It's A Musical

For Years And Years

Morr Music morr 110-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Limited White Vinyl Edition (500 copies only), that includes a free download of the album.
Question: What is it that all those “mixed duos” of recent musical history, acts like Eurythmics, Everything But The Girl, The White Stripes or The Dresden Dolls have in common? Answer: They all have clear roles within the band. In the case of Berlin-based duo It’s A Musical, things are a little different though: Ella Blixt aka Bobby Baby and Robert Kretzschmar don’t have these clear roles; instead they go for a decidedly more open and democratic approach. They write their songs together, they decide who plays which instrument for any given song (in concert, they repeatedly switch between various instruments), and when recording, they keep things DIY (Norman Nitzsche, who mixed the latest album by The Whitest Boy Alive, was the only additional person to help out with mixing in the studio). And then there is, of course, the band’s unique way to layer the vocals – two voices in unison, frequently singing together throughout both the verse and the chorus. However, the resulting new LP – and those familiar with It’s A Musical’s first album “The Music Makes Me Sick” know this –, does NOT sound like it follows a political concept. The title “For Years And Years” stands for a dozen gorgeous (indie) pop gems; tracks that, even though somewhat laconic, nevertheless manage to uplift the listener; songs so euphoric and stirring, in fact, that last time around, the choosey people at allmusic.com concluded that one “would have to look hard to find a better indie pop album than ‘The Music Makes Me Sick’ in 2008.”
Apart from the euphoric choruses, a hidden sense of humor remains another trademark of this band – and this sense of humor is in large part owed to sharing the microphone. Here’s an example: When Robert and Ella deal with the complexities an endlessly extended adolescence entails, especially when it comes to sexual desires and such, the simultaneous delivery of the female and male perspective allows them to circumnavigate even the slightest sense of self-pity or cheap emotionalism. This is one of many things to love about It’s A Musical: After all, the most whining and complaining in pop music comes from those who set out to present “authentic feelings” – and It’s A Musical manage to present this kind of “realness” without any of that wailing. Even the only cover song, Eleventh Hour’s “The Team That Never Wins” (originally from 1997) is presented with a humorous twist, thanks to the mood and vibe It’s A Musical chose for the cover: A vibe reminiscent of “Bowie in Berlin”, as in: We can’t be heroes.
Throughout the album, “For Years And Years” picks up the pace and gains more and more momentum: “Cleverness” is built from vibraphone sounds, organs and drum rolls (just like in that “Fish Song”), and “One Million People” is a catchy piano pop gem that owes as much to Carole King as it does to Ben Folds Five. And of course all these tracks have that certain DIY feel to them, a vibe that makes the listener forget that both Ella and Robert are actually trained multi-instrumentalists, and busy with lots of other projects: Robert also plays drums for Masha Qrella, and Ella, who recently worked with Peaches, is involved with popkollo.se and rubytuesdaymusic.de. Furthermore, both members of It’s A Musical help organize special rock camps for young teenage girls. Mind you, these activities have nothing in common with Disney Musical Films or the Jonas Brothers: instead, these camps are about keeping the original Riot-Grrrl vibe alive. Which means we’re back to politics. A topic rarely treated and presented so smartly as in this case.

It's A Musical: For Years And Years

For Years And Years It's A Musical 3'38''
As Soon As I It's A Musical 4'09''
The Nap It's A Musical 3'06''
Point Back It's A Musical 3'30''
Peace And Trees It's A Musical 3'34''
The Team That Never Wins It's A Musical 2'52''
Fish Song It's A Musical 3'12''
Ljubljana It's A Musical 3'35''
Pictures It's A Musical 3'58''
One Million People It's A Musical 2'46''
The Dream It's A Musical 3'51''
Bring It On It's A Musical 3'36''
B. Fleischmann The Humbucking Coil Morr Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Motor Metal Machine Shitkatapult
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Feels Feels Castle Face
LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
PTTRNS Love Quest II Altin Village & Mine
12”: 2,25 € 8,99 €
incl. instant DL

It's A Musical

For Years And Years

Morr Music morr 110-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
CD im schicken Digipak. Weiße limitierte Vinyl-Auflage (500 Stück). Freier Download des Albums inklusive!
Was haben „gemischte Pop-Duos“ wie „The Eurythmics“, „Everything But The Girl“, „The White Stripes“ oder „The Dresden Dolls“ gemeinsam? Antwort: Klare Rollenverteilungen. Beim in Berlin ansässigen Duo „It’s A Musical“ ist das etwas anders: Ella Blixt (aka Bobby Baby) und Robert Kretzschmar verfolgen ein dezidiert demokratisches Prinzip: Gemeinsames Songwriting gehört ebenso dazu wie eine variierende Verteilung der Instrumente (live bedienen sie abwechselnd die Orgeln und das Schlagzeug) und ein ausgeprägter DIY-Approach bei den Aufnahmen (hier half lediglich Norman Nitzsche, der jüngst u.a. „The Whitest Boy Alive“ mischte). Und dann ist da natürlich der gemeinsame Gesang: gerne sogar Unisono in Strophe und Refrain. Das Ergebnis klingt jedoch – Kenner des Debuts „The Music Makes Me Sick“ wird das nur schwerlich überraschen – an keiner Stelle nach politischem Konzept. „For Years And Years“: das sind schlicht und einfach zwölf hinreißende (Indie-)Pop-Stücke, die trotz des Hangs zum lakonischen Vortrag hochgradig euphorisierende Wirkung hervorrufen können: Das gilt selbst für die anspruchsvollen Rezensenten von allmusic.com, die 2008 feststellten, dass man sich schon sehr gründlich umschauen müsse, um innerhalb des Jahrgangs ein dem „It’s A Musical“-Debut ebenbürtiges Indiepop-Album zu finden.
Trademark der Band bleibt neben ihren überschwenglichen Refrains ein hintersinniger Humor. Und auch der speist sich zu großen Teilen aus dem paritätischen Gesang. Wenn Robert und Ella von den Verwicklungen singen, die eine auf dem Bereich der leiblichen Gelüste nicht so recht enden wollenden Adoleszenz nach sich zieht, dann unterläuft die Gleichzeitigkeit von weiblicher und männlicher Perspektive jeden Anflug von Selbstmitleid oder Pathos. Das ist einer der großen Kunstgriffe von „It’s A Musical“: Es wird ja nirgends so exhibitionistisch herumgejammert wie in jenen Teilen der Popmusik, die sich vornehmen, mit authentischem Gestus von Gefühlsdingen zu berichten: Bei „It’s A Musical“ geht solch Realness auch ohne großes Jammern. Selbst die einzige Coverversion “The Team That Never Wins“ (von „Eleventh Hour“, einem einmaligen Projekt Seth Cohens aus dem Jahr 1997) bekommt einen humoristischen Dreh, weil „It’s A Musical“ den Song in einem Modus vortragen, den man am ehesten vielleicht den Bowie-in-Berlin-Modus nennen könnte: We can’t be Heroes.
Mit zunehmender Spieldauer nimmt „For Years and Years“ immer mehr an Fahrt auf. Wir hören aus Vibraphonen, Orgeln und Trommelwirbeln arrangierte Cleverness (etwa im "Fish Song") oder den gleichermaßen lässigen wie catchy Piano-Pop von "One Million People", das Carole King eben so viel verdankt wie Ben Folds Five. All das ist immer mit dem charmantesten DIY-Charme ausgestattet, der vergessen macht, dass mit Ella und Robert geschulte Multiinstrumentalisten am Werk sind. Was sich auch in anderen Projekten niederschlägt: Während Robert für Masha Qrella trommelt, ist Ella, die zuletzt mit Peaches gearbeitet hat, Teil der Organisationen popkollo.se und rubytuesdaymuisc.de. Beide wenden sich mit eigens veranstalteten „Rock Camps“ an junge Teenagerinnen. Und man denke jetzt bitte nicht an Disney-Musical Filme oder gar die „Jonas Brothers“: Hier weht der Geist der Riot-Grrrls. Da wäre man nun wieder bei der Politik. Selten ist die so smart verpackt worden wie auf „For Years and Years.“

It's A Musical: For Years And Years

For Years And Years It's A Musical 3'38''
As Soon As I It's A Musical 4'09''
The Nap It's A Musical 3'06''
Point Back It's A Musical 3'30''
Peace And Trees It's A Musical 3'34''
The Team That Never Wins It's A Musical 2'52''
Fish Song It's A Musical 3'12''
Ljubljana It's A Musical 3'35''
Pictures It's A Musical 3'58''
One Million People It's A Musical 2'46''
The Dream It's A Musical 3'51''
Bring It On It's A Musical 3'36''