Guido Möbius

Though The Darkness Gathers - Spirituals By Guido Möbius Remixed

Karaoke Kalk Kalk CD 73
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Guido Möbius' fourth studio album “Spirituals” appeared in July 2012. „Spirituals“ united subtle humour and dark premonition, transfiguration and kitsch. Six out of the nine pieces on this album use lyrics taken from traditional gospels. Without knowing the originals Möbius set the texts to new tunes and so used them for his own ends. The subject of spirituality is approached from track to track in very differing ways. Whether through hypnotic rhythms, cathartic noise or the reassuring sound of an amateur choir. Thereby the agnostic Möbius is not looking to provoke or at any kind of religious critique. Much more he has accustomed himself to something that is deeply rooted in the collective consciousness. Spirituals and gospels can be powerful and energetic. Guido Möbius has brought this energy into a new context.
This playful style of creative conversion now finds its continuation. Möbius asked eight of his favourite contemporary musicians to make their own versions of his new Spirituals. The results could hardly be more varied or entertaining.
Senking throws the door open with a kind of Doomstep track in his dark and compulsive interpretation of „All Evil Ways“. He is followed by Rotaphon, an alter ego of Boris Hegenbart, here with a weightless version of „Blessed Sleep“. The French duo Gangpol & Mit turn the feverous „Godhead Appears“ into a kind of Voodoo-Jazz piece with a high speed finale in seven four time. With a totally new melody and created solely from sample generated by pitch shifting splinters of the track „Judgment“ Jason Forrest has created a true Armageddon Version of this cheerful music for the end of time. Candie Hank aka Patric Catani emphasises the funk in „The Reign of Sin“ with club friendly Raumpatrouille-Orion-Sounds in his remix of „Reign Of Sweet Sin”. Harmönia label colleague and protagotonist of the Finish Skweee scene Mesak delivered a hypnotic slow motion monster with „Babel In Port To Mesak“. A wonderfully rounded instrumental old school version of “All Around Me” is provided by the hyperactive Sick Girls. And Daniel Padden (Volcano The Bear) sets a magical closing point with „Send The Ark“.
Although or perhaps because the remixes gathered together here are so different „Though The Darkness Gathers“ is an acoustic discovery journey of an album wherein each piece is a fine surprise.

Guido Möbius: Though The Darkness Gathers - Spirituals By Guido Möbius Remixed

More Evil Ways (Senking Remix) Guido Möbius 5'27''
Lappland Schneit (Rotaphon Mix) Guido Möbius 4'03''
Godhead & Mix (Gangpol & Mit Mix) Guido Möbius 4'00''
Judgment (Jason Forrest's Armageddon Version) Guido Möbius 3'41''
Reign Of Sweet Sin (Candie Hank Remix) Guido Möbius 3'24''
Babel In Port To Mesak Mesak & Guido Möbius 5'02''
All Around Me (Sick Everyday Mix) Guido Möbius 4'55''
Send The Ark (Daniel Padden Remix) Guido Möbius 5'49''
Teen In Limbo Carpark
2LP: 13,49 € 17,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Le Rok Hausarbeiten Karaoke Kalk
LP: 3,50 € 13,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
Donna Regina Holding The Mirror For Sophia Loren Karaoke Kalk
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Fumble Melo Karaoke Kalk
EP: 2,50 € 9,99 €
De La Mancha The End* Of Music Karaoke Kalk
LP: 3,75 € 14,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL

Guido Möbius

Though The Darkness Gathers - Spirituals By Guido Möbius Remixed

Karaoke Kalk Kalk CD 73
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
feat. Senking, Rotaphon aka Boris Hegenbart, Gangpol & Mit, Jason Forrest, Candie Hank aka Patric Catani, Mesak, Sick Girls, Daniel Padden (Volcano The Bear)
Im Juli 2012 erschien "Spirituals", das vierte Studioalbum von Guido Möbius. "Spirituals" vereint hintergründigen Humor und düstere Vorahnungen, Verklärung und Kitsch. Sechs der neun Stücke auf diesem Album sind mit Texten traditioneller Gospels versehen. Ohne Kenntnis der Originale hat Möbius diesen Texten neue Melodien gegeben und sie so für seine Zwecke benutzt. Dem Thema Spiritualität nähert er sich von Stück zu Stück auf ganz unterschiedliche Arten und Weisen. Sei es durch hypnotische Rhythmen, läuternden Lärm oder die rührende Zuversicht eines Laienchors. Dabei geht es dem Agnostiker Möbius nicht um Provokation oder Religionskritik. Vielmehr hat er sich etwas angeeignet, das bereits im kollektiven Bewusstsein verankert ist. Spirituals oder Gospels können kraftvoll und energetisch sein. Diese Energie hat Guido Möbius in neue Zusammenhänge gestellt.
Diese spielerische Form der kreativen Umwidmung wird nun konsequent fortgesetzt. Möbius hat acht seiner aktuellen Lieblingsmusiker gebeten, ihrerseits eigene Versionen seiner neuen Spirituals zu machen. Die Ergebnisse könnten unterschiedlicher und unterhaltsamer kaum sein.
Mit einer Art Doomstep Track, einer dunklen und zwingenden Interpretation von "All Evil Ways", stößt Senking die Tür auf. Ihm folgt Rotaphon, ein Alter Ego von Boris Hegenbart, hier mit einer schwerelosen Version von "Blessed Sleep". Das französische Duo Gangpol & Mit macht aus dem fiebrigen "Godhead Appears" eine Art Voodoo-Jazz-Stück mit Hochgeschwindigkeitsfinale im Sieben Viertel Takt. Mit ganz neuen Melodieführungen, ausschließlich generiert durch pitch shifting von Sample Splittern aus dem Track "Judgment", hat Jason Forrest in der Tat eine Armageddon Version dieser fröhlichen Endzeitmusik geschaffen. Candie Hank aka Patric Catani betont den Funk in "The Reign of Sin" mit clubtauglichen Raumpatrouille-Orion-Sounds in seinem "Reign Of Sweet Sin" Remix. Mesak, Mitbetreiber des labels Harmönia und Protagonist der finnischen Skweee-Szene, hat mit "Babel In Port To Mesak" ein hypnotisches Slow Motion Monster abgeliefert. Ein wunderbar runder Instrumentaltrack alter Schule ist die "All Around Me" Version der hyperaktiven Sick Girls. Und Daniel Padden (Volcano The Bear) setzt mit "Send The Ark" einen magischen Schlusspunkt.
Obwohl oder gerade weil die hier versammelten Remixe so verschieden sind, ist "Though The Darkness Gathers" ein Album wie eine akustische Entdeckungsreise und jedes einzelne Stück eine feine Überraschung.

Guido Möbius: Though The Darkness Gathers - Spirituals By Guido Möbius Remixed

More Evil Ways (Senking Remix) Guido Möbius 5'27''
Lappland Schneit (Rotaphon Mix) Guido Möbius 4'03''
Godhead & Mix (Gangpol & Mit Mix) Guido Möbius 4'00''
Judgment (Jason Forrest's Armageddon Version) Guido Möbius 3'41''
Reign Of Sweet Sin (Candie Hank Remix) Guido Möbius 3'24''
Babel In Port To Mesak Mesak & Guido Möbius 5'02''
All Around Me (Sick Everyday Mix) Guido Möbius 4'55''
Send The Ark (Daniel Padden Remix) Guido Möbius 5'49''