Guido Möbius


Karaoke Kalk Kalk CD 68
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Previously Guido Möbius has mostly given lyrics a wide berth. On his last album „Gebirge“ Möbius’ strategy to avoid meaning and pathos altogether was the collaboration with Andreas Gogol with his wordless dada-song. And although Gogol's highly musical stuttering is also present on Spirituals, Möbius now goes the other way on his fourth album: this time he's allowing himself to indulge in meaning and pathos.
„Spirituals“ unites crooked humour and dark premonition, apotheosis and kitsch. With each track Möbius highlights another aspect of spirituality, be it religious or another kind. Indeed, maybe one does come close to a feeling of transcendence through hypnotic rhythms. Maybe one can even achieve purification through noise or just take solace in singing spiritual songs. Möbius plays with the neo-pagan spirituality of Black Metal („all evil ways“) as well as with egocentric rallying calls of soul music („the right thing“). He evokes the spirits of the end of days („babylon’s falling“) and harnesses the touching confidence of an amateur choir („though the darkness gathers“). His pleasure in the unexpected is ever present in his music. Just as much as his preference for unusual sounds.
Six of the nine tracks on „Spirituals“ use the texts from traditional gospels. Without knowing the originals Guido Möbius gave these lyrics new melodies and used them for his own purposes. This poaching on forbidden terrain was a special joy for Möbius the atheist. But in so doing its not about provocation or any shock tactics. Far more he has re appropriated something that is already firmly anchored in the collective consciousness. The citation alone suffices to expose principles of guilt, angst and humility. Spiritual music can be defined either as humorous, oppressive or double-sided even if it is unintentionally so. But gospels are also good when you want to enter a fully authentic emotional state with no trace of irony. They are sympathetic and when sung in a collective, a source of genuine spirituality.
Following two albums of predominantly chamber music, Möbius finally approached bass and bass drum driven music with „Gebirge“. And the Berlin based musician with his roots in the Rheinland also uses the instrumentation of modern dance music on „Spirituals“. Although stylistically he still can't be pigeon holed. On „godhead appears“ he combines fevered percussion with Kiki Bohemias elegant singing and Andi Otto's cello playing. On „babylon’s falling“ we hear layers, stacked like geological sediment and streaked through with a restless pulse. The rhythmic saws and squeaking sound on „all evil ways“ combine with the morbid groove. Then there's „judgment“ with its dry funkiness and „blessed sleep“ with cutting guitar layers and noises of all kinds. The echo effect on „the reign of sin“ lets loose whispers from ghostly voices. While most of the sounds on „all around me“ come from the automatic tuner on an everyday portable radio.
This album has a light and a dark side. A fact that is most conspicuous in the LP format. The hopeful A-side with „all around me“ to „godhead appears“ could be understood under the motto redemption, whereas the B-side is more dedicated to damnation.
Guido Möbius works as a PR agent and runs the music publisher autopilot. On his 7“ label emphase records he releases records at irregular intervals which are always recorded using only one instrument. Early 2012 the split LP „asper 2“ featuring re-edited concert recordings by Guido Möbius and Centenaire + King Q4 came out on dokidoki / clapping music & guilty by association. „Spirituals“ is Guido Möbius' fourth studio album.

Guido Möbius: Spirituals

All Around Me Guido Möbius 3'32''
Judgment Guido Möbius 3'40''
The Right Thing Guido Möbius 2'09''
Godhead Appears Guido Möbius 7'21''
Babylon's Falling Guido Möbius 5'12''
The Reign Of Sin Guido Möbius 4'17''
All Evil Ways Guido Möbius 5'29''
Blessed Sleep Guido Möbius 4'34''
Though The Darkness Gathers Guido Möbius 2'17''

Nice as well:

