• 7” : Includes Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
F.S. Blumm aka Frank Schültge from Berlin has been making marvelous music for many years now. Be it solo like on his latest album (Pingipung in 2013) as part of the subtle folk-duo "Bobby & Blumm" or as a soundscape researcher at the side of Nils Frahm.

But even though F.S. Blummbastic sees the light of day for the very first time in this release, the combination of Dub and Blumm is not new: He is part of the Quasi Dub Development (QDD). The collective around Blumm and Luca Fadda from New York recently released the album "Little-Twister vs Stiff-Neck" with features by Lee 'Scratch' Perry or Lady Ann on Pingipung in 2014.

These "Riddims and Biscuits" came to live during the creation of material for future QDD-concerts. F.S. Blummbastic played all instruments himself, rhythm guitar, organ and of course bass to send the results the the colleagues in New York. Soon it was clear: These riddims have the most impact in their reduced form. They'd like to stand alone and get played back loudly.

For the drums F.S. Blummbastic brought Helmut Erler aka hey from Hey-Ø-Hansen into the QDD cosmos. Not only did he bang the drums, but he has also mixed, mastered and cut the vinyl of this album.

We present to you ten bold riddims, connected by nine biscuits. The tracks sound raw as riddims should do without lacking an attention to detail. As usual in the QDD, the instruments are mainly unprocessed. This Dub is different to the classic post production of sound in the studio. Here it has found its way into the deep in- strumental sequences played by the musicians themselves, enhanced by special sound sources like Blumm's custom built amplified spiral box.

Pingipung releases the four best riddims, including the hits "Badeboom" and "Bleep", as well as two biscuits as locked grooves on this single.

F.S.Blummbastic feat. Hey: Riddims And Biscuits

Bleep F.S.Blummbastic 2'49''
Kapow F.S.Blummbastic 3'16''
Badeboom F.S.Blummbastic 3'06''
Blam F.S.Blummbastic 3'03''

Nice as well:

• 7” : Includes Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Der Berliner F.S. Blumm alias Frank Schültge macht seit vielen Jahren in den unterschiedlichsten Konstella- tionen ganz und gar wundervolle Musik. Ob auf seinem 2013 bei Pingipung erschienen aktuellen Solo-Album, als Teil des filigranen Folkpop-Duos "Bobby & Blumm" oder bei der Kreation von instrumentalen Soundscapes zusammen mit Nils Frahm.

Aber auch wenn F.S. Blummbastic hier zum ersten Mal das Licht der Öffentlichkeit erblickt, ist die Kombi- nation aus Dub und Blumm keine neue: So ist Blumm Teil des Quasi Dub Development (QDD). Das Kollek- tiv rund um Blumm und den New Yorker Luca Fadda veröffentlichte zuletzt 2014 bei Pingipung das Album "Little-Twister vs Stiff-Neck" mit Gastfeatures von Lee 'Scratch' Perry oder Lady Ann.

Diese "Riddims and Biscuits" entstanden bei der Arbeit an Beats für zukünftige Live-Konzerte des QDD. F.S. Blummbastic spielte alle Instrumente selber ein, Rhythmusgitarre, Orgel und vor allem Bass, um sie dann an die Kollegen in New York zu schicken. Schnell wurde klar: Diese Riddims sind jedoch in ihrer Redukti- on am spannendsten. Sie wollen alleine stehen und laut abgespielt werden.

Für die Drums holt F.S. Blummbastic Helmut Erler alias hey von Hey-Ø-Hansen in den QDD Kosmos. Er spielte nicht nur das Schlagzeug ein sondern mischte die Platte auch mit ab und hat das Mastering und den Vinylschnitt meisterhaft übernommen.

Heraus gekommen sind zehn feiste Riddims, die von neun Biscuithäppchen verbunden werden. Die Tracks klingen so roh, wie Riddims eben sein müssen, ohne dabei Detailliebe vermissen zu lassen. Ähnlich wie beim QDD sind die Instrumente hier in der Regel unprozes- siert. Das Dubflair wird nicht allein durch den massiven Einsatz von Hall-Effekten erzeugt, sondern durch die tiefen Sequenzen der Instrumentalisten selbst und an- schließend durch ungewöhnliche Klangquellen wie Blumms selbstgebaute Kiste mit verstärkten Kugel- schreiberspiralen oder Büroklammern verfeinert.

Die vier besten Riddims inklusive der Hits "Badeboom" und "Bleep" sowie zwei "Biscuits" als Locked Grooves veröffentlicht Pingipung auf einer Single.

F.S.Blummbastic feat. Hey: Riddims And Biscuits

Bleep F.S.Blummbastic 2'49''
Kapow F.S.Blummbastic 3'16''
Badeboom F.S.Blummbastic 3'06''
Blam F.S.Blummbastic 3'03''

Auch schön: