in the preceding eleven years together, the halls being crowded in Salamanca just as much as in Porto or Paris, Warsaw and Buenos Aires. Their gig in the venerable auditory of the Polish broadcast has been transmitted live nation-wide, in Argentina even people from Chile and Brazil have been travelling to the capital to see their show. And the audience sang along to the tunes although Donna Regina albums have been on sale nowhere in South America.
"If you travel the world you get to know a lot of people", says Regina Janssen. Thus, more new friends and old acquaintances have been participating in "Slow Killer" than on any other release before. The french musician and producer Bertrand Burgalat - who among other things has set to music an album by and with Michel Houellebecq - has produced parts of "Lazy Heart". Being an old fan of Donna Regina's he already has released a selection of songs from the last five years called "A Collection of little secrets" on his Label Tricatel.
Sebastian Carreras has licensed the very same sampler for South America and his own label Indice Virgen. The musician and composer of the successful Argentinian Trio Entre Rios has also written the lyrics of "Mirame, miraba", which is Donna Regina's first track in Spanish and at the same time the first and only one that Regina Janssen hasn't been writing herself. Thomas Fehlmann, a very early fan of the band himself, always wanted to remix one of their songs, but Donna Regina have taken one step further and asked him to produce "Enemy - No Enemy".
With Pascal Schäfer a labelmate is playing the saxophone on two tracks and on "Mirame, miraba" Theo Roos is playing the mouth organ. Günther Janssen has been collaborating with Roos on various of his TV- and radio-productions.
Despite those collaborations nothing has changed in the principal working method itself however. With their sampled rhythms and analogue sounds, their swift and light changes from track to song and back Donna Regina are occupying a very own spot within the great world of pop music. And on "Slow Killer" it has been arranged particularly beautiful.
Christoph Biermann

Donna Regina: Slow Killer

Slow Killer Donna Regina 3'50''
How Beautiful Donna Regina 3'00''
Mirame, Miraba Donna Regina 7'53''
Enemy - No Enemy Donna Regina 3'19''
Fast As A Shark Donna Regina 4'01''
My Melancholy Man Donna Regina 6'10''
Secrets Donna Regina 5'16''
Lazy Heart Donna Regina 3'37''
End Of September Donna Regina 2'56''
Little Baby Donna Regina 4'45''

Nice as well:

Donna Regina

Slow Killer

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-32
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Donna Regina haben die Türen geöffnet und sind in die Welt hinausgetreten. "Slow Killer" ist beatmet von Erlebnissen an ungewöhnlichen Orten und von der zarten Zuneigung der Fans in der Fremde. So musikalisch geschlossen das vierte Album auf Karaoke Kalk auch klingt, war es in seinem Entstehen so offen wie kein anderes zuvor.
Seit ihrer letzten Veröffentlichung "Late" im September 2003 sind Regina und Günther Janssen mit ihrem DJ und Sampleverwalter Steffen Irlinger mehr aufgetreten als in elf vorangegangenen Jahren. Die Säle in Salamanca waren dabei so voll wie in Porto oder Paris, in Warschau so wie in Buenos Aires. Ihr Auftritt im ehrwürdigen Sendesaal des polnischen Rundfunks wurde landesweit live übertragen, in die argentinische Hauptstadt reisten sogar Fans aus Chile und Brasilien an. Und die Zuschauer sangen dort ihre Stücke mit, obwohl es in Südamerika keine Alben von Donna Regina zu kaufen gab.
"Wenn man durch die Welt fährt, lernt man Leute kennen", sagt Regina Janssen. Auf "Slow Killer" haben so viele neue Freunde und alte Bekannte mitgemacht wie auf keiner anderen Veröffentlichung zuvor. Der französische Musiker und Produzent Bertrand Burgalat - u.a. vertonte er ein Album von und mit Michel Houellebecq - hat einen Teil von "Lazy Heart" produziert. Burgalat ist lange schon ein Fan der Band, im letzten Jahr hatte er auf seinem Label Tricatel "A Collection Of Little Secrets" veröffentlicht, eine Auswahl von Stücken der letzten 5 Jahre.
Den gleichen Sampler hat Sebastian Carreras für sein Label Indice Virgen und Südamerika lizensiert. Der Musiker und Komponist des erfolgreichen argentinischen Trios Entre Rios hat den Text von "Mirame, miraba" geschrieben, der erste von Donna Regina auf Spanisch und zugleich der erste und einzige, den Regina Janssen nicht selbst geschrieben hat. Thomas Fehlmann wollte als alter Fan der Band immer mal den Remix eines Songs machen, doch gingen Donna Regina noch ein Stück weiter und baten ihn um die Produktion von "Enemy - No Enemy".
Mit Pascal Schäfer spielte ein Labelmate auf zwei Stücken Saxophon, und bei "Mirame, miraba" spielte Theo Roos Mundharmonika. Mit Roos hat Günther Janssen verschiedentlich an dessen Fernseh- und Radioproduktionen mitgearbeitet.
An der grundsätzlichen Arbeitsweise hat sich trotz der Zusammenarbeiten indes nichts geändert. Donna Regina besetzen mit ihren gesampelten Rhythmen und den analogen Klängen, ihren leichten Bewegungen zwischen Track und Song, ein ganz eigenes Fleckchen in der weiten Welt des Pop. Auf "Slow Killer" ist es besonders schön ausgestaltet.
Christoph Biermann

Donna Regina: Slow Killer

Slow Killer Donna Regina 3'50''
How Beautiful Donna Regina 3'00''
Mirame, Miraba Donna Regina 7'53''
Enemy - No Enemy Donna Regina 3'19''
Fast As A Shark Donna Regina 4'01''
My Melancholy Man Donna Regina 6'10''
Secrets Donna Regina 5'16''
Lazy Heart Donna Regina 3'37''
End Of September Donna Regina 2'56''
Little Baby Donna Regina 4'45''
CAO Marginal Virgin Opal Tapes
MC: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
ISAN Clockwork Menagerie Morr Music
2LP+7": 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
M Ax Noi Mach On The Edge A L T E R
LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
incl. instant DL