Sin Fang

Spaceland

Morr Music morr 149-cd
  • LP+12" : Ltd. Edition - Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Gloss, incl. printed inner Sleeves + Bonus 12"EP "Space Echoes"
  • LP : Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Gloss, incl. printed inner Sleeve
  • CD : 6 Panel Digifile with Spot Gloss
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Leaving the rooted flora of his previous album(s) behind, Sin Fang glides into uncharted territory with his fourth full-length entitled "Spaceland" – a collection of electrified tunes that pack a soft punch and some invisible bling. It's his idiosyncratic take on future r&b, one that doesn't mince matters and features various guests including Jónsi, Sóley, Pascal Pinon's Jófríður Ákadóttir and Farao.

A deeply personal and 100% contemporary take on electronic pop, "Spaceland" is more Southern Fried than Tropic of Cancer: Recorded between L.A. and Reykjavík, it's an album that feels like diary entries spelled out like Billboard news headlines.

But it's also a self-therapy made strangely infectious thanks to entirely new production means: Dark lyrics over electrified euphoria, personal confessions set to sizzling hi-hats and heavy bass action. "I wrote most of the lyrics after I started having panic attacks," he explains, adding that the album title actually refers to the headspace he was in during that period when he felt like he "was dying all the time".

Mostly written on the piano, entirely self-recorded and self-produced (with support from Jónsi & Alex), Sin Fang thus ventures further into the direction he took with his new project Gangly and unleashes something both banging and feather-light – a combination he already presents in dreamlike album opener "Candyland". The same kind of push-and-pull, the same r&b-paced phrasings, a similar kind of juxtaposition is at work in "Not Ready For Your Love", a line Sindri repeats over and over, all sweet-voiced surrender set to uplifting arrangements and synthetic fields of bliss.

A tale of non-belonging, "Lost Girl" oscillates between minimalism and experimentalism, magma-paced introspection and sonic sunlight that belies the darkness, when Sindri jumps to the dance-floor. As for the vocal harmonies of "I Want You To Know": That's classic Sin Fang meets goose bumps like "Cry Me A River". Former Seabear band-mate Sóley is at his side for another slice of epic (anti migraine) pop ("Never Let Me Go"), while Norwegian singer Farao is another female sidekick in the land of loops and swathes: Drawing a face in the melting snow for "Please Don't", he picks up the pace with a hubbub of voices over a glacier-like arrangement. Towards the end, there's more playful beats ("Branches"), more open space ("Snowblind"), and finally, a homecoming of sorts: Slow moving album closer "Down" feat JFDR (that's Jófríður Ákadóttir) sounds like rays of hope rediscovered.

Drifting too far away from the sun, it can get mighty cold out (and in) there, gloomy and cold, and yet that free-floating state of zero gravity can also lead to entirely new places. Sin Fang was there – and now he's back with "Spaceland".

Sin Fang: Spaceland

LP+12"
CD/LP
Candyland (feat. Jónsi) Sin Fang 3'52''
Not Ready For Your Love Sin Fang 3'52''
Lost Girls Sin Fang 4'16''
I Want You To Know Sin Fang 3'48''
Never Let Me Go (feat. Sóley) Sin Fang 4'12''
Please Don't (feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'38''
Branch Sin Fang 3'40''
Snowblind Sin Fang 3'10''
Down (feat. Jfdr) Sin Fang 4'45''
Clangour In Space Sin Fang 4'03''
Two Boys In Space Sin Fang 4'00''
Walk With You In Space Sin Fang 4'46''
X.O.R. (Feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'22''
Candyland (feat. Jónsi) Sin Fang 3'52''
Not Ready For Your Love Sin Fang 3'52''
Lost Girls Sin Fang 4'16''
I Want You To Know Sin Fang 3'48''
Never Let Me Go (feat. Sóley) Sin Fang 4'12''
Please Don't (feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'38''
Branch Sin Fang 3'40''
Snowblind Sin Fang 3'10''
Down (feat. Jfdr) Sin Fang 4'45''

Nice as well:

Fenster The Pink Caves Morr Music
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Orcas Orcas Morr Music
LP (color vinyl): 11,24 € 14,99 €
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
It's A Musical The Music Makes Me Sick Morr Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
LP: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Dump I Can Hear Music Morr Music
2CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
3LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
incl. instant DL
Slow Steve Adventures Morr Music
LP: 11,99 € 15,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL

Sin Fang

Spaceland

Morr Music morr 149-cd
  • LP+12" : Ltd. Edition - Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Gloss, incl. printed inner Sleeves + Bonus 12"EP "Space Echoes"
  • LP : Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Gloss, incl. printed inner Sleeve
  • CD : 6 Panel Digifile with Spot Gloss
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Auf seinem vierten Soloalbum lässt Sindri Már Sigfússon, besser bekannt als Sin Fang, die analogen Wurzeln der Vorgänger hinter sich und driftet durch "Spaceland": Ein elektrisiertes, Bling-infiziertes Popuniversum. Es ist unverkennbar Sin Fang's Interpretation von zeitgenössischem Pop und R&B: ein Sound, zu dem der Isländer kein Blatt vor den Mund nimmt, sich in Abgründe wirft und dabei auf Unterstützung von Gästen wie Jónsi, Sóley, Jófríður Ákadóttir (Pascal Pinon) und Farao zählen kann.

100% zeitgenössisch und zutiefst persönlich klingt dieser Electro-Pop-Entwurf, der trotz seiner Leichtigkeit näher am Dirty South liegt als am nördlichen Wendekreis: Aufgenommen zwischen L.A. und Reykjavík, wirken diese Songs wie Tagebucheinträge, die als Billboard-News verpackt sind.

"Spaceland" ist aber auch eine vertonte Selbsttherapie, die dank neuer (elektronischer) Produktionsansätze überraschend eingängig daherkommt. Düstere Geständnisse treffen auf elektrifizierte Leichtigkeit, auf Euphorie aus zischenden Hi-Hats und bogenförmigem Bassdruck. "Ein Großteil der Texte ist entstanden, nachdem ich angefangen hatte, unter diesen Panikattacken zu leiden“", erzählt der Isländer, der sich mit dem Titel auf seine Stimmung in jenen Tagen bezieht, als er "das Gefühl hatte, die ganze Zeit über sterben zu müssen".

In erster Linie am Klavier komponiert, im Alleingang aufgenommen und produziert (mit etwas Unterstützung von Jónsi & Alex), verfolgt Sin Fang damit einen Ansatz weiter, der auf seinem neuen Gangly-Projekt erstmals zu hören war: Gleich im verträumten Eröffnungsstück "Candyland" setzt er auf federleichte Arrangements mit satter Bass-Unterfütterung. Auch "Not Ready For Your Love" basiert auf dieser vom aktuellen R&B entliehenen Art der Betonung, auf diesem vermeintlichen Clash, wenn Sindri die Titelzeile immer wieder singt: Zuckersüße Absage über synthetischen Feelgood-Sounds.

Das entwurzelte "Lost Girl" oszilliert zwischen Minimalismus und Experiment, zwischen Introspektion und vertontem Licht, während die Gesangsmelodien von "I Want You To Know" einerseits klassisch nach Sin Fang klingen, aber dabei eine Gänsehaut hinterlassen wie einst "Cry Me A River“". Seine alte Seabear-Bandkollegin Sóley unterstützt ihn beim epischen (Antimigräne-)Popsong "Never Let Me Go", woraufhin auch die Norwegerin Farao im Land der Loops auftaucht: Zusammen haben sie das sprunghaft-epische "Please Don't" aufgenommen, dessen Arrangement unter den Gesangsschichtungen wie ein aufbrechender Gletscher wirkt. Abschließend gibt's noch mehr verspielte Beats ("Branches“"), mehr Weite ("Snowblind") und schließlich eine Art Heimkehr: Das abschließende "Down" feat. JFDR (Jófríður Ákadóttir) klingt wie ein Hoffnungsschimmer, der am Horizont auftaucht.

Entfernt man sich zu weit von der Sonne, kann's unglaublich kalt da draußen (und drinnen) werden – dunkel und kalt; aber die Schwerelosigkeit kann einen auch an vollkommen neue Orte verschlagen. Sin Fang war an einem solchen Ort – jetzt ist er zurück mit "Spaceland".

Sin Fang: Spaceland

LP+12"
CD/LP
Candyland (feat. Jónsi) Sin Fang 3'52''
Not Ready For Your Love Sin Fang 3'52''
Lost Girls Sin Fang 4'16''
I Want You To Know Sin Fang 3'48''
Never Let Me Go (feat. Sóley) Sin Fang 4'12''
Please Don't (feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'38''
Branch Sin Fang 3'40''
Snowblind Sin Fang 3'10''
Down (feat. Jfdr) Sin Fang 4'45''
Clangour In Space Sin Fang 4'03''
Two Boys In Space Sin Fang 4'00''
Walk With You In Space Sin Fang 4'46''
X.O.R. (Feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'22''
Candyland (feat. Jónsi) Sin Fang 3'52''
Not Ready For Your Love Sin Fang 3'52''
Lost Girls Sin Fang 4'16''
I Want You To Know Sin Fang 3'48''
Never Let Me Go (feat. Sóley) Sin Fang 4'12''
Please Don't (feat. Farao) Sin Fang 3'38''
Branch Sin Fang 3'40''
Snowblind Sin Fang 3'10''
Down (feat. Jfdr) Sin Fang 4'45''

Auch schön:

Fenster The Pink Caves Morr Music
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Orcas Orcas Morr Music
LP (color vinyl): 11,24 € 14,99 €
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
It's A Musical The Music Makes Me Sick Morr Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
LP: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Dump I Can Hear Music Morr Music
2CD: 4,00 € 7,99 €
3LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
incl. instant DL
Slow Steve Adventures Morr Music
LP: 11,99 € 15,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL