Ms. John Soda


Morr Music morr 029-mcd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
On their album “no p. or d.”, released on Morr Music in October, Ms. John Soda have taken unusual steps towards a new pop direction, where the melody, clarity, emotional directness and timelessness of song structures supersedes the importance of aural experimentation. At the same time they wanted to employ classical instruments such as bass, guitar, drums and keyboards and they wanted to rock –with a constant glance at the careful balance between instruments and electronics.
Now the E.P. “Drop Scene” is a straight continuation of this idea, and like no other track the heated „Go Check“ distils the basic gist of this album.
“Done Twice”, on the other hand, explores the other end of this band’s eclectic spectrum as it is possibly the one track most committed to the exploration of electronica, a unique static miniature while still a song.
“Solid Ground” and “Elusive”, on the other hand, were reworked by other artists. Roberto di Gioia is a jazz pianist who pursues electronic projects (both his own Mars Mobil and together with e.g. Martin “Console” Gretschmann) - his “Solid Ground” piano version is closer in spirit to a classic cover version than a remix, a tightrope walk between reduction and kitsch, overexposing the track’s melancholy while steering the accentuation of the melodic essence into a poppy direction.
The “Elusive” rmx was done by Max Punktezahl (Contriva) and Florian Zimmer (Iso 68), or rather their joint project Jersey. A small epic, almost twice as long as the original, defined by the inimitably fragile sound of Punktezahl’s guitar and loop-based, lavish electronica.

Ms. John Soda: Drop=scene

Go Check Ms. John Soda 4'14''
Done Twice Ms. John Soda 3'43''
Solid Ground (Piano Version) Ms. John Soda 3'14''
Elusive (Rmx) Ms. John Soda 8'49''

Nice as well:

Populous Queue For Love Morr Music
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
B. Fleischmann Frisky He Said A Number Of Small Things
7”: 3,74 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL
The Go Find Over The Edge Vs. What I Want Morr Music
MCD: 3,74 € 4,99 €
12”: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Teamforest Home A Number Of Small Things
7”: 4,99 €
incl. instant DL

Ms. John Soda

Drop=scene

Morr Music morr 029-mcd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Ms. John Soda gehen auf ihren im Oktober auf Morr Music erscheinenden Album „no p. or d.“ ungewöhnliche Schritte in Richtung „Pop Projekt“. Die Melodie, die Klarheit, die emotionale Direktheit und Zeitlosigkeit der Songstruktur war dabei wichtiger als alles klangausloterische Experiment. Außerdem wollte man klassische Instrumente wie Bass, Gitarre, Schlagzeug und Keyboards, man wollte es rockig, aber mit dem vollen Wissen um das jedes Mal neu auszutarierende Verhältnis von Instrumenten und Elektronik. Die Maxi „drop scene“; denkt diese Idee konsequent fort, das furiose "go check" verdeutlicht, wie kein zweiter Track die Grundideen des Albums.
"Done twice" steht eher am anderen Ende des Spektrums von Ms. John Soda, denn es ist vielleicht das Stück, das am konsequentesten in Richtung Elektronika gedacht ist. Eine Miniatur von eigenwilliger Statik und trotzdem ein „Song“.
Für "solid ground" und "elusive" haben Ms. John Soda befreundete Künstler um Bearbeitungen gebeten:
Roberto di Gioia ist Jazzpianist, verfolgt aber auch elektronische Projekte (in seinem eigenem Projekt Mars Mobil und in Zusammenarbeit z.B. mit Martin „Console“; Gretschmann). Die "solid ground piano version" ist eher der Idee der klassischen Coverversion verpflichtet als der des Remixes. Eine Gratwanderung zwischen Reduktion und Verkitschung, die die Melancholie des Tracks in eigenwilliger Form überzeichnet und gleichzeitig mit ihrer Betonung der melodischen Essenz auch wieder in Richtung Pop träumt.
Der "elusive rmx" stammt von Max Punktezahl (Contriva) und Florian Zimmer (Iso 68), bzw. ihrem gemeinsamen Projekt Jersey. Ein kleines Epos, fast doppelt so lang wie das Original, bestimmt durch den unverkennbar fragilen Sound von Punktezahls Gitarre und loopbasierter, klangschwelgerischer Elektronik.

Ms. John Soda: Drop=scene

Go Check Ms. John Soda 4'14''
Done Twice Ms. John Soda 3'43''
Solid Ground (Piano Version) Ms. John Soda 3'14''
Elusive (Rmx) Ms. John Soda 8'49''