• LP : Incl. Printed Inner Sleeve, only black vinyl left!
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Something is looming on the horizon, a flickering presence, a sparkle in the twilight, hardly visible at first, then slowly taking shape and finally coming into view: "I will depart/I see, I will, I won't go far," Stefanie Boehm (Couch) sings on "Sirens", one of 10 tracks Ms. John Soda have recorded for "Loom", their first album in eight years – and it's true: It's a return that often feels like yet another departure, like it's time to say farewell once again, one last hug and off it goes into the valley, where life is already waiting.

A lot has changed since Ms. John Soda released the first 7" back in 1998, since Micha Acher (The Notwist, Tied & Tickled Trio, Alien Ensemble) joined Stefanie Boehm and completed the creative nucleus of this band around the turn of the millennium; day-to-day life indeed feels different some 16 years later (and half as many since the release of their sophomore album, "Notes and the Like"), but the basic chemistry, the intricate balance of electronic and analog molecules that orbit this nucleus – and thus, the resulting mood and vibe -, they're still recognizable, still undeniably Ms. John Soda: Whether it's the dense, intensely rushing soundscapes of "Hero Whales", numerous layers pushing and taking off into the same direction, the propelled clatter of "Sirens", a track like "Millions" that blows off more and more steam, a glistening, wheezing sort of madness even (though there is a tender side to it as well), the perpetual, magic lantern-like motions of "Name It" (think Trish Keenan and Broadcast) or the gradually descending melodies of opening track "In My Arms" – they're all lined with a certain tension, underpinned by a certain atmosphere, a unique brand of melancholy that never quite gives in, keeps searching for new outlets and answers.

The album title Ms. John Soda have chosen for their third full-length, "Loom", obviously hints at this feeling of re-emergence, gathering and looming, but according to the singer, it also refers to a weaving loom: It's about "weaving and combining a vast number of influences, ideas, instruments, melodies, rhythms, and layers to create a whole," says Boehm, whose vocals span these new tracks like thick, reliable ropes that glow with marine luminescence. "It's about weaving individuals into a group ('Millions'), weaving and merging former ideals and hopes with reality ('The Light'), combining 'hi' and 'bye', beginning and end ('Hi Fool'), interweaving opposite or contradicting concepts, such as pushing forward vs. being pushed ('In My Arms')." And while the weaving, just like life itself, can easily get out of hands, "because you lose track, and yet life goes on ('Name It')," a lot of these songs – e.g. "Hero Whales", the billowing "Sodawaltz", "Fall Away" – revolve around a shimmering sense of something we can't quite grasp or put a finger on just yet: "Intuitions, hopes, dreams, wishes, affinities, distances, temptations…"

Whereas Cico Beck aka Joasihno (drums, electronics), also part of Aloa Input and the latest addition to Ms. John Soda's live band, and drummer Thomas Geltinger helped out on various tracks they recorded with Oliver Zülch in Weilheim, Boehm and Acher were also joined by Karl-Ivar Refseth (percussions) and Matthias Götz (trombone). Together, they keep feeding the loom with countless spools of yarn, until epic piano closer "Fall Away" seems to offer a temporary respite: "find your way/take the dry suit off/for a night". Time to rest, to take a deep breath. Or is it already the first rays of dawn looming on the horizon?

Ms. John Soda: Loom

In My Arms Ms. John Soda 3'11''
Hero Whales Ms. John Soda 3'30''
Millions Ms. John Soda 4'25''
The Light Ms. John Soda 3'31''
Sodawaltz Ms. John Soda 2'44''
Hi Fool Ms. John Soda 4'27''
Sirens Ms. John Soda 3'13''
Name It Ms. John Soda 3'27''
Oh Seven Ms. John Soda 3'58''
Fall Away Ms. John Soda 2'58''

Nice as well:

• LP : Incl. Printed Inner Sleeve, only black vinyl left!
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Etwas bahnt sich an im Halbdunkel, schimmert schon leicht am Horizont, taucht schließlich auf: "I will depart/I see, I will, I won't go far", singt Stefanie Böhm (Couch) auf "Sirens", einem von zehn Songs, mit denen sich Ms. John Soda nach mehrjähriger Pause wieder zurückmelden – und tatsächlich klingt diese Rückkehr recht häufig nach erneutem Aufbruch, nach abermaligem Abschied, nach Umarmung und Abfahrt ins Tal, wo das Leben auf einen wartet.

Viel ist passiert, seit 1998 die erste 7" von Ms. John Soda bei Hausmusik erschienen ist, seit Micha Acher (The Notwist, Tied & Tickled Trio, Alien Ensemble) zur Jahrtausendwende den Kern dieser Band komplettiert hat; die Lebensrealitäten sind heute, 16 Jahre später und halb so viele Jahre seit dem letzten Album "Notes and the Like", gewiss recht andere, aber die Chemie, die elektronischen wie analogen Klangmoleküle, die diesen Kern umkreisen – und letztlich auch die daraus resultierende Grundstimmung – sind immer noch ähnlich, immer noch Ms. John Soda: Ganz gleich, ob es sich nun um den dichten Aufbruch-Sound von "Hero Whales" handelt, bei dem unzählige Spuren in eine Richtung drängen, oder das motorische Treiben von "Sirens", das immer mehr Druck und flirrend-fiependen Wahnsinn ablassende (und dabei so sanft wirkende) "Millions", das sich kontinuierlich (à la Trish Keenan & Co.) windende Laterna-Magica-Gerüst von "Name It" oder eben die ins Nichts der Morgendämmerung fliegenden, stetig an Höhe verlierenden Origami-Teppiche des Openers "In My Arms" – sie alle speisen sich aus einer gewissen Spannung, einer ganz eigenen Stimmung, einer Art von Melancholie, die sich immer wieder selbst in Frage stellt, auszubrechen versucht und neue Ventile sucht.

Der Titel "Loom", den Ms. John Soda für ihr drittes Album gewählt haben, steht einerseits für dieses Auftauchen, dieses Heraufziehen, dieses Anbahnen; zugleich lässt sich das Wort aber auch mit "Webstuhl" übersetzen, was für die zweiköpfige Weilheim-Connection genauso zutreffend ist: Es gehe um "das Verweben verschiedenster Dinge, Einflüsse, Ideen, Instrumente, Melodien, Rhythmen und Spuren zu einem Ganzen", so die Sängerin, deren Stimme die Stücke überspannt wie dicke, verlässliche Taue, an denen die Gischt samt Meeresleuchten entlangrinnt. "Das Verweben einzelner Personen zu einer großen Gruppe ('Millions'), das Verweben alter Ideale und Hoffnungen mit der Realität ('The Light'), das Verweben von 'Hi' und 'Bye', Anfang und Ende ('Hi Fool'), das Verweben von Widersprüchen und Gegensätzen, zum Beispiel dem Treiben und dem Getrieben-Werden ('In My Arms')." Und während dieses Weben, wie das Leben auch mal aus dem Ruder laufen kann, "man den Überblick verliert, es aber doch irgendwie weitergeht ('Name It')", durchzieht viele dieser Songs – "Hero Whales", das wogende "Sodawaltz", "Fall Away" – das leuchtende Schimmern von etwas noch nicht Greifbarem: "Ahnungen, Hoffnungen, Träume, Wünsche, Verbundenheit, Entfernung, Verlockungen..."

Während Live-Neuzugang Joasihno aka Cico Beck (Schlagzeug, Electronics), sonst bei Aloa Input aktiv, und Schlagzeuger Thomas Geltinger wiederholt an den mit Oliver Zülch in Weilheim aufgenommenen Tracks mitgewirkt haben, zählten auch Karl-Ivar Refseth (Percussion) und Matthias Götz (Posaune) zu den Gästen, die diesen Webstuhl mit immer neuen Fäden gefüttert haben, bis der epische Piano-Schlusspunkt "Fall Away" seine letzten Schlieren am Horizont ausbreitet: "find your way/take the dry suit off/for a night". Zeit zum Ausruhen, Durchatmen. Oder ist das vielleicht doch schon der nächste Morgen, der sich da abzeichnet?

Ms. John Soda: Loom

In My Arms Ms. John Soda 3'11''
Hero Whales Ms. John Soda 3'30''
Millions Ms. John Soda 4'25''
The Light Ms. John Soda 3'31''
Sodawaltz Ms. John Soda 2'44''
Hi Fool Ms. John Soda 4'27''
Sirens Ms. John Soda 3'13''
Name It Ms. John Soda 3'27''
Oh Seven Ms. John Soda 3'58''
Fall Away Ms. John Soda 2'58''
Cleared Breaking Day Immune Recordings
LP: 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
Antonelli The Blackout Quintet Italic
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
The National Jazz Trio Of Scotland Standards Vol. III Karaoke Kalk
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Saroos Return Alien Transistor
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL