Roman

Roman

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-55
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
“It will loop on in your head forever”—Roman’s third album can only be described as pop: rhythmic, melodic, intelligent and straight from the heart. That’s not to say that the Cologne-based singer-songwriter, producer and filmmaker has lost any of his desire to experiment. Indeed, there has always been an avant-garde element in pop music, in transforming and condensing something intimate into a 3-minute nugget, both accessible and popular. It’s this contrast that makes Roman’s music seductive: his songs tell intimate stories and the multi-facetted compositions make this personal element audible. As always, he wrote and composed the whole thing himself, but was joined at the production stage this time round by Henning Schmitz and Bertil Mark. The former has already written musical history as a member of the band Kraftwerk. The latter is a drummer and producer for artists such as Von Spar, The Notwist and Die Fantastischen Vier. The recording process has also become more extravagant, Roman turning his back on bedroom production in favour of a full band set-up. It’s precisely the dynamic spirit and playfulness of the band that injects his new album with an organic energy.
The screaming, howling and whispering, the poetic anecdotes about everyday city life and night time walks along the harbour, fleeting neon moments in the darkness and euphoric club scenarios don't just fuel the lyrics but drive on the songs themselves. This is reflected, for example, in the song R.I.P. Music, a real rave anthem. Roman doesn’t disguise his voice throughout. He turns away from technique in favour of pure verbal expression and makes innocent dilettantism into a discipline. Musically, he wanders freely through various genres with eyes wide open: smooth ballads, banging beats, relaxing folk, D.I.Y. techno and clap-along hip-hop. It’s a stylistic carousel that never stands still, constantly translating the keys of Roman’s heart into rhythms, harmonies and melodies. The sound is more lavish than before, with synthesizers, laptop, a string quartet and guitar, only occasionally reverting to a reduced lo-fi structure. Nevertheless, each song seems like the expression of a gut feeling, like a spontaneous snapshot of a deep emotional stirring. Music derived from situations, for situations.
All the recordings have been put back through a sequencer, edited and added to on a laptop, giving the whole thing extra rawness. It's a working method that unites Roman’s nerdy bedroom-production past with band collaboration and catapults this homemade aesthetic into a new, punchier context. A solo album without solos, a carnival of pop without costumes. Music between light and darkness, music that fails obvious description, as none of the 10 songs fit to any clichéd category.
If you want an insight into Roman’s world, then just visit his website. Here you’ll find a series of semi-fictional short films that document the creation of his dense emotional pop music and simultaneously present the characters of the songs in visual stories, completely outside the bounds of the industry-standard MTV aesthetic. Roman can be seen enjoying free time with friend Tom Ashforth, who also sings on two of the songs on the album. In the first episode, for the song Goodbye Bunny, he recites spoken verse, which combines with string arrangements, pressing hip-hop grooves and Roman’s melodic vocals to give the tune a kind of casual soulfulness. Incidentally, this soulful element is evident in every song of this dramatic album.
Roman is apparently one of those people who write down their dreams and record spontaneous ideas on their mobile phones. Maybe that’s why his music seems so sensual and unadulterated. He makes the subconscious audible and presents it to the world packaged in compact songs, which can either be good friends or great entertainers.
www.roman-music.com

Roman: Roman

Futura Roman 3'52''
The Denizens Drum Roman 3'08''
Despair When Young Roman 3'34''
Goodbye Bunny Roman 5'21''
Traffic Roman 4'08''
Monster In Suburbia Roman 4'50''
Bones & Barks Roman 2'47''
Blow Roman 5'18''
R.I.P. Music Roman 3'48''
Shoot Roman 3'17''
Scout (Bonus Digital) Roman 2'47''
Gridwalk (Bonus Digital) Roman 3'30''
Pictureplane Technomancer Anticon
LP: 8,00 € 15,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
First Nation First Nation Paw Tracks
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
Springintgut Park And Ride City Centre Offices
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Raleigh Moncrief Watered Lawn Anticon
2LP: 8,50 € 16,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €

Roman

Roman

Karaoke Kalk kalk cd-55
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
„It will loop on in your head forever“: das dritte Album des Songwriters, Produzenten und Filmemachers Roman ist Pop – rhythmisch, harmonisch, trickreich und direkt vom Herzen. Auf Experimente verzichtet der Kölner allerdings nicht. Denn Pop war schon immer Avantgarde, schließlich transformiert er intimes in die Kunst des 3-minuten Formats und macht es populär. Gegensätze, die eigentlich nicht zusammen passen und grade deshalb so verführerisch wirken – zumindest bei Roman, dessen Songs intime Geschichten erzählen und dessen facettenreiche Kompositionen persönliches hörbar macht. Getextet und komponiert hat er wie immer alles selbst. Nur für die Produktion lies er sich von Henning Schmitz und Bertil Mark kreativ unterstützten. Ersterer schrieb als Mitglied von Kraftwerk internationale Musikgeschichte. Letzterer war als Schlagzeuger und Studiotüftler bereits für Künstler wie Von Spar, The Notwist und Die Fantastischen Vier aktiv. Die Umsetzung der künstlerischen Vision verlief zudem aufwendiger als jemals zuvor, denn Roman hat das Schlafzimmer verlassen und nun eine Band im Rücken. Deren Energie und Spielwitz injiziert seinem neuen Longplayer eine organische Energie, die seinen Pop noch dringlicher macht.
Jener schreit, kreischt und flüstert, erzählt mit viel Poesie vom Alltag in der Stadt, von nächtlichen Hafen-Spaziergängen, flüchtigen Neon-Momenten im Dunkel der Nacht und euphorischen Clubszenarien, deren Energie nicht allein die Lyrics voran treiben, sondern auch Songs wie „R.I.P. Music“ zu ravigen Anthems werden lässt. Romans Stimme verstellt sich dabei nie, lässt Gesangstechniken zugunsten des puren verbalen Ausdrucks links liegen und macht aus arglosem Dilletantismus eine ergreifende Königsdisziplin. Musikalisch flaniert er dazu stets ohne Scheuklappen durch die Genres, schmust balladesk, lässt die Beats krachen, lehnt sich mit Folk zurück, treibt mit D.I.Y.-Techno an und klatscht zu Hip Hop in die Hände. Ein stilistisches Karussell das nie still steht und stets die Klaviatur von Romans Herzen in Rhythmen, Harmonien und Melodien übersetzt. Und das mit Synthesizer, Laptop, Streicher Sextett und Gitarre oftmals opulenter als gewohnt und nur selten mit reduzierter Lo-Fi-Architektur. Trotzdem wirkt jeder Song wie der Ausdruck eines Bauchgefühls, wie ein spontanes Bild einer tiefen Gefühlsregung. Musik aus Situationen für Situationen.
Um dem ganzen eine raue Prägung zu verleihen hat er alle Bandaufnahmen noch mal durch den Sequenzer gejagt, sie am Laptop neu editiert und elektronische Drums hinzugefügt. Eine Arbeitsmethode, die Romans Vergangenheit als nerdiger Schlafzimmerproduzent charmant mit der Bandarbeit verbindet und seine Bedroom-Ästhetik in einen neuen, druckvollen Kontext katapultiert. Ein Soloalbum ohne Solo. Popkarneval ohne Kostüme. Musik zwischen Licht und Dunkelheit. Musik für deren Beschreibung eindeutige Worte fehlen, denn in Klischeetöpfe passt keiner der 10 Songs.
Wer Romans Welt erkunden will, der muss in die Musik eintauchen oder sollte seine Internetseiten besuchen. Hier dokumentiert eine Serie von kurzen Clips das Entstehen seiner verdichteten Pop-Emotionen und eine Reihe von fiktionalen Kurzfilmen, die der Kölner selbst mit seinen Bandmitgliedern inszeniert, transformiert den Charakter einzelner Songs in visuelle Geschichten, die ganz ohne handelsübliche MTV-Ästhetik auskommen und in denen die Bilder noch mit Tiefe statt Oberfläche erzählen. Häufiger ist dabei Roman beim Freizeitspaß mit seinem Kumpel Tom Ashforth zu beobachten. Auf dem Album singt der Brite ebenfalls bei zwei Liedern mit. In der ersten Clipepisode zum Song „Goodbye Bunny“ glänzt er mit Spoken-Words, die zwischen dramatischen Streichern, druckvollen HipHop-Grooves und dem melodischen Gesang Romans lässig Soul verbreiten. Den hat übrigens jedes Stück dieses mit abgestimmter Dramaturgie groovenden Albums.
Angeblich soll Roman ja einer jener Menschen sein, die ihre Träume stets unverzüglich in Notizbücher kritzeln und plötzliche Melodieeingaben direkt in ihr Handy singen. Vielleicht wirkt sein Pop deshalb so sinnlich und ungeschminkt. Denn er macht Unbewusstes hörbar und schenkt es der Welt verpackt in kleine Song-Dosen, die jene nach Gemütslage gute Freunde oder geniale Entertainer sind.
www.roman-music.com
Promo Kontakt:
sandra@stars-and-heroes.com
PHONE +49 (0) 30 695 352 86
http://www.stars-and-heroes.com

Roman: Roman

Futura Roman 3'52''
The Denizens Drum Roman 3'08''
Despair When Young Roman 3'34''
Goodbye Bunny Roman 5'21''
Traffic Roman 4'08''
Monster In Suburbia Roman 4'50''
Bones & Barks Roman 2'47''
Blow Roman 5'18''
R.I.P. Music Roman 3'48''
Shoot Roman 3'17''
Scout (Bonus Digital) Roman 2'47''
Gridwalk (Bonus Digital) Roman 3'30''
Donato Wharton Body Isolations City Centre Offices
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
PTTRNS Body Pressure Altin Village & Mine
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Benni Hemm Hemm Eliminate Evil, Revive Good Times BHH
CD: 4,00 € 15,99 €
incl. instant DL
GRMLN Soon Away Carpark
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €