Hauschka

Versions Of The Prepared Piano

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-38
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
How do you remix a "piano solo"? The fragile experiments on Hauschka's "Prepared Piano" have opened many ears last autumn to the plenty sound-possibilities of a piano. The tracks reminded of the by far not exhausted capabilities of an instrument the boom of which is continuing for almost 300 years now since François Couperin published his piano tutor „L árt de toucher le clavecin“ back in 1716.
And somehow this chest of keys again and again manages to transpose itself to the here and now. Its peculiar tone, its fine yet ever and anon brute sounds are never fungible and bear their own distinct qualities - qualities that after all reveal a lot of the instrument itself, its player and the composer. And this is why Hauschka started his experiment: He selected different musicians who each picked up one of his compositions as a basis. The results transgress the boundaries of ordinary remixes: material being added en masse, Hauschka's complete, perfected works all at once function as basic tracks on which more and more layers are stacked. This can be at times opulent as with Vert or tranquil as with for example Èglantine Gouzy.
One thing's for sure: these "revisions" or "versions" asked a lot of everyone involved. It wasn’t about simply putting melodies on a straight minimal track - Hauschka's piano rather integrates itself as both a rhythmic and melodic element or presets the conditions. TG Mauss' melancholic pop track demonstrates this procedure to an almost exemplary extent. We are dealing with something quite extraordinary here as we're confronted with something that both functions beautifully in itself and - being constantly in comparison with the original - reveals something of the art of compositon and arranging.
Hauschka himself changes one track into a sensitive Beach Boys experiment. Nobukazu Takemura introduces new territory to the impressionistic texture of "Kein Wort" with his chirps and dissonances. When Hauschka initiated his project he directed his attention on the possiblity of the editors to sing on his tracks. Now Takemura's and Frank Bretschneider's non-vocal versions add space on the album and hint on wholly different possibilities of handling the original material.
This is piano pop different from Elton John, Bruce Hornsby or Ben Folds - it is stretching sound to the mesmerizing tones of a Takeo Toyama and Wechsel Garland. Sometines Hauschka is featured in the background as with Barbara Morgenstern or sometimes he is the lone accompanist as with Mira Calix. Chica and the Folder then make it completely impossible to divide the different complements. Tarwater then accompony you to the home of the prepared piano: "He wonders how far he had travelled" they sing. Indeed, this album represents a long journey to most astonishing places.
With "Room to Expand" Hauschka is gonna release a new solo-album on Fat Cat Feb 19th, 2007, once more tracing in his own way the lessons and the pure beauty.

Hauschka: Versions Of The Prepared Piano

Mr. Spoon (Eglantine Gouzy) Hauschka 2'58''
Im Schlaf (Barbara Morgenstern) Hauschka 3'02''
Assembler’s Mix (Nobukazu Takemura) Hauschka 6'41''
Es Waren Eimal (Wechsel Garland) Hauschka 2'08''
Kotoba Naku (Takeo Toyama) Hauschka 4'01''
Things (Tg Mauss) Hauschka 4'18''
Rocket Man (Vert) Hauschka 3'22''
Stumm (Frank Bretschneider) Hauschka 4'45''
Without Morning Mix (Mira Calix) Hauschka 3'27''
Para Bien (Chica And The Folder) Hauschka 3'30''
Flying Horses (Hauschka) Hauschka 3'43''
The Afterlife Of Things (Tarwater) Hauschka 2'50''
Piano Interrupted Landscapes Of The Unfinished Denovali Records
LP: 14,99 € 19,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
Deas String Studies A L T E R
LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
incl. instant DL
Mesa Ritual Mesa Ritual Sige Records
MC: 7,50 € 14,99 €
LP: 17,24 € 22,99 €

Hauschka

Versions Of The Prepared Piano

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-38
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Wie remixt man "Piano Solo"? - Die fragilen Experimente auf Hauschkas "Prepared Piano" öffneten schon im letzten Herbst vielen die Ohren ob der klanglichen Möglichkeiten des Pianos. Die Stücke erinnerten an die bei weitem nicht ausgereizten Fähigkeiten eines Instruments, dessen Boom nun seit Francois Couperins Klavierschule „L árt de toucher le clavecin“ von 1716 nahezu 300 Jahre andauert.
Und irgendwie rettete sich diese Tastenkiste doch immer ins Hier und Jetzt. Seine Eigenheiten des Klangbildes, die filigranen, ja mitunter auch brachialen Sounds, die das Piano hervorbringt, sind nicht austauschbar und verfügen über tragende, unverwechselbare Qualitäten. Qualitäten die letztlich soviel über das Instrument wie über seinen Spieler und den Komponisten verraten. Weil dem so ist, startete Hauschka sein Experiment: Er wählte sich Musiker, die seine Kompositionen als Basis wählten. Die Resultate überschreiten die Grenzen des Remix. Material wurde en masse hinzugefügt und plötzlich fungieren Hauschkas komplette, in sich geschlossene Werke als Basistrack auf welchen weitere Spuren geschichtet werden. Mal opulenter wie bei Vert, mal stiller etwa bei Eglantine Gouzy.
Eins ist stets klar: Diese "Revisions" oder "Versions" verlangten allen Beteiligten viel ab. Da wird nicht einfach eine Melodie über einen geraden Minimaltrack gelegt - Hauschkas Piano fügt sich als rhythmisches wie melodisches Element ein oder setzt die Vorgaben. tg mauss melancholischer Poptrack führt das fast exemplarisch vor. Das ist schon etwas Außerordentliches, wir bekommen ein Pop-Album geliefert was so für sich wunderschön funktioniert oder im Abgleich mit den Originalen einiges über die Kunst des Komponierens und Arrangierens verrät.
Hauschka selber verwandelt ein Stück in ein zartes Beach Boys Experiment. Nobukazu Takemura versieht die impressionistische Textur von "Kein Wort" mit Zirpen und Dissonanzen in neues Terrain. Als Hauschka das Projekt begann, legte er sein Augenmerk darauf, dass die Bearbeiter seiner Stücke singen. Nun geben Takemuras und Frank Brettschneiders Non-Vocal Versionen dem Album Raum und verweisen auf nochmals ganz Andere Möglichkeiten mit dem Basismaterial umzugehen.
Piano Pop, anders als Elton John, Bruce Hornsby oder Ben Folds - weiterreichend bis hin zu den verzauberten Tönen Takeo Toyamas und Wechsel Garlands. Mal mit Hauschka im Background, wie bei Barbara Morgenstern, mal mit ihm als alleinigen Begleiter von Mira Calix Gesang. Bei Chica and the Folder scheint es dann völlig unmöglich die einzelnen Bestandteile nochmals auseinander zu dividieren. Tarwater geleiten einen Heim zum präparierten Klangkörper "He wonders how far he had travelled" singen sie. Ja, eine weite Reise zu erstaunlichen Orten, dieses Album.
Hauschka wird am 19 Februar 2007 mit "Room to Expand" auf FatCat ein neues Solo-Album veröffentlichen welches dann in seiner eigenen Weise hier und da auf die Lektionen oder die pure Schönheit von "Versions of the prepared Piano" zurückgreifen wird.

Hauschka: Versions Of The Prepared Piano

Mr. Spoon (Eglantine Gouzy) Hauschka 2'58''
Im Schlaf (Barbara Morgenstern) Hauschka 3'02''
Assembler’s Mix (Nobukazu Takemura) Hauschka 6'41''
Es Waren Eimal (Wechsel Garland) Hauschka 2'08''
Kotoba Naku (Takeo Toyama) Hauschka 4'01''
Things (Tg Mauss) Hauschka 4'18''
Rocket Man (Vert) Hauschka 3'22''
Stumm (Frank Bretschneider) Hauschka 4'45''
Without Morning Mix (Mira Calix) Hauschka 3'27''
Para Bien (Chica And The Folder) Hauschka 3'30''
Flying Horses (Hauschka) Hauschka 3'43''
The Afterlife Of Things (Tarwater) Hauschka 2'50''
Various Artists Rough Imaginary Home Normal
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Guitar Sunkissed Morr Music
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Belarisk Moments in Shapeshifting Type Vinyl
LP: 11,99 € 15,99 €
incl. instant DL