• CD : Hard-Cover Bookstyle Packaging
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Faitiche presents the release of a new album by Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek (faitiche13). Since their debut (Bird, Lake, Objects, faitiche03, 2010) they have played improvised concerts around the world. Japanese vibraphonist Masayoshi Fujita prepares his instrument with various percussion elements as well as metal objects and toys, while Jan Jelinek layers loops made using small-scale electronic devices. Schaum (German for froth, foam) is the duo's second album.

"The river, forcing its way through veins between the outposts of the forest, was a great heart. Placidly as it flowed, gently as its descent beat against its vague banks, it brought and gathered sustenance for the busily mediating humus that swelled sunwards in the strangest cell configurations, trees, plants, animals. The silence all round was uncanny and stuck on the ear. Spasmodic squelches, a gurgling in the muddy hollows of the bank beneath overhanging shagginess, the slurping of ominous cavities, that shot out now and again between the long-spun threads of time, like something detonating, testified to the steady monotony of the process. From the forest itself came a crackling rhythm. There the mighty Pan could still be heard to rumble." - from the novel Tropics by Robert Müller (translated by N. Grindell)


Dear Masayoshi Fujita,
many thanks for the audio files. Your additional vibraphone recordings go wonderfully with the material we have already. Preparing the vibraphone with more percussion instruments was the right decision. Combined with my tightly woven synthesizer and sample loops, the result is a fragmented sense of space. I have taken the liberty of manipulating certain recordings. One might now say that our joint recordings are both a basis for further processing and new pieces in their own right.

While listening through our improvisations, I noticed a tendency towards atmospheric sounds. I am almost tempted to call them tropical. This has strengthened my resolve to work with dense background textures – among others, I'm using material produced in connection with my radio pieces Kennen Sie Otahiti? (Do you know Otahiti? SWR2, 2012) and Dialoge zur Anthropologie (Dialogs on Anthropology, SWR2, 2013): artificial field recordings, jungle and rain forest settings that do not hide their staged, fictional character. They are synthetic and speculative. As you know, I have long been obsessed with the tropics. This obsession involves a mental image of a specific quality of landscape: deliriously extravagant unstructuredness, hostile to life but also excessively productive. I am fascinated by the idea of installing clear minimalist forms amid such luxuriant tropical growth. Perhaps my image of the city of Brasilia is a good example: the utopia of elegant and ascetic modernism, surrounded by rampant vegetation.

Corresponding to this, I would like to expand our liner notes to include a quotation from Robert Müller's novel Tropics – an expressionist travelogue published in Germany in 1915. It goes without saying that this work cannot be wholeheartedly embraced: its imperialistic fantasies of omnipotence and its “master race” posturing, characteristic of that time and place, are, of course, intolerable. Please excuse my casually dismissing this, but it is not what I am interested in here. Tropics is fascinating as a nervous jungle phantasm that openly indulges in exoticism at the same time as deconstructing it. In this way, the main character's adventure becomes a journey into the subjective. It resembles a feverish inner delirium, exposing exoticism as a simulated, utopian perspective. What it boils down to is insubstantial, nothing but foam and froth.

With best regards,

Jan Jelinek, Berlin 2016

Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek: Schaum

Cin Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'33''
Helio Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'24''
Urub Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'27''
What You Should Know About Me Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 3'48''
Vague, Yet Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'14''
Botuto Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'13''
LesLang Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'23''
Parades Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 9'33''

Nice as well:

Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Faitiche präsentiert die Veröffentlichung des neuen Albums von Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek (faitiche13). Seit ihrer gemeinsamen Debütveröffentlichung (Bird, Lake, Objects, faitiche03, 2010) spielen sie als Duo weltweit improvisatorische Konzerte. Der japanische Vibraphonist Masayoshi Fujita präpariert sein Instrument mit diversen Percussion-Instrumenten, sowie Metall- und Spielzeugobjekten, während Jan Jelinek mit kleinteiligen elektronischen Geräten Loops übereinanderschichtet. Schaum ist das zweite Album des Duos.

"Der in Adern zwischen den Waldvorposten sich durchzwängende Strom stellte ein großes Herz dar. Stille wie er ging, leise wie seine Gefälle gegen die vagen Ufer pochte, brachte und sammelte er Nahrung für eifrig vermittelnden Humus, der sich in den seltsamsten Zellkonfigurationen, Bäumen, Gewächsen, Tieren zur Sonne emporblähte. Die Stille rings war unheimlich und klebte im Ohre. Ein schmatzender Zuck, ein Gurgeln unterm zotteligen Vorhang in den Lehmhöhlen des Ufers, das Schlürfen verdächtiger Löcher, das hin und wieder wie Detonationen zwischen die fadenlang gesponnene Zeit trat, zeugte von der steten Monotonie des Vorgangs. Aus dem Walde selbst kam ein knisternder Rhythmus. Dort rumorte noch der große Pan." - aus: Robert Müller, Tropen

*****

Lieber Masayoshi Fujita,
vielen Dank für Deine Audiofiles. Deine zusätzlichen Vibraphonaufnahmen ergänzen sich wunderbar mit dem bereits vorhandenen Material. Die Entscheidung, das Vibraphon verstärkt mit Percussion-Instrumenten zu präparieren, war richtig. In Verbindung mit meinen eng gewobenen Synthesizer- und Sampleloops ist so eine brüchige Räumlichkeit entstanden. Ich habe mir erlaubt, einige Aufnahmen zu manipulieren. Man könnte nun sagen, dass unsere gemeinsamen Aufnahmen sowohl Grundlage für weitere Bearbeitungen als auch neue Stücke sind.

Beim Durchhören unserer Improvisationen ist mir ein Hang zu atmosphärischen Geräuschen aufgefallen. Fast bin ich versucht, sie als tropisch zu bezeichnen. Das bestätigt mein Vorhaben, mit dichten Hintergrundtexturen zu arbeiten – unter anderem greife ich auf Material zurück, das zu meinen Radiostücken Kennen Sie Otahiti? (SWR2, 2012) und Dialoge zur Anthropologie (SWR2, 2013) entstanden ist: Artifizielle Fieldrecordings, Dschungel- und Regenwaldkulissen, die ihren inszeniert-fiktionalen Charakter nicht verbergen. Sie sind synthetisch und spekulativ. Wie Du weißt, treibt mich schon seit geraumer Zeit eine Tropenobsession. Damit ist die Vorstellung von einer landschaftlichen Beschaffenheit gemeint: Rauschhaft verschwenderische Unstrukturiertheit, lebensfeindlich und zugleich exzessiv produktiv. Mich fasziniert die Idee, im tropischen Dickicht klare minimalistische Formen errichten zu wollen. Vielleicht veranschaulicht es mein Bild der Stadt Brasilia: Die Utopie vom elegant-asketischen Modernismus, umringt von wuchernder Vegetation.

Dazu passend möchte ich unsere Linernotes mit einem Zitat aus Robert Müllers Tropen ergänzen – einem expressionistischen Reiseroman, der erstmalig 1915 erschienen ist. Selbstverständlich muss man zu diesem Werk auf Distanz gehen: imperiale Allmachtphantasien und die für die Zeit und Ort wohl übliche Herrenmenschhaltung sind unerträglich. Bitte verzeih mein leichtfertiges Abtun, aber es soll an dieser Stelle nicht thematisiert werden. Denn Tropen fasziniert als nervöses Dschungel-Phantasma, das sich offen zum Exotismus bekennt und ihn zugleich demontiert. So wird die Reise des Protagonisten zu einer Reise ins Subjektive. Sie gleicht einem fiebrigen inneren Rausch und entblößt den Exotismus als simulierte, utopische Perspektive. Was bleibt sind Schäume.

Mit besten Grüßen: Jan Jelinek, Berlin 2016

Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek: Schaum

Cin Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'33''
Helio Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'24''
Urub Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'27''
What You Should Know About Me Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 3'48''
Vague, Yet Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'14''
Botuto Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 5'13''
LesLang Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 4'23''
Parades Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek 9'33''

Auch schön:

Andrew Pekler Tristes Tropiques Faitiche
LP: 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ammer & Console Die Vögel - Nach Oskar Sala Code
CD+DVD: 4,00 € 15,99 €
incl. instant DL
Harmonious Thelonious Talking Italic
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL