Ritornell

If Nine Was Eight

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 91 CD
  • LP : Includes Download, Die-Cut outer Sleeve with printed inner Sleeve
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Could everything be different? What if, for example, nine was actually eight? Well then, 'If Nine Was Eight' is the third studio album from Ritornell – following up from 'Golden Solitude' (2009, Karaoke Kalk) and 'Aquarium Eyes' (2013, Karaoke Kalk).

Naturally, nine stays nine, that is not going to change. Gently but firmly, Richard Eigner and Roman Gerold (both born in 1983) do it nonetheless: on 'If Nine Was Eight' they create states of suspension and illusion, which not only blur the lines between pop and art but also between acoustic and electronic sounds. The ambiguous beauty of their music has been compared to a detailed botanical still life: you half expect to see movement among the leaves.

Contrabass flute, cello, piano, Rhodes, these are only some of the ingredients that make up the ten tracks on 'If Nine Was Eight'. On this album, percussionist Eigner and pianist Gerold collaborated again with a number of musicians: Jazz tubist Jon Sass, saxophonist Werner Zangerle, and Swiss avant-garde percussionist Julian Sartorius are among the contributors. Flip Philipp, member of the Wiener Symphoniker, plays marimba and vibraphone. Various flutes are added by Norbert Trawöger, a prolific mediator between old and new music. Mira Lu Kovacs (Schmieds Puls) is responsible for the lyrics of and vocals on the track 'Old People,' and Viennese artist Mimu Merz (Book of Now) is once more a part of the team. In addition, the soulful vocals on the track 'Sleeping Alone' are courtesy of Tobias Koett of the duo Ant Antic.

In Ritornell's protean live performances everything is flexible. Depending on the context, Eigner and Gerold dress their compositions in different guises: dance tunes can morph into planar-cloudy soundscapes and vice versa. Thus they demonstrate that even if nine can never be eight, at least their music is full of possibilities.

Ritornell: If Nine Was Eight

Stalker's Sentiment Ritornell 4'43''
Old People (Feat. Mira Lu Kovacs) Ritornell 3'54''
Silence Of The Sirens Ritornell 6'23''
The Bossa Under Your Bed Ritornell 4'45''
A Memory Of Athens Ritornell 3'57''
Book Of Now (Feat. Mimu) Ritornell 4'13''
Feathers, Neon, Aluminium Ritornell 5'03''
Take The Last Train To The Coast Ritornell 4'21''
Sleeping Alone (Feat. Tobias Koett) Ritornell 4'55''
If Nine Was Eight Ritornell 3'47''

Nice as well:

Lali Puna Faking The Books Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Golden Solitude Karaoke Kalk
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Moderat III Monkeytown Records
2LP: 17,24 € 22,99 €

Ritornell

If Nine Was Eight

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 91 CD
  • LP : Includes Download, Die-Cut outer Sleeve with printed inner Sleeve
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Könnte alles auch ganz anders sein? Wenn zum Beispiel neun acht wäre, ja, dann wäre If Nine Was Eight möglicherweise erst die zweite Veröffentlichung des österreichischen Duos Ritornell. Es handelt sich – nach Golden Solitude (2009, Karaoke Kalk) und Aquarium Eyes (2013, Karaoke Kalk) – allerdings schon um das dritte Studioalbum.

Denn freilich bleibt neun auch weiterhin neun, daran ist bis auf weiteres nicht zu rütteln. Richard Eigner und Roman Gerold (beide geb. 1983) tun es, sanft aber bestimmt, trotzdem: Auf If Nine Was Eight erzeugen sie Schwebezustände und Kippbilder, in denen nicht nur die Grenzen zwischen Pop und Kunst, sondern auch jene zwischen akustischen und elektronischen Sounds mehr als einmal verschwimmen. Mit einem detailreichen Pflanzenstillleben in Öl, bei dem man nie so ganz sicher sein kann, ob sich nicht doch gleich ein Blättchen bewegen wird, ist die doppelbödige Schönheit ihrer Musik einmal verglichen worden.

Kontrabassflöte, Cello, Klavier, Rhodes sind nur einige der Ingredienzien, die in den zehn Tracks von If Eight Was Nine verarbeitet wurden. Auch für das dritte Studioalbum kollaborierten Schlagwerker Eigner und Pianist Gerold mit einer ganzen Reihe von Musikern: Der Jazztubist Jon Sass ist ebenso zu hören wie der Saxofonist Werner Zangerle und der Schweizer Schlagzeug-Avantgardist Julian Sartorius; Flip Philipp, Mitglied der Wiener Symphoniker spielte Marimba und Vibraphon; die diversen Flöten steuerte Norbert Trawöger, umtriebiger Vermittler zwischen alter und neuer Musik, bei. Mira Lu Kovacs (Schmieds Puls) zeichnet für Text und Gesang des Stückes Old People verantwortich. Zum erneuten Male mit dabei ist die die Wiener Künstlerin Mimu Merz (Book of Now). Für die souligen Vocals des Stückes Sleeping Alone sorgt Tobias Koett vom Duo Ant Antic.

Live präsentiert sich Ritornell wandelbar. Nicht nur ist die Besetzung variabel: Je nach Kontext bringen Eigner und Gerold ihre Kompositionen sowohl in tanzbaren als auch in flächig-wolkigen Aggregatzuständen auf die Bühne. Und beweisen damit, dass, wenn schon neun nicht acht sein kann, so doch jedenfalls in ihrer Musik einige Möglichkeiten stecken.

Ritornell: If Nine Was Eight

Stalker's Sentiment Ritornell 4'43''
Old People (Feat. Mira Lu Kovacs) Ritornell 3'54''
Silence Of The Sirens Ritornell 6'23''
The Bossa Under Your Bed Ritornell 4'45''
A Memory Of Athens Ritornell 3'57''
Book Of Now (Feat. Mimu) Ritornell 4'13''
Feathers, Neon, Aluminium Ritornell 5'03''
Take The Last Train To The Coast Ritornell 4'21''
Sleeping Alone (Feat. Tobias Koett) Ritornell 4'55''
If Nine Was Eight Ritornell 3'47''

Auch schön:

Lali Puna Faking The Books Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Golden Solitude Karaoke Kalk
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
Moderat III Monkeytown Records
2LP: 17,24 € 22,99 €
Boy in Static New Born Alien Transistor
LP: 7,00 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL