John Moods

The Essential John Moods

Mansions and Millions MAMI15MC
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Alone in the world, we find ourselves. Inside ourselves, we find something to share with the world.

The Essential John Moods, a solo album in all senses of the word, is what Jonathan Jarzyna of Fenster found in himself during a summer spent hiking along the Iberian coast, and he now wants to share it with you. A mini-guitar on his back and a copy of GarageBand on his phone allowed Jarzyna to record songs each evening as he arrived in a new town after a long day traveling by foot. (He did, admittedly, add live drum tracks and some additional instrumentation back in Berlin.) The album preserves this peripatetic feeling, each song relating to the next as one city or village relates to its neighbor, its unique situation contrasting with the shared architectural vernacular. Blipping instrumental interludes (“Trainride,” “Pontevedra,” “Coastal Way”) even capture the disordered, delirious feeling of transit hubs and the sleep-bleared mystery of waking on an unfamiliar road.

“I just came alive completely” are the first words Jarzyna murmurs on “New Spring,” invoking the spirit of the album. He speaks not of the liveliness of manic activity, but the heightened, tender sensitivity of presence. It’s a fullness of living captured by the transition from the lush, jangling groove of “The Weight” to the spacious contemplation of “Pawns.” The dreamy echo of the 60s’ and 70s’ soft rock and folk troubadours suffuses the album, and the organ-soaked “Where In The World” even has a psychedelic tinge. But the overall effect is quite contemporary, from the back-of-the-nightbus lounge funk of “Take It Home” (featuring an amazing turn from arch-crooner Sean Nicholas Savage) to the mournful cupboard jazz of “Almost Gone.” “Dark Wall” sounds like a honkytonk ramble alongside a robot tentatively learning to play lap steel. “Leap of Love,” an early album highlight, passes over the listener in shimmering waves, a love song which remains a mystery even to its creator.

In the meditation tape coda “Relax Your Foot,” Jarzyna selects the perfect sample to encapsulate The Essential John Moods’ hopeful receptivity: the late Professor Carl Sagan reminding us that “despite our limitations and fallibilities, we humans are capable of greatness.”

John Moods: The Essential John Moods

Dance With The Night John Moods 2'45''
Leap Of Love John Moods 3'48''
New Spring John Moods 3'30''
The Weight John Moods 3'12''
Take It Home (feat. Sean Nicholas Savage) John Moods 3'09''
Where In The World John Moods 4'37''
Train Ride John Moods 2'25''
Dark Wall John Moods 2'31''
Pawns John Moods 2'47''
Almost Gone John Moods 3'55''
Coastal Way John Moods 3'13''
Take Care John Moods 1'44''
Relax Your Foot John Moods 2'52''

Nice as well:

John Moods

The Essential John Moods

Mansions and Millions MAMI15MC
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Alone in the world, we find ourselves. Inside ourselves, we find something to share with the world.

The Essential John Moods, ein Soloalbum im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, ist was Jonathan Jarzyna (Mitglied der Berliner Band Fenster) in sich entdeckte, als er im Sommer 2017 alleine entlang der spanischen Küste wanderte. Seine Entdeckung will er nun mit der Welt teilen.

Eine Minigitarre im Rucksack und GarageBand auf dem Handy ermöglichten es ihm jeden Abend, nach langer Wanderung in einer neuen Stadt angekommen, Lieder aufzunehmen (zugegebenermaßen wurden den Songs später noch Live-Schlagzeug und ein paar weitere Instrumente hinzugefügt). Das Album schafft es, das Gefühl des Wanderns, des Umherstreifens beizubehalten – jeder Song bezieht sich auf den folgenden, wie eine Stadt oder ein Dorf sich auf ihre Umgebung beziehen, die eigene Einzigartigkeit als Kontrast zur geteilten, traditionellen Architektur. Piepende Instrumentalinterludes (Trainride, Pontevedra, Coastal Way) erfassen das Gefühl von Desorientierung und Delirium an Verkehrsknotenpunkten und die Verwirrung, wenn man in einer neuen unbekannten Umgebung aufwacht.

“I just came alive completely” sind die ersten von Jarzyna gemurmelten Worte auf New Spring, mit ihnen beschwört er den Geist des Albums herauf. Nicht das Zucken manischen Aktivismus’ sind damit gemeint, sondern die zarten Sensibilitäten im Hier und Jetzt. Den ganzen Reichtum des Lebens umfassend, reicht die Bandbreite vom klirrend-leichten Groove auf The Weight bis hin zu den ausufernden Meditationen in Pawns. Ein träumerisches Echo von 60er und 70er Softrock und Folk durchfluten das Album, das Orgel-durchtränkte Where In The World hat gar einen psychodelischen Unterton. Dennoch, der Sound von The Essential John Moods ist erstaunlich zeitgemäß, wie etwa der Lounge-Funk von Take It Home (inklusive eines atemberaubenden Einstiegs von Chef-Crooner Sean Nicholas Savage) oder der traurige Jazz von Almost Gone. Dark Wall erinnert an eine Country-Polonaise neben einem Roboter, der vorsichtig lernt, Hawaiigitarre zu spielen. Leap of Love, ein frühes Highlight des Albums, erfasst den Hörer in schimmernden Wellen – ein Liebeslied, das selbst seinem Erschaffer ein Rätsel bleibt.

In der meditativen Coda von Relax Your Foot hat Jarzyna genau die richtigen Samples rausgesucht um The Essential John Moods’ hoffnungsvolle Botschaft einzurahmen: Der legendäre Carl Sagan erinnert uns daran, dass “trotz unserer Beschränkungen und Fehlerhaftigkeit wir Menschen zu Großem fähig sind.”

John Moods: The Essential John Moods

Dance With The Night John Moods 2'45''
Leap Of Love John Moods 3'48''
New Spring John Moods 3'30''
The Weight John Moods 3'12''
Take It Home (feat. Sean Nicholas Savage) John Moods 3'09''
Where In The World John Moods 4'37''
Train Ride John Moods 2'25''
Dark Wall John Moods 2'31''
Pawns John Moods 2'47''
Almost Gone John Moods 3'55''
Coastal Way John Moods 3'13''
Take Care John Moods 1'44''
Relax Your Foot John Moods 2'52''

Auch schön: