• LP : Incl. printed Inner Sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Her new album "Keys" shows Berlin-based musician Masha Qrella elegantly fusing disco-pop and songwriting. Written and produced by Qrella in her studio within one year, the album’s eleven songs feature well-known elements of fragility, perfection and understatement, while walking a fine line between laconic coolness and passionate uptempo melancholia.

There is a new straightforwardness in how Qrella sings about break-ups, new beginnings, rescue pills and keys: "Please don’t give me your keys / cause I don’t wanna have to give them back again," goes the refrain of the title track, whose deliberately sparse instrumentation is unexpectedly interrupted by the noise of traffic and construction sites. It’s one of those little irritating and surprising twists that have always been crucial to Qrella's music.

While her earlier solo records relied on more electronic elements, stumbling beats and sonic textures, Masha Qrella now puts emphasis on her voice and songwriting. Finally, every sort of shyness seems to have vanished.

"Every night another day, every day another night, every street leads to a new place than the one I used to find." This is the opening line of the album, and you get the feeling that Masha Qrella is breaking new personal ground on this record, which marks her fourth full length for Morr Music. Every single song on "Keys" shows an immediate and open-hearted quality that Qrella did not quite reveal before.

With this record, Masha Qrella creates a very distinct version of pop music, subtly reminding you of her love for Elliott Smith, Neil Young, Air or Metronomy, but always staying true to herself. Join her on this emotional dance floor.

Masha Qrella: Keys

Ticket To My Heart Masha Qrella 4'30''
Pale Days Masha Qrella 4'51''
Keys Masha Qrella 3'57''
Simple Song Masha Qrella 4'09''
Girl Masha Qrella 5'20''
Rescue Pills Masha Qrella 2'36''
White Horses Masha Qrella 3'11''
Bogota Masha Qrella 3'28''
DJ Masha Qrella 5'02''
Sicily Masha Qrella 3'03''
Why Masha Qrella 3'08''

Nice as well:

Slow Steve Adventures Morr Music
LP: 15,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Aloa Input Anysome Morr Music
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Mogwai Atomic Rock Action Records
2LP: 27,99 €
CD: 14,99 €

• LP : Incl. printed Inner Sleeve
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Das neue Album der Berlinerin Masha Qrella ist eine elegante Mischung aus Disco-Pop und Songwriting. Innerhalb eines Jahres hat Masha Qrella die elf Songs des Albums in ihrem Studio geschrieben und im Alleingang produziert. In ihrem bewährten Stil zwischen Fragilität, Perfektion und Understatement gelingt ihr ein mitreißender Balanceakt zwischen lakonischer Nüchternheit und leidenschaftlicher Up-Tempo-Melancholie. 

Neu ist die Direktheit, mit der Qrella über Abschiede, Neuanfänge, trübe Tage, Rescue Tropfen und Schlüssel singt: "Please don't give me your keys / cause I don’t wanna have to give them back again" heißt es im Refrain des Titelsongs, dessen spärliche Instrumentierung plötzlich von Baustellen- und Straßenlärm kontrastiert wird - eine der kleinen Irritationen, die der sanften Atmosphäre des Albums hier und da beigemischt werden.

Hatte Masha Qrella bei ihren ersten Soloalben (zuvor spielte sie bei den Instrumentalbands Mina und Contriva) noch mehr auf elektronische Sounds, humpelnde Beats und Geräuschtexturen gesetzt, stehen jetzt vor allem ihre Stimme und das Songwriting im Vordergrund: Qrellas Schüchternheit scheint endgültig verschwunden. 

"Every night another day, every day another night, every street leads to a new place than the one I used to find." So beginnt das Album. Und tatsächlich hat man das Gefühl, dass sich Masha Qrella mit diesem Album – ihrem vierten für Morr Music – neu aufstellt. Die Songs auf Keys sind direkter, offenherziger und auf den Punkt.

Masha Qrella formuliert hier ein Popverständnis, das leise an ihre musikalischen Vorlieben für Elliott Smith, Neil Young, Air oder Metronomy erinnert und gleichzeitig unverwechselbar mit jedem Ton bei sich bleibt. Willkommen in der Disko der Innerlichkeit..

Masha Qrella: Keys

Ticket To My Heart Masha Qrella 4'30''
Pale Days Masha Qrella 4'51''
Keys Masha Qrella 3'57''
Simple Song Masha Qrella 4'09''
Girl Masha Qrella 5'20''
Rescue Pills Masha Qrella 2'36''
White Horses Masha Qrella 3'11''
Bogota Masha Qrella 3'28''
DJ Masha Qrella 5'02''
Sicily Masha Qrella 3'03''
Why Masha Qrella 3'08''

Auch schön:

Slow Steve Adventures Morr Music
LP: 11,99 € 15,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Aloa Input Anysome Morr Music
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Mogwai Atomic Rock Action Records
2LP: 20,99 € 27,99 €
CD: 11,24 € 14,99 €
Jan St. Werner Felder Thrill Jockey
LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 8,50 € 16,99 €