Fat Jon & Styrofoam

The Same Channel

Morr Music morr 071-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Two in a room. Surrounded by buttons and cables, by guitars, synthesizers, microphones. Fat Jon and Arne van Petegem have recorded "the same channel" during a few weeks. Through days and nights, interrupted only by short coffee-breaks and longer walks. In Arne's studio in Antwerp the two docked their soundships: Fat Jon, the EmCee and DJ, Arne van Petegem, the guitarist and laptop-artist. They share the passion for their machines' soul, the filing of their files. Two artists who are able to puzzle over two times for a whole night.
All around the world. Cincinnati, Antwerp, Berlin. The two got to know each other five years ago. In 2001 Arne van Petegem invited Fat Jon, still living in Cincinnati/Ohio at that time, to a workshop in Antwerp. What followed this first encounter was great respect for the music of the other and a deep, lasting friendship - as well as the idea of a common album.
"the same channel" has grown out of this. A musical encounter indeed, but far away from crossover of the indieboy-meets-homeboy-clichés. This album drinks of a common cup, it thinks musical schools, worlds and last but not least passions together: the onomatopoeic guitars of Styrofoam, Fat Jon's repetitive idiom, his talent for laconic stories. The klicks'n'cuts, carefully and detailed interwoven, and a production that - without laying it on thick - makes clear that two well versed producers are at work.
"You can scream it out" is a nimble, catchy record, enticing and tricky in its alterations and modulations. "Space gansta" is a creeping track, Dub, smoothly cruising. "Upgrade" a nonchalant speech-staccato, surrounded by one of theses enticing refrains by Styrofoam.
Fat Jon moved from Cincinnati to Berlin because of love. He is still part of the Cincinnati-based, Progressive-Hip-Hop-collective "five deez" that releases on the Berlin-based label K7!. Small world, isn't it? Fat Jon released further the album "afterthought" on ample soul/libyus music.
Arne van Petegem enlarged his indie-guitar background in the late 1990ies by means of a sampler and a Roland Juno-synthesizer - in order to lap about the joins of guitar-songwriting and Elektronika as Styrofoam. Since these days he released four records on Morr Music, the recent one is an album with guest musicians and the captivating title "nothing's lost".

Fat Jon & Styrofoam: The Same Channel

Acid Rain Robot Repair Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'06''
Bleed Fat Jon & Styrofoam 7'28''
Runnin Circles Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'11''
Space Gangster Fat Jon & Styrofoam 3'55''
Nervous Inaction Fat Jon & Styrofoam 2'51''
Upgrade Fat Jon & Styrofoam 5'31''
Scream It Out Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'43''
The Middle Fat Jon & Styrofoam 8'26''
Generic Genes Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'54''
Upgrade (Grace Periode Mix) Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'21''

Fat Jon & Styrofoam

The Same Channel

Morr Music morr 071-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Zwei zusammen in einem Raum. Umgeben von Knöpfen und Kabeln, von Gitarren, Synthesizern und Mikrophonen haben Fat Jon und Arne van Petegem in wenigen Wochen "the same channel" aufgenommen. Durch Tage und durch Nächte, unterbrochen nur von einem schnellen Kaffee und längeren Spaziergängen. In Arnes Studio in Antwerpen haben sie ihre Soundschiffe angedockt. Fat Jon, der EmCee und DJ, Arne van Petegem, der Gitarrist und Knöpfchendreher. Gemeinsam ist ihnen die Leidenschaft für die Seele der Maschinen, das feilen an den Files. Zwei, die schon mal eine Nacht lang an zwei Takten tüfteln.
All around the world. Cincinnati, Antwerp, Berlin. Vor fünf Jahren schon haben sich die beiden kennengelernt. 2001 hatte Arne van Petegem Fat Jon, der damals noch in Cincinnati/Ohio lebte, zu einem Workshop nach Antwerpen eingeladen. Was folgte, war ein großer Respekt für die Musik des jeweils anderen - und eine tiefe, andauernde Freundschaft. Was folgte war die Idee eines gemeinsamen Albums.
Daraus ist nun "the same channel" erwachsen. Eine Begegnung sicher, aber weitab vom Crossover der indieboy meets homeboy Klischees. Dieses Album trinkt aus einer gemeinsamen Tasse, denkt musikalische Schulen, Welten und nicht zuletzt Leidenschaften zusammen: die lautmalerischen Styrofoam-Gitarren, Fat Jons repetitives Idiom, sein Talent für lakonische Erzählungen. Die detailgenau geschachtelten Klicks'n'Cuts und nicht zuletzt eine Produktion, die - ohne unnötig dick aufzutragen - deutlich macht, das hier vor allem zwei versierte Produzenten am Werk sind.
"You can scream it out" ist ein agiler Ohrwurm, einschmeichelnd und trickreich in seinen Verschiebungen und Modulationen. "Space gangsta" ein schleichendes Stück Dub, geschmeidiges Cruisen. "Upgrade" ein nonchalantes Sprechstakatto, umhüllt von einem dieser einnehmenden "Styrofoam"-Refrains.
Fat Jon zog der Liebe wegen von Cincinnati nach Berlin, ist aber noch immer Teil des dort ansässigen, umtriebigen Progressive-HipHop- Kollektivs "five deez" - das wiederum seit 2002 auf dem Berliner Label K7! veröffentlicht. Kleine Welt, isn't it? Außerdem veröffentlichte er das Album "afterthought"auf ample soul/libyus music.
Arne van Petegem erweiterte in den späten Neunzigern seinen Indiegitarren-Backround um einen Sampler und ein Roland Juno-Synthesizer - um fortan als Styrofoam die Nahtstellen von Gitarrensongwriting und Electronica zu umspielen. Seitdem vier Morr-Veröffentlichungen, zuletzt ein Album mit Gastmusikern und mit bestechendem Titel: "nothing's lost".

Fat Jon & Styrofoam: The Same Channel

Acid Rain Robot Repair Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'06''
Bleed Fat Jon & Styrofoam 7'28''
Runnin Circles Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'11''
Space Gangster Fat Jon & Styrofoam 3'55''
Nervous Inaction Fat Jon & Styrofoam 2'51''
Upgrade Fat Jon & Styrofoam 5'31''
Scream It Out Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'43''
The Middle Fat Jon & Styrofoam 8'26''
Generic Genes Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'54''
Upgrade (Grace Periode Mix) Fat Jon & Styrofoam 4'21''
ISAN Clockwork Menagerie Morr Music
2LP+7": 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
Dog Bite LA EP Carpark
EP: 6,00 € 11,99 €
People Press Play People Press Play Morr Music
CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
LP: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL