Si Begg

Blueprints

Shitkatapult strike_164 cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Pioneering music producer SI BEGG is set to release his sixth studio album, BLUEPRINTS, on Berlin's legendary label SHITKATAPULT. His first LP in four years, BLUEPRINTS is a celebration of raw electronics welded to the 'romance of engineering'. The project was inspired by the discovery of an old diagrammatic notebook that belonged to Begg's grandfather, George, in his lifetime a cutting-edge engineer.

Dubbed 'visionary' by The Who's Pete Townsend and widely considered a producer's producer, BEGG has been making genre-defying electronic music for more than two decades. Backed over the course of his career by the likes of John Peel, Thom Yorke, Leftfield, The Glitch Mob, Bassnectar and Mouse On Mars, he has carved a reputation as a recording artist, DJ and sound designer, and in more recent years as an award-winning composer for television and film.

BLUEPRINTS sees BEGG's passion for contemporary score collide with his love of electronic music. Since the release of his last LP, 2013's Permission To Explode, BEGG has written scores for four feature films as well as for Netflix Original series, Lovesick, and Battle Rap documentary, War of Words.

The concept for the album sprang fully formed when BEGG came across the notebook, a beautifully preserved leather-bound volume, annotated in his grandfather's precise hand. The book was filled with meticulous diagrams of compressors and parallel air ducts, graphs recording comparative noise levels at different factories, statistical information detailing the thermal efficiency of power stations, alongside blueprints for futuristic machines yet to be built.

At the same time, BEGG was reconnecting with his own back-to-basics studio machinery, the voltage-powered hardware instead of the slick high-end software used to create most electronic music today. The parallel discoveries felt like synchronicity and BEGG began producing tracks using analogue synthesizers recorded live in one take, augmented by circuit bend effects units and the electro magnetic field noise created by mobile phones and hard drives. In his characteristically uncompromising way, rather than try to hide the cogs and gears and remove the excess distortion, BEGG decided to champion these idiosyncratic machines. In putting them centre stage, he aimed to demonstrate that not only were these unique tools to create art, they were simultaneously works of art in their own right. Like his grandfather's designs, they had an aesthetic beauty all of their own, form following function.

The pieces on the album evoke the beauty and romance of great engineering, often overlooked in a landscape of post-industrial gloom - the breathtaking geometry of vast gasometers, the sweeping grandeur of a suspension bridge, the finesse of circuit diagrams, a precisely laid-out city viewed from the air at night. From the hums and sparking pops of Heat Resistant Alloys to the relentless subsonic sine waves underpinning Resistance Is Expensive, raw electrical signals pulse through the heart of the music.

This is a work of complex, evolving mathematical patterns, circuitry bent out of shape. It is a hymn to the voltage-controlled oscillator.

Si Begg: Blueprints

Heat Resistant Alloys Si Begg 4'09''
Slide M2959 Si Begg 3'52''
Evaporators Si Begg 4'50''
Pressure Ratio Si Begg 3'49''
Parallel Air Ducts Si Begg 4'35''
Thermal Efficiency Of Power Stations Si Begg 5'23''
Vacuum Pump (Ejector) Si Begg 4'03''
Energieerzeugung Si Begg 4'55''
Isometric Projection Si Begg 4'10''
Resistance Is Expensive Si Begg 4'32''

Nice as well:

1115 Post Europe Alien Transistor
LP: €16,99
CD: €14,99
incl. instant DL
Philippe Hallais An American Hero Modern Love
2LP: €23,99
CD: €13,99
incl. instant DL

Si Begg

Blueprints

Shitkatapult strike_164 cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Der musikalische Pionier Si Begg veröffentlicht sein sechstes Studioalbum Blueprints, das unter dem legendären Berliner Label Shitkatapult erscheint. Auf Blueprints, seiner ersten LP nach vier Jahren, zelebriert er die Verbindung roher elektronischer Klänge mit der "Romantik der Technik". Inspiriert wurde das Projekt durch die Entdeckung eines alten Notizbuchs aus dem Besitz von Beggs Großvater George, einem progressiven Ingenieur.

Begg produziert seit über 20 Jahren Genre-übergreifende elektronische Musik. Er ist weithin als Producer‘s Producer bekannt und erhielt von Pete Townsend (The Who) das Prädikat "Visionär". Aber auch Projekte mit Größen wie John Peel, Thom Yorke, Leftfield, The Glitch Mob, Bassnectar und Mouse On Mars halfen ihm dabei, sich über die Jahre eine Reputation als Studiomusiker, DJ, Tongestalter und zuletzt auch als preisgekrönter Komponist für Film und Fernsehen aufzubauen.

In Blueprints prallt Beggs Leidenschaft für zeitgenössische Soundtracks auf seine Liebe zur elektronischen Musik. Seit der Veröffentlichung seiner letzten LP Permission To Explode im Jahr 2013 hat Begg die Soundtracks zu vier Spielfilmen, zur Netflix Original-Serie Lovesick und zur Battle-Rap-Dokumentation War of Words geschrieben.

Das Konzept für das Album stand sofort fest, als Begg auf das Notizbuch stieß – ein wunderschön erhaltenes in Leder gebundenes Buch, versehen mit den präzisen Erläuterungen seines Großvaters. Das Buch war gespickt mit sorgfältig gezeichneten Abbildungen von Kompressoren und parallelen Luftkanälen, mit Grafiken, die Geräuschebenen in verschiedenen Fabriken vergleichend darstellen, und mit statistischen Beschreibungsdaten zur Wärmeeffizienz von Kraftwerken. Sogar Baupläne für futuristische, bisher noch nie konstruierte Maschinen waren in dem Buch enthalten.

Zur selben Zeit hatte Begg sein ursprüngliches Studio-Equipment reaktiviert und experimentierte mit spannungsbetriebener Hardware statt mit der heute für die Produktion elektronischer Musik üblichen High-End-Software. Begg spürte, dass diese beiden Funde zusammen etwas ergeben könnten. Also fing er an, live und in nur einem Take Tracks mit analogen Synthesizern zu produzieren, die durch Effekte der Circuit Bend-Einheiten und über die für Mobiltelefone und Festplatten charakteristischen elektromagnetischen Geräusche verstärkt werden. Er versuchte gar nicht erst, die Bestandteile zu verstecken und übermäßige Verzerrungen herauszufiltern. Ganz seiner kompromisslosen Linie folgend entschied Begg stattdessen, diese eigenwilligen Komponenten in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Damit wollte er zeigen, dass man mit solchen unverwechselbaren Werkzeugen nicht nur Kunst erzeugen kann, sondern dass sie gleichzeitig eigenständige Kunstgegenstände verkörpern. Wie auch die Entwürfe seines Großvaters strahlen sie getreu dem Motto "Form folgt Funktion" eine ureigene Ästhetik aus.

Die Stücke auf dem Album beschwören die Schönheit und Romantik großer Ingenieursleistungen, die in der tristen postindustriellen Landschaft von heute oft übersehen werden: die atemberaubende Geometrie gewaltiger Gasbehälter, die schwungvolle Erhabenheit einer Seilbrücke, die Finesse von Schaltplänen oder der nächtliche Blick aus der Luft auf eine gleichmäßig angelegte Stadt. Beim Wummern und Funkenknallen in Heat Resistant Alloys oder den unermüdlichen unterschalligen Sinuswellen, die Resistance Is Expensive unterstützen, ist zu spüren, wie die rohen elektronischen Signale durch das Herz der Musik pulsieren.

Dieses Album ist das Ergebnis der Entfaltung komplexer mathematischer Muster und außer Rand und Band geratener Schaltkreise. Entstanden ist eine Hymne an den spannungsgeregelten Oszillator.

Si Begg: Blueprints

Heat Resistant Alloys Si Begg 4'09''
Slide M2959 Si Begg 3'52''
Evaporators Si Begg 4'50''
Pressure Ratio Si Begg 3'49''
Parallel Air Ducts Si Begg 4'35''
Thermal Efficiency Of Power Stations Si Begg 5'23''
Vacuum Pump (Ejector) Si Begg 4'03''
Energieerzeugung Si Begg 4'55''
Isometric Projection Si Begg 4'10''
Resistance Is Expensive Si Begg 4'32''

Auch schön:

1115 Post Europe Alien Transistor
LP: €16,99
CD: €14,99
incl. instant DL
Philippe Hallais An American Hero Modern Love
2LP: €17,99 €23,99
CD: €13,99
incl. instant DL