Guido Möbius

Spirituals

Karaoke Kalk Kalk CD 68
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Um Songtexte hat Guido Möbius bislang einen Bogen gemacht. Bedeutung und ihre Überhöhung durch Musik waren ihm stets suspekt. Auf seinem Vorgängeralbum „Gebirge“ war Möbius’ Strategie zur Vermeidung von Sinn und Pathos die Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Gogol und seinem wortlosen Dada-Gesang. Und obwohl Gogols hochmusikalisches Gestotter auch auf Spirituals zu hören ist, schlägt Möbius auf seinem nunmehr vierten Album die Gegenrichtung ein: Er ergeht sich in Bedeutung, Pathos und Sinn.
„Spirituals“ vereint schlitzohrigen Humor und düstere Vorahnungen, Verklärung und Kitsch. Mit jedem Stück beleuchtet Möbius einen anderen Aspekt des Themas Spiritualität, sei sie nun religiöser oder anderer Natur. Man mag sich einem Gefühl von Transzendenz nähern durch hypnotische Rhythmen. Man mag Läuterung erfahren im Lärm. Oder man fühlt sich getröstet beim Singen geistlicher Texte. Möbius spielt mit der neo-heidnischen Spiritualität des Black Metal („all evil ways“) wie mit egozentrischen Durchhalteparolen im Soul („the right thing“). Er beschwört die Geister der Endzeitstimmung dieser Tage („babylon’s falling“) und bedient sich der rührenden Zuversicht eines Laienchors („though the darkness gathers“). Sein Spaß am Unerwarteten ist in seiner Musik allgegenwärtig. Ebenso wie seine Vorliebe für merkwürdige Geräusche.
Sechs der neun Stücke auf „Spirituals“ sind mit Texten traditioneller Gospels versehen. Ohne Kenntnis der Originale hat Guido Möbius diesen Texten neue Melodien gegeben und sie so für seine Zwecke benutzt. Dem Atheisten Möbius bereitet dieses Wildern auf verbotenem Terrain ein besonderes Vergnügen. Dabei geht es ihm nicht um Provokation oder einen Schockeffekt. Vielmehr hat er sich etwas angeeignet, das bereits im kollektiven Bewusstsein verankert ist. Um ein Prinzip von Schuld, Angst und Demut herauszustellen, bedarf es nichts als dem Zitat. Auch kann per Definition spirituelle Musik ungewollt witzig, beklemmend oder doppelbödig sein. Aber auch dann, wenn man sich ganz unironisch in einen Zustand österlicher Ergriffenheit versetzen möchte, sind Gospels und ihre Texte sehr hilfreich. Sie spenden Trost und sind beim gemeinsamen Singen ein Quell echter Spiritualität.
Mit „Gebirge“ hatte sich Möbius nach zwei überwiegend kammermusikalischen Alben erstmals der von Bass und Bassdrum gestützten Musik zugewandt. Auch auf „Spirituals“ macht der Berliner mit den rheinischen Wurzeln ausgiebig Gebrauch vom Instrumentarium moderner Tanzmusik. Stilistisch mag er sich allerdings noch immer nicht festlegen. In „godhead appears“ kombiniert er fiebrige Perkussion mit Kiki Bohemias elegischen Gesangslinien und Andi Ottos obertonreichem Cellospiel. In „babylon’s falling“ hören wir Flächen, sich überlagernd wie Gesteinsschichten und durchzogen von einem rastlosen Puls. Rhythmische Säge- und Quietschgeräusche in „all evil ways“ fügen sich zu einem morbiden Groove. Da ist „judgment“ mit seiner trockenen Funkyness und „blessed sleep“ mit sägenden Gitarrenflächen und Rauschen in allen Schattierungen. Der Echo-Effekt in „the reign of sin“ lässt Geisterstimmen flüstern. Die meisten der Sounds in „all around me“ entstammen einem Sender-Suchlauf mit einem herkömmlichen Kofferradio.
Dieses Album hat eine helle und eine dunkle Seite. Ein Umstand, der besonders im LP-Format zum Tragen kommt. Die hoffnungsvolle A-Seite von „all around me“ bis „godhead appears“ könnte man mit dem Motto „Erlösung“ versehen, wobei die B-Seite eher der Verdammnis gewidmet ist.
Guido Möbius arbeitet als PR-Agent und betreibt den Musikverlag autopilot publishing. Auf seinem 7-inch label emphase records veröffentlicht er in unregelmäßigen Abständen Platten, die jeweils mit nur einem Instrument aufgenommen wurden. Anfang 2012 erschien die Split-LP „asper 2“ mit re-editierten Konzertmitschnitten von Guido Möbius und Centenaire + King Q4 bei dokidoki / clapping music & guilty by association. „Spirituals“ ist das vierte Studioalbum von Guido Möbius.

Guido Möbius: Spirituals

All Around Me Guido Möbius 3'32''
Judgment Guido Möbius 3'40''
The Right Thing Guido Möbius 2'09''
Godhead Appears Guido Möbius 7'21''
Babylon's Falling Guido Möbius 5'12''
The Reign Of Sin Guido Möbius 4'17''
All Evil Ways Guido Möbius 5'29''
Blessed Sleep Guido Möbius 4'34''
Though The Darkness Gathers Guido Möbius 2'17''
Helios Remixed Unseen
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Múm Early Birds Morr Music
2LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
PTTRNS Body Pressure Altin Village & Mine
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL