Morr Music morr 025 cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
20. A healthy age to topple old icons and leave prejudice behind.
Not only have Limp, four youngsters from Odense/Denmark and (besides Lali Puna) second band project on Morr Music, been making music together for 10 years but their current release `orion´ manages to stake out delicate tranquillity while leaving ample space for electronic influences. With a twist.
When Limp, inspired by intelligent electronica and Chicago rock, are also self-confessed admirers and recyclers of `rock and pop elements from the 80s and 90s´ - a universal red flag for any conscious human being - and innocently cite stadium largesse and touching pop moments of mainstream-compatible alternative phenomena such as The Cure, Depeche Mode or even U2, this is done in such a way as to quell any critical protest in its infancy.
Irreverently objective when it comes to the dubious reference works of an elder sibling generation (for whom these are still inextricably tied to maudlin red wine beach dramas, traumatic teenage passion, first gig disasters or flagrant fashion faux pas) and without a second glance at source or zeitgeist coolness `orion´ displays the fresh and differentiated influence of four musicians with their own electronica projects (Manual, Aerosol, Syntaks) in this perfectly balanced interplay of classical instruments and digital aids.
Ostensibly relaxed and dreamy, simultaneously as epic and stratified as Mogwai or selected snippets from Slowdive to Boards of Canada, `orion´ is not afraid to exploit incredible melodies for minutes on end. Contrasts blend and forget about their origin to lend the six tracks a continual narrative structure that sneakily conjures up vivid images.
Deceptively laid back and playful Limp betray a meticulous dedication to honed perfection behind their youthful punk rock spirit, no matter if in basement practice, their own radio show or as tour support for Sea and Cake, Trans Am and Do Make Say Think, amongst others.

Limp: Orion

Towards Limp 4'46''
City Speaks Tonight Limp 6'05''
Interstellar Limp 4'26''
Orion Limp 6'26''
Night Clouds Limp 6'15''
Betelgeuze Limp 2'33''
Seabear We Built A Fire Morr Music
2CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Letherette Refresh Ninja Tune
12”: 7,49 € 9,99 €
Birds of Prey Birds of Prey Kathexis
LP: 13,49 € 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
Yeasayer Amen & Goodbye Mute Records
LP (Ltd. Edition): 20,99 € 27,99 €
Populous Queue For Love Morr Music
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL

Limp

Orion

Morr Music morr 025 cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
20. Ein gesundes Alter, um alten Ikonen subtil in den Arsch zu treten. Limp, vier blutjunge Recken aus Odense/Dänemark und nach Lali Puna zweites Bandprojekt auf Morr Music, machen seit 10 Jahren gemeinsam Musik haben auf „orion“ nicht nur virtuose Ruhe für sich erobert sondern auch der Elektronik ein signifikantes Plätzchen eingeräumt.
Wenn Limp, wertfrei inspiriert von intelligenter Elektronik und Chicago-Rock, dabei laut eigener Aussage auch „Rock- und Popelemente der 80er und 90er" - die einschlägig roten Tücher eines jeden mitteljungen Menschen – aufsaugen und verbraten, ungeniert die stadionkompatible Größe und ergreifenden Popmomente mainstreamkompatibler Alternativphänomene wie The Cure, Depeche Mode oder gar U2 zitieren, so geschieht dies auf eine Art und Weise, die uns jeden kritischen Boden unter den Füßen wegwischt.
Im respektlos objektiven Umgang mit den zweifelhaften Referenzen einer älteren Geschwister-Generation (wo Standards nicht unweigerlich mit theatralischen Rotwein-Stranderlebnissen, traumatischen Teenieliebschaften, ersten Konzertbesuchen oder eklatanten Mode-Faux-Pax verkettet sind), ohne Blick auf Herkunft oder zeitverhaftete Coolness, zeigt sich hier frisch und differenziert der Einfluss vier eigenständiger Musiker mit eigenen Elektronikprojekten (Manual, Aerosol, Syntaks) im perfekt austarierten Zusammenspiel klassischer Instrumente und digitaler Helfer.
Vornehmlich entspannt und verträumt, dabei ähnlich episch und flächig geschichtet wie Mogwai oder pointierte Elemente von Slowdive bis Boards of Canada scheut „orion“ sich nicht, unglaubliche Melodien minutenlang auszureizen - Kontraste finden zueinander und vergessen ihre Herkunft, folgen im Laufe der sechs Tracks einer kontinuierlich erzählerischen Struktur, deren Geschichte sich bildhaft in den Kopf des Hörers schleicht.
Scheinbar locker aus dem Handgelenk gespielt verraten Limp sorgfältigsten Feinschliff hinter jugendlichem Punk Rock Spirit, ob im heimischen Kellerproberaum, der eigenen Radiosendung oder auch als Tourbegleitung für Sea and Cake, Trans Am und Do Make Say Think.

Limp: Orion

Towards Limp 4'46''
City Speaks Tonight Limp 6'05''
Interstellar Limp 4'26''
Orion Limp 6'26''
Night Clouds Limp 6'15''
Betelgeuze Limp 2'33''
Alex Chilton Electricity By Candlelight Bar None
LP: 7,00 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Ms. John Soda No P. Or D. Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Junction SM Junction SM Kalk Pets
12”: 3,75 € 7,49 €
Benny Boeldt 8 of Cups Carpark
LP: 8,00 € 15,99 €