Roy Montgomery

R M H Q: Headquarters

Grapefruit Records GY 6-8 CD
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
It’s been over a decade since Roy Montgomery’s last album, and R M H Q is a hell of a return. This release contains four distinct records of new material. Listening to any of his work is a visceral experience—repeating phrases swell and decay, immersing the listener in the cyclical narrative of his compositions.

Montgomery was in his rock band period in the eighties, when the dark, minimalist post-punk of The Pin Group lead into the gloriously open-ended freedoms of Dadamah. After a quiet spell, he returned in the late nineties, producing towering spires of guitar lines that exposed fragility between the strums. With his solo releases and in collaboration with Flying Saucer Attack, Bardo Pond (Hash Jar Tempo), and Chris Heaphy (Dissolve), his focus shifted from the truth-mining of rock music to epic celestialism. His ambitious yet humble tracks outstrip their origins, and Montgomery toured the world sitting cross-legged on the floor, playing twenty-plus-minute compositions.

A long period of silence followed, marked only with a split album with Grouper (who lists Montgomery as a primary influence), involvement in Torlesse Super Group, and a couple thematic variations serving as soundtracks for films. Instead, he focused on his personal and professional commitments. Unfortunately, two horrific events preceded his return: the Christchurch earthquakes of 2011 condemned Montgomery’s entire neighborhood save for his home, stripping his street of a community; and, as a volunteer firefighter, he saw first-hand the destruction and loss of life in the city center. Additionally, since 2014, illness in the family has dominated his life. Self-expression once again demanded an outlet.

R M H Q is four albums conceived and recorded over a very short period, each of them carrying a distinct focus and mood.

The Fine Details: The Vinyl Box-Set is limited to 500 copies! Outer Slipcase is a full color double Wall 20PT SBS board with soft touch Lamination. Incl. 12"x12" CMYK insert printed on 10PT card stock.

Roy Montgomery: R M H Q: Headquarters

Tropic Of Anodyne Roy Montgomery
Dear Future Loser Roy Montgomery
You Always Get What You Deserve Roy Montgomery
I Was A Distant Star Roy Montgomery
Seven Faded Dreams Roy Montgomery
If And Only If Roy Montgomery
Hanging Melody Roy Montgomery
As The Sun Sets Roy Montgomery
Rough Take Off Roy Montgomery
10538 Overdrive Roy Montgomery
Little Big Star Roy Montgomery
Dazed Pig Dreamhome Slide Roy Montgomery
At The Gogol Au Go Go Roy Montgomery
Six Guitar Salute To Peter Gutteridge Roy Montgomery
Making Love In A Blast Furnace Roy Montgomery
Slow Heroes Roy Montgomery
Rough Landing Roy Montgomery
Ten Beers With Five Bears At Two Guns, Arizona Roy Montgomery
I.O.U. Otto Roy Montgomery
Pipeline Roy Montgomery
And Later We Looked Up At The Stars Roy Montgomery
A Guitar Called Boomslang Roy Montgomery
Another David Lynch Thanks, No Ice Roy Montgomery
Chasing Monica Vitti Roy Montgomery
Cocktails With Can Roy Montgomery
Otherness Roy Montgomery
Riding Roy Montgomery
Last Alarm Roy Montgomery
Unshore Roy Montgomery
Weathering Mortality (feat. Emma Johnston) Roy Montgomery

Auch schön: