Le Rok

Approx Twelve

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-39
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Three years ago Karaoke Kalk released the debut by Le Rok, fittingly named Hausarbeiten, indoor works - a choice collection of home recorded tracks which may have been produced in the course of six long years but put together resulted in an album with varied themes but a close stylistic connection between tracks. Le Rok and his songs need and take their time. Now, three years later, enough new tracks have coalesced to come to life as Approx Twelve.
Every single track on the new album has an individual history starting out with the idea for a song in the classical sense of the word. Going on from this solid foundation Le Rok rather casually collects than produces the elements from which the tracks are put together like mosaics. This results in a specifically relaxed setting - which not necessarily means slow or quiet - while lots of little things cling themselves tightly around the spine that is the basic song. This method only works when the necessary time is taken for those small pieces to grow together into a whole. In the end everything is one unit comprising all the elements from the initial song to the final beat.
Although the tracks take shape as a construction of digital bits and cuts, the songs never lose themselves inside the technical devices from which they derive. Inbetween all the tight textures remains a slight sense of melancholy which is not hiding itself but needs to be found. All the while the beats may stay up front but they are not consuming what is definitely there to be listened to.
Le Rok is the project of Christoph Döhne from Hanover in northern Germany. And maybe this not exactly urban setting is the reason for a specially relaxed way of looking upon things and time and thus keeping a specific sense of otherness.

Le Rok: Approx Twelve

Bonsoir 80n Le Rok 5'40''
Cold End Le Rok 4'27''
Choped Ride Le Rok 5'25''
Weak Textarea Le Rok 5'21''
Dropdown Le Rok 4'46''
Frameset Le Rok 5'56''
Happy Apple Le Rok 4'47''
Cheeseball Le Rok 5'01''
Altarboys Le Rok 4'43''
Feierabend Le Rok 3'04''
Twentythrees Bolivia Karaoke Kalk
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Saroos See Me Not Alien Transistor
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Slowblow Slowblow Mobilé
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Golden Solitude Karaoke Kalk
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €

Le Rok

Approx Twelve

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-39
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Ein seltener Gast ist meist gern gesehen. Und Le Rok nimmt sich Zeit - vor drei Jahren erschien das treffend betitelte Debüt Hausarbeiten, versammelte ebensolche aus sechs Jahren und ging trotzdem als geschlossene Einheit durch. Drei Jahre haben seine neuen Stücke gebraucht um sich als Album zusammenzufinden und jetzt Approx Twelve zu sein.
Jedes dieser Stücke hat eine eigene Geschichte die als Lied im klassischen Sinn beginnt. Und so wie Le Rok diese Lieder eher wie zufällig sammelt als forciert entstehen läßt, so bedächtig werden auch die Elemente gesammelt aus denen sie bestehen. So erklärt sich vielleicht die Leichtigkeit die alles umgibt, wenn die Tracks sich aufbauen und sich alles um den Song herum verdichtet. Dieses Prinzip funktioniert nur mit der Zeit die vergeht, wenn Dinge zusammenwachsen. Details aus allen Ecken und Enden wollen an die richtige Stelle bis sich alles vereint mit dem Lied und dem Beat. Die ganz eigene Identität dieser Musik entsteht nicht aus Art und Richtung ihrer Einzelteile sondern aus dem Raum der zwischen ihnen bestehen bleibt.
Obwohl sie als weitgehend digitale Gebilde Gestalt annehmen, verlieren sich diese Lieder nicht in der Technik. Zwischen allen Zeilen schwingt leichte Melancholie mit, die sich nicht verstecken und trotzdem erst gefunden werden will. Der Beat bleibt immer vorn und drängt sich trotzdem nicht auf - hier kann auch immer nur zugehört werden.
Le Rok heißt Christoph Döhne und kommt noch immer aus Hannover. Von dort kann man sich gut einen Blick von außen auf seine Eigenheit bewahren und sich ganz unaufgeregt eben dieser Zeit widmen die Approx Twelve wollte.

Le Rok: Approx Twelve

Bonsoir 80n Le Rok 5'40''
Cold End Le Rok 4'27''
Choped Ride Le Rok 5'25''
Weak Textarea Le Rok 5'21''
Dropdown Le Rok 4'46''
Frameset Le Rok 5'56''
Happy Apple Le Rok 4'47''
Cheeseball Le Rok 5'01''
Altarboys Le Rok 4'43''
Feierabend Le Rok 3'04''
Ezra Furman Day Of The Dog Bar None
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Les Sins Michael Company Records
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Pascal Schäfer Dawn Karaoke Kalk
LP: 7,00 € 13,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
Marcus Fjellström Schattenspieler Miasmah Recordings
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL