People Press Play

People Press Play

Morr Music morr 078-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
The art of understatement, likeable and restrained. That is how the self-titled debut by People Press Play begins. Synthetic sounds form echo-loops that, in a very similar way, could easily stem from Kevin Shields' guitar as well. Rhythms take a deep breath, a woman's nonchalant voice changes between relaxed jazz and reduced easy listening. My Bloody Valentine and My Funny Valentine. Four people - Sara Savery, Anders Remmer, Jesper Skaaning and Thomas Knak - and their careful game with sounds.
The ingredients are well-chosen, the atmosphere is intimate, close to the ear. There still is this passion for repetitive structures, duplication and modulation as the three of them - the boys - have already worked on together since the 1990ies. Future 3 is the name of their joint project, three albums and twelve years old. But People Press Play is not just Future 3 plus a female singer. It is more breathing, there is more space. An intensive time in the studio; analogue instruments and digital resources often have an equal rank. Sound- and song-writing go hand in hand. Still the passion for Steve Reich's or Brian Eno's minimal concept music is audible, still the love for dub resounds through this debut album. At the same time all that ends up in an almost classic band context. Digital and analogue moments really find in another, each sound is important, not only as an ornament.
"Always wrong" is a melancholy affair of the heart, surrounded by murmuring nuances, electronic folk from the echo chamber. "These days" is electro pop with clear outlines, pushing, elegant, oscillating. Finally, there is "Stop", the song that the album ends with, with a weightless wall of sound, a white roaring, a bass guitar within the surf.
Moreover, all artists engaged carry on being active within their solo projects as well: Savery (aka Sara Savery), Dub Tractor (Anders Remmer), Acustic (Jesper Skaaning) and Opiate (Thomas Knak). In addition, an EP of the Future 3-subsidiary System was released via Rump Recordings this February.

People Press Play: People Press Play

Girl People Press Play 3'44''
Always Wrong People Press Play 3'56''
These Days People Press Play 3'48''
That Walk People Press Play 3'09''
Hanging On People Press Play 3'08''
Frail People Press Play 3'55''
Studio People Press Play 3'28''
Before Me People Press Play 3'54''
Everything People Press Play 4'11''
Stop People Press Play 5'13''
The Clean Mister Pop Morr Music
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Teamforest Home A Number Of Small Things
7”: 2,50 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL
Limp Orion Morr Music
EP: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL

People Press Play

People Press Play

Morr Music morr 078-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Die große Kunst der Untertreibung, einnehmend und zurückhaltend. So beginnt das selbstbetitelte Debüt von People Press Play. Synthetische Klänge formen Echoschleifen, die ganz ähnlich auch aus der Gitarre von Kevin Shields kommen könnten, die Rhythmen holen Luft, eine nonchalante Frauenstimme changiert zwischen entspanntem Jazz und sparsamen Easy Listening, entspannt, zurückgelehnt. My Bloody Valentine und My Funny Valentine. Vier Menschen - Sara Savery, Anders Remmer, Jesper Skaaning und Thomas Knak - und ihr sorgsames Spiel mit Klängen.
Die Zutaten sind wohl gewählt, die Atmosphäre intim und nahe am Ohr. Noch immer ist da die Liebe zu repetetiven Strukturen, Wiederholung und Modulation, wie sie drei von ihnen, die Jungs, schon seit Mitte der Neunziger Jahre gemeinsam pflegen. Future 3 heißt das gemeinsame Projekt, drei Alben und zwölf Jahre alt. Aber People Press Play ist etwas anderes als nur Future 3 plus Sängerin. Mehr Atem, mehr Raum, eine intensive Zeit im Tonstudio. Analoge Instrumente stehen oft gleichberechtigt neben digitalen Ressourcen, Sound- und Songwriting gehen Hand in Hand. Noch immer hört man die Leidenschaft für die minimale Konzeptmusik eines Steve Reichs oder Brian Eno, noch hallt die Liebe zum Dub durch das selbstbetitelte Debüt. Gleichzeitig aber fügt sich alles in einem fast schon klassischen Bandkontext. Digitale und analoge Momente finden wirklich ineinander, jeder Ton ist wichtig, nicht nur Ornament.
"Always wrong" ist eine melancholische Herzensangelegenheit, umspült von pluckernden Zwischentönen, Electronic Folk aus der Echokammer. "These Days" ist klar konturierter Elektropop, treibend, elegant, oszillierend. "Stop" beschließt das Album schließlich mit einer schwerelosen wall of sound, weißem Rauschen, ein Bass in der Brandung.
Alle beteiligten Künstler sind auch weiterhin in ihren Soloprojekten aktiv: Savery (Sara Savery), Dub Tractor (Anders Remmer), Acustic (Jesper Skaaning) und Opiate (Thomas Knak). Im Februar ist zudem eine EP des Future 3-Ablegers System via Rump Recordings erschienen.

People Press Play: People Press Play

Girl People Press Play 3'44''
Always Wrong People Press Play 3'56''
These Days People Press Play 3'48''
That Walk People Press Play 3'09''
Hanging On People Press Play 3'08''
Frail People Press Play 3'55''
Studio People Press Play 3'28''
Before Me People Press Play 3'54''
Everything People Press Play 4'11''
Stop People Press Play 5'13''
Peinemann | Tietchens Harvestehude aufabwegen
2CD: 10,00 € 19,99 €
incl. instant DL
Terakaft Alone (Ténéré) OutHere Records
LP: 16,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Borko Celebrating Life Morr Music
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL