Khan of Finland

Nicht Nur Sex

Shitkatapult strike_162 cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
"NICHT-NUR-SEX" is a user profile on a literally gay forum named Gayromeo that's serving the purpose of organizing its users needs for fleshly pleasures. The transvestite's user name is programmatic, has an explicit meaning: it's more than sex! That breakthrough in superficiality appearing also proclaims Khan of Finland aka Can Oral – artist- and real name go hand in hand. Of course it's about sex. There's more than that, though. The title previews an album that forces bystanders to take a deeper look but it also clearly states: here a few points can be found sex isn't satisfying without. Khan's musical aesthetics are glamourous, dub-like pop packed with samples and alienated voices – a musical tradition leading back to Grace Jones and Marianne Faithfull in their Island Records era of '80/81. We're able to hear moaned phrases, phrased moaning, artificial ejaculation.

"NICHT-NUR-SEX" creates a melange of an intense life-style, here the untamed before-and-after finds a musical counterpart as well as the in-between finds a starting point. Even the album cover is held in a similar fashion: The archive of Khan's snapshots mirrors our voyeurism so we finally recognize we're most intrigued by picky details found in the hidden. Between fragments and snapshots secrets unveil, obsessions materialize. And desires dance. To prove this view is of political nature the song "H&M Freedom" depicts various forms, shapes and conditions of dependency in today's world of consumerism.

Khan's a page that's got to be written on from both sides regarding it's fidgety character in music and pictures: the Berlin based artist produces, sings every so often, remixes, releases his own records under his finish moniker or as a member of a band named Wild Style Lion, has recently formed a bridge between electronic- and guitar-music with the aid of J. Mascis and Kim Gordon, has been a club owner in NYC, organized events at the infamous Berghain, plays theater, travels with Goethe – or speaking metaphorically: melodizes live!

In associative cut-ups which intersect organically Khan has invited a legion of guest artists: Joe Volume, swinging between Tom Waits and Michael Gira, preforming the cinematic character of the album with his narrating voice, mexican rapper Alemán, focussing his fiery solar beam onto Khan's album, Julia Kent, cello player of Anthony & the Johnsons, creating deepness with her instrument and finally the very present Icelandic musician Urður, known from GusGus featured on three tracks. Through Khan's arrangement a diverse interdependency of emotions is created compiling the ten tracks into a listening-album where a soundtrack can be found. A soundtrack for our sexuality – and basically everything in between!

Hendrik Otremba

Khan of Finland: Nicht Nur Sex

LP
CD
Alley Cat Said (feat. Joe Volume) Khan of Finland 3'32''
Khant Buy Me Love Khan of Finland 4'40''
To The Limit Khan of Finland 5'02''
Funky Dollar Bill (feat. Urður & Alemán) Khan of Finland 4'48''
Should I Give You Up? (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'57''
H&M Freedom Khan of Finland 5'08''
Hold Me Tender (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'28''
Voodoo Me Khan of Finland 4'30''
Hundred Miles Khan of Finland 3'27''
Alley Cat Said (feat. Joe Volume) Khan of Finland 3'32''
Khant Buy Me Love Khan of Finland 4'40''
To The Limit Khan of Finland 5'02''
Funky Dollar Bill (feat. Urður & Alemán) Khan of Finland 4'48''
Should I Give You Up? (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'57''
H&M Freedom Khan of Finland 5'08''
Hold Me Tender (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'28''
Nada Khan of Finland 4'38''
Voodoo Me Khan of Finland 4'30''
Hundred Miles Khan of Finland 3'27''

Nice as well:

Khan of Finland

Nicht Nur Sex

Shitkatapult strike_162 cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
"NICHT-NUR-SEX" ist ein Userprofil auf der fröhlichen Internetplattform Gayromeo, die dafür bekannt ist, nicht zuletzt der Organisation des fleischlichen Austauschs interessierter User zu dienen. Der Profilname des Transvestiten ist dabei programmatisch, formuliert eine klare Ansage: es geht um mehr als Sex! Das Durchbrechen der Oberflächlichkeit, das so entsteht, proklamiert auch Khan of Finnland alias Can Oral – Künstler- und bürgerlicher Name stehen im Schulterschluss. Natürlich geht es um Sex. Aber eben auch um mehr. Der Titel eröffnet ein Album, das so zunächst magnetisch die Schaulust anzieht, gleichzeitig jedoch klar macht: hier warten ein paar Ebenen, ohne die der Sex kaum Genuss sein könnte. Khans Soundoutfit ist ein glamouröser, dubbiger Pop, voller Samples und verfremdeter Stimmen, diese Musik steht in der Tradition von Grace Jones und Marianne Faithfull in ihrer Island Records-Ära um 1980/’81. Wir hören gestöhnte Artikulation, artikuliertes Gestöhne, artifizielle Ejakulation.

"NICHT-NUR-SEX" vermengt dabei die verschiedensten Bereiche eines intensiven Lebens, hier findet genau so das ungezügelte Davor und Danach zu Musik, wie das Mittendrin den Anstoß liefert. Auch das Cover spricht diese Sprache: Im Bilderarchiv der khanschen Snapshots spiegelt sich unser Voyeurismus, in dem wir erkennen, dass er sich für die picky Details interessiert, die im Verborgenen brachliegen. Zwischen Fragmenten und Schnappschüssen wird so das Heimliche sichtbar, finden Obsessionen Gestalt. Und es tanzt das Begehren. Dass dieser Blick politisch ist, zeigt nicht zuletzt "H&M Freedom", ein Stück, in dem Khan verschiedene Facetten und Bedingungen der Abhängigkeit in der heutigen Konsumwelt durchspielt.

Khan ist, das zeigt die Rastlosigkeit von Musik und Bild, ein so vielbeschriebenes Blatt, dass schon die Rückseite herhalten muss, um ihn zu greifen: Der Berliner produziert, singt hier und da (mit), remixt, veröffentlicht seine eigenen Platten unter finnischem Pseudonym oder in Bandformation als Wild Style Lion, hat zuletzt mit J Mascis und Kim Gordon eine Brücke zwischen elektronischer- und Gitarrenmusik gebaut, war Clubbetreiber in New York, Veranstalter im Berghain, spielt Theater, reist mit Goethe, oder abstrakt gesprochen: vertont das Leben! So wird auch "NICHT-NUR-SEX" mit einiger Exzentrik die Bühne erobern, plant Khan doch, die Stücke mit Gast-Sängerinnen als szenisches Konzert im Sinne einer transmedialen Freakshow aufzuführen.

In assoziativen Cut Ups, deren Schnittstellen in flüssigem Aggregatszustand verfahren, hat Khan sich eine Horde Gäste eingeladen: Joe Volume, der zwischen Tom Waits und Michael Gira pendelt, das Filmische des Albums mit seiner Erzählerstimme vorformuliert, dann den mexikanischen Rapper Alemán, der eine gefährlich brennende Sonnenstrahlung auf das Album richtet, Julia Kent, Cellistin von Anthony & the Johnsons, die mit ihrem Cello für einigen Tiefgang sorgt, und schließlich die häufig präsente Isländerin Urður, die man von GusGus kennt. In Khans Arrangement entsteht in ihrem Zusammenspiel eine facettenreiche Stimmungsmelange, die die zehn Stücke zu einem Listening-Album kompiliert, in dem wir einen Soundtrack finden! Für unsere Sexualität – und so ziemlich alles dazwischen!

Hendrik Otremba

Khan of Finland: Nicht Nur Sex

LP
CD
Alley Cat Said (feat. Joe Volume) Khan of Finland 3'32''
Khant Buy Me Love Khan of Finland 4'40''
To The Limit Khan of Finland 5'02''
Funky Dollar Bill (feat. Urður & Alemán) Khan of Finland 4'48''
Should I Give You Up? (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'57''
H&M Freedom Khan of Finland 5'08''
Hold Me Tender (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'28''
Voodoo Me Khan of Finland 4'30''
Hundred Miles Khan of Finland 3'27''
Alley Cat Said (feat. Joe Volume) Khan of Finland 3'32''
Khant Buy Me Love Khan of Finland 4'40''
To The Limit Khan of Finland 5'02''
Funky Dollar Bill (feat. Urður & Alemán) Khan of Finland 4'48''
Should I Give You Up? (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'57''
H&M Freedom Khan of Finland 5'08''
Hold Me Tender (feat. Urður) Khan of Finland 3'28''
Nada Khan of Finland 4'38''
Voodoo Me Khan of Finland 4'30''
Hundred Miles Khan of Finland 3'27''

Auch schön: