F.S. Blumm

Welcome

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 102 CD
  • LP: Includes download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Comparisons between musicians and painters don't usually work. But biographical parallels are not unusual. And just as some paintings place their creators in a particular period in their creative lives, there are also musicians who can look back on distinct creative phases. F.S.Blumm is one such musician.

At the end of the 90s there were alot of murmurs about the living room scene in Berlin; magical concerts on improvised stages in temporary event spaces. Back then it was about music without fat beats and bass. It was a counter-reaction against rockstars with all their posing and egos. You made music with acoustic instruments and kitchen appliances. Concerts were listened to attentively and with deep concentration. One of the protagonists of this scene was F.S.Blumm. Among other things, his love for untempered, often self-made instruments predestined him for this. At the turn of the century virtually any kind of music which used acoustic instruments was branded „Free Folk“ or „Alternative Folk“. But other than a few ironic comments in interviews Blumm didnt try to monopolize on this supposed movement, rather he kept a poised distance from it. It was during this time that his album „Mondkuchen“ (trans. Moon Cake) was released on Morr Music. The bristly detailedness of the living room scene met serious and powerful reductionism.

F.S.Blumm has many faces. Working your way through his vast discography would be a research project all in its own right. He has collaborated with the likes of David Grubbs, Andi Otto, Harald Sack Ziegler or Nils Frahm. He realised his love for Dub Reggae with the Quasi Dub Development. In the band KINN he played dynamic Postrock. Blumm has a faible for odd beats and could write an a-z on minimal musics pattern matching. Quite where his personal musical signature lies remains something of a mystery. Nevertheless only a few bars are enough to recognize it. This may by down to his preference for open harmonies or his poingnent arrangements.

Now F.S.Blumm is entering a new phase of his creativity which one could call his nonchalant phase. Although the first few bars of his new album do sound like an echo of the deep seriousness in his studio albums with Nils Frahm. Besides a few guitar chords and the suggestion of a xylophone in the background there is nothing but the wide spaces between them. Fine almost random sounding noises are remotely reminiscent of the era of his experimental instrumental concerts with classical guitar. Then the voice comes into play and everything changes. Laid back F.S.Blumm sings with a combination of urgency and relaxation. His voice sounds like he's standing right beside the listener, singing straight into your ear. At the same time its unobtrusive. The piece sounds touching and intimate. This is the way how „Handle Bar“ the opening track on his new album „Welcome“ is delivered.

If an artist as experienced and multifaceted as this calls his new album „Welcome“ that really says something. Many years ago the composer and instrumental musician F.S.Blumm was already active as a songwriter. He wrote songs for three duos in which he played with various singers: Bobby And Blumm with Bobby Baby, Old Splendifolia with Jana Plewa and finally Jonsson Gille & Blumm. Now for the first time since he started making music, he is singing his own songs himself. Which is like a journey back to his roots – back to his childhood bedroom with a songbook and his first guitar. With „Sounds of Silence“ and „Sister Ray“ day in day out.

With every song on „Welcome“ new doors of association are opened. The second track „New Day“ uses reverb laden drums and hymical harmonies to great effect. But F.S.Blumm always manages to make the grandiose still sound grounded. Rather than spreading himself too thin, he prefers to explore the depths. There we find the relaxed and erotically crackling „Going Away“, the optimistic „Initial Spark“ and the casual „Overweight“. Blumm is ever traversing the field between greatness and modesty, sophisticated melodies and recordings which are like the extremely condensed sound of a cassette recorder. This aesthetic permeates the entire album.

With „Welcome“ F.S.Blumm has perfected the imperfect. Where other producers filter out the noise, pops and crackles, Blumm does the exact opposite. He reverses the roles of desired and undesirable sound. What remains are songs like sculptures left in the wake of acoustic tracks.

F.S. Blumm: Welcome

Handle Bar F. S. Blumm 3'09''
New Day F. S. Blumm 2'54''
Hedgehog F. S. Blumm 2'51''
Beauty's My Summary F. S. Blumm 3'41''
Going Away F. S. Blumm 2'31''
Secret Stash F. S. Blumm 3'28''
Initial Spark F. S. Blumm 4'02''
Everything Burns F. S. Blumm 2'32''
Don't Understand F. S. Blumm 3'07''
From Sentiments To Sediments F. S. Blumm 3'27''
Overweight F. S. Blumm 3'39''
Your Egos F. S. Blumm 2'51''
Beside F. S. Blumm 2'55''

Nice as well:

F.S. Blumm

Welcome

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 102 CD
  • LP: Includes download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Vergleiche zwischen Musikern und bildenden Künstlern hinken meist. Aber biographische Parallelen sind keine Seltenheit. So wie manche Bilder bestimmten Schaffensphasen ihrer Schöpfer zuzuordnen sind, so gibt es Musiker, die auf verschiedene kreative Phasen zurück blicken. F.S.Blumm ist so ein Musiker.

Ende der 90er Jahre raunte man von der Berliner Wohnzimmerszene, von magischen Konzerten auf improvisierten Bühnen temporärer Spielorte. Damals ging es um Musik ohne dicke Beats und Bässe. Um Gegenentwürfe zu Rockstars und ihren Posen und Egos. Musik machte man mit akustischen Instrumenten und Küchengeräten. Bei Konzerten wurde konzentriert und versunken zugehört. Einer der Protagonisten dieser Szene war F.S.Blumm. Unter anderem seine Liebe zu untemperierten, häufig selbst gebauten Instrumenten prädestinierte ihn dafür. Anfang der Nuller Jahre wurde praktisch jede Musik, in der akustische Instrumente vorkamen, als „Free Folk“ oder „Alternative Folk“ abgestempelt. Von dieser vermeintlichen Bewegung ließ Blumm sich nicht vereinnahmen, stattdessen hielt er sich souverän zurück, von wenigen ironischen Kommentaren in Interviews abgesehen. In diese Zeit fällt die Veröffentlichung seines Albums „Mondkuchen“ auf Morr Music. Die quirlige, wimmelnde Kleinteiligkeit der Wohnzimmerzeit wich heiligem Ernst und strenger Reduktion.

F.S.Blumm hat viele Gesichter. Sich durch seine gewaltige Diskographie zu arbeiten, wäre ein Forschungsauftrag für sich. Er unterhält Kollaborationen mit David Grubbs, Andi Otto, Harald Sack Ziegler oder Nils Frahm. Seine Schwäche für Dub Reggae lebt er aus mit dem Quasi Dub Development; mit der Band KINN spielte er dynamischen Postrock. Blumm hat ein Faible für ungerade Taktarten und hat das Pattern-Matching der Minimal Music für sich durchdekliniert. Worin seine persönliche musikalische Handschrift eigentlich besteht, bleibt rätselhaft. Und trotzdem genügen wenige Takte, um sie zu erkennen. Das mag an seiner Vorliebe für offene Harmonien liegen oder an seinen pointierten Arrangements.

Nun läutet F.S.Blumm eine Phase seines Schaffens ein, die man als Neue Lässigkeit bezeichnen könnte. Obwohl die allerersten Takte seines neuen Albums klingen wie ein Echo der tiefen Ernsthaftigkeit seiner Studio-Alben mit Nils Frahm. Da sind wenige Gitarrenakkorde, die Andeutung eines Xylophons im Hintergrund und sonst nichts als die weiten Räume dazwischen. Feine, wie zufällig wirkende Nebengeräusche erinnern von Ferne an die Ära seiner experimentellen Instrumentalkonzerte mit klassischer Gitarre. Dann setzt die Stimme ein und alles verändert sich. Weit zurück gelehnt singt F.S. Blumm in einer Mischung aus Eindringlichkeit und Entspanntheit. Seine Stimme klingt, als würde er direkt neben dem Hörer stehen und ihm ins Ohr singen. Gleichzeitig ist sie unaufdringlich. Das Stück klingt anrührend und intim. Es ist die Rede vom „Handle Bar“, dem Eröffnungstitel seines neuen Albums „Welcome“.

Wenn ein so erfahrener und vielseitiger Künstler sein neues Album betitelt, als wäre es ein Debut, dann sagt das etwas aus. Vor Jahren schon betätigte sich der Komponist und Instrumentalmusiker F.S.Blumm als Songwriter. Er schrieb die Songs für drei Duos, die er mit unterschiedlichen Sängerinnen betrieb: Bobby And Blumm mit Bobby Baby, Old Splendifolia mit Jana Plewa und schließlich Jonsson Gille & Blumm. Nun singt er seine eigenen Stücke selbst. Zum ersten mal, seit er Musik macht. Für ihn ist das wie eine Reise zurück zum Ursprung, zurück ins Jugendzimmer mit Liederbuch und erster E-Gitarre. Mit „Sounds of Silence“ und „Sister Ray“ tagein tagaus.

Mit jedem Song auf „Welcome“ öffnen sich Türen in andere Assoziationsräume. Der zweite Titel „New Day“ holt aus zu großer Geste mit schwer verhalltem Schlagzeug und hymnischen Harmonien. Aber selbst die große Geste klingt bei F.S.Blumm geerdet. Statt sich breit zu machen, geht er lieber in die Tiefe. Da ist das entspannte und erotisch umknisterte „Going Away“, das versöhnliche „Initial Spark“, das lässige „Overweight“. Stets bewegt sich Blumm im Spannungsfeld zwischen Großartigkeit und Bescheidenheit, zwischen ausgefeilten Harmonien und Aufnahmen, die nach dem extrem verdichteten Sound eines Kassettenrekorders klingen. Diese Klangästhetik prägt das gesamte Album.

Mit „Welcome“ perfektioniert F.S.Blumm das nicht Perfekte. Wo andere Produzenten Rauschen, Knacken und Knistern herausfiltern, tut Blumm das Gegenteil. Er veredelt die Patina, er vertauscht die Rollen von erwünschtem und unerwünschtem Klang. Übrig bleiben Songs wie Skulpturen aus akustischen Gebrauchsspuren.

F.S. Blumm: Welcome

Handle Bar F. S. Blumm 3'09''
New Day F. S. Blumm 2'54''
Hedgehog F. S. Blumm 2'51''
Beauty's My Summary F. S. Blumm 3'41''
Going Away F. S. Blumm 2'31''
Secret Stash F. S. Blumm 3'28''
Initial Spark F. S. Blumm 4'02''
Everything Burns F. S. Blumm 2'32''
Don't Understand F. S. Blumm 3'07''
From Sentiments To Sediments F. S. Blumm 3'27''
Overweight F. S. Blumm 3'39''
Your Egos F. S. Blumm 2'51''
Beside F. S. Blumm 2'55''

Auch schön: