Breathes The Best

A Number Of Small Things anost 011
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Music from on the road. Three new tracks from Andrea Mangia, on the Morr-map known as Populous. Friends of Morr Music - and friends of passionate music between abstract Electronica, instrumental HipHop and a clever pop-neighbourhood - are familiar with him at least by his second album “Queue for Love” that was released last year on Morr Music. A twenty-something from Lecce, Italy, with a biography full of electric guitars and hard disks, full of A Tribe called Quest-albums and Technics-turntables. There are no borders between song and track, between analogue and digital, between the directness of here and now and the able and emphatic reprise of the sound-archives.
Whereas “Queue for Love” enlarged the abstract-electronic foundation of Populous` debut album “Quipo” with reference points such as jazz, space, songwriting and soul (as attitude AND sound-reference), „Breathes the Best“ learns to stand on one's own two feet, finally free of drawers and expectations. From here on everything is possible.
„Breathes the Best” is a digital pop-song with body (in the sense of space to breath) and soul. A musical flow, congenially taken up by singer/MC short stories (aka Michael McGuire). A hit, concisely. “Bon Bon Pour les Rappers“ begins as a game of soundscapes, absorbed by Populous' earliest passion: a nonchalant rhythm pattern. „Blood Red Bird“ finally is a cover version over the edge. The Smog-classic, played by Giardini Di Miro - friends of Andrea Mangia for many years - and mixed, added and rearranged by Populous. Melancholy, indulging, rapt and at the same time close to your ear.

Populous: Breathes The Best

Breathes The Best Populous 2'15''
Bon Bon Pour Les Rappers Populous 2'27''
Blood Red Bird Populous 4'29''

Nice as well:

Populous Queue For Love Morr Music
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
LP: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
B. Fleischmann Frisky He Said A Number Of Small Things
7”: 3,74 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL
The Go Find Over The Edge Vs. What I Want Morr Music
MCD: 3,74 € 4,99 €
12”: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
Teamforest Home A Number Of Small Things
7”: 4,99 €
incl. instant DL

Populous

Breathes The Best

A Number Of Small Things anost 011
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Musik von Unterwegs. Drei neue Stücke von Andrea Mangia, auf der Morr-Landkarte bekannt als Populous. Freunden von Morr Music - und Freunden leidenschaftlicher Musik zwischen abstrakter Electronica, instrumentalem HipHop und cleverer Popnachbarschaft - mindestens bekannt durch sein zweites Album „Queue for Love“ aus dem vergangenen Jahr. Ein Mitzwanziger aus Lecce, Italia, mit einer Biografie voller elektrischer Gitarren und Computerfestplatten, voller A Tribe called Quest-Alben und Technics-Plattenspieler. Keine Grenzen zwischen Song und Track, zwischen analog und digital, zwischen dem Hier und dem Jetzt und dem Rückgriff auf die Klangarchive vergangener Popdekaden.
Hatte „Queue for Love“ das abstrakt-elektronische Fundament des Debütalbums „Quipo“ neugierig um solche Koordinaten wie Jazz, Räumlichkeit, Folk und vor allem Soul (als Haltung UND als Klangreferenz) erweitert, schwimmt sich „Breathes the Best“ endgültig frei von den Schubladen und Erwartungen. Von hier an ist alles möglich.
„Breathes the Best“ ist ein digitaler Popsong mit Leib (im Sinne von Raum) und Seele (Soul). Ein musikalischer Fluß, kongenial aufgegriffen vom Sänger/MC short stories (aka Michael McGuire). Ein Hit, kurz und bündig. „Bon Bon Pour les Rappers“ beginnt als Spiel der Klangflächen, aufgefangen von Populous' frühester Leidenschaft, ein nonchalant platziertes Rhythmuspattern. „Blood Red Bird“ schließlich ist eine Coverversion über Bande. Der Smog-Klassiker, gespielt von den seit langem mit Andrea Mangia befreundeten Giardini Di Miro, gemixt und rearrangiert von Populous selbst. Melancholisch, schwelgend, entrückt und gleichzeitig ganz dicht an Deinem Ohr.

Populous: Breathes The Best

Breathes The Best Populous 2'15''
Bon Bon Pour Les Rappers Populous 2'27''
Blood Red Bird Populous 4'29''