Don't Ever Listen

Morr Music morr 140
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Since initiating her solo career in 2010 with the EP Theater Island, Sóley Stefánsdóttir has proven to be relentless in terms of both versatility and productivity. Her third EP Don't Ever Listen shortly follows her sophomore album Ask The Deep, released through Morr Music in the spring of 2015. Don't Ever Listen collects five intimate pieces that were originally recorded as demos for Ask The Deep, but dismissed by Sóley because she wanted the album to feature fewer guitar sounds. As with her two EPs before – in 2014 she had re-released Krómantik, a collection of piano instrumentals – Sóley takes the format as an opportunity to explore new sides to her unique talents.

The songs on Don't Ever Listen have been either recorded on the Irish island Inis Oirr or in Sóley's home in Iceland during the year 2012. Having just moved houses, she needed to opt for a more provisional solution as her studio hadn't been fully set up. This allowed for a more lo-fi, undoubtedly charming atmosphere and even gave Sóley's feline flatmate Tóa a place in the spotlight: As the only guest on the EP, it contributed a few well-pitched meows to the EP's title track. While the dense piano ballad "I Will Find You" clearly evokes the aesthetics of Ask The Deep and "N.Y. Hotel" – the first cover Sóley has ever recorded – carefully re-interprets The Knife's brittle original, the three other pieces on Don't Ever Listen rely heavily on minimalistic guitar melodies.

Having always been turning her shortcomings into qualities – Sóley's choice to not sing in her native language grants her more artistic freedom and generates meaning through happy accidents – the Icelandic songwriter takes the chance to devote herself to an instrument she admits she has not fully mastered yet. The result however is far from modest. The instrumental minimalism leaves more room for Sóley's voice, which is often multiplied and manipulated in perfect symbiosis to her lyrics which revolve around themes of longing, fear and of course the occasional ghost.

Considering her unmatched productivity, it comes as no surprise that Sóley is also planning two other EPs focusing on other instruments – accordion and organ respectively – which will form a trilogy with Krómantik.

Sóley: Don't Ever Listen

N.Y. Hotel Sóley 2'44''
Wedding Sóley 3'10''
While I Sleep (Scary Adventures) Sóley 2'01''
Don't Ever Listen Sóley 2'00''
I Will Find You Sóley 3'25''

Nice as well:

Pascal Pinon Sundur Morr Music
LP: 15,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ela Orleans Circles Of Upper And Lower Hell Night School
2LP: 21,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley Ask the Deep Morr Music
LP: 16,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley We Sink Morr Music
2LP: 18,99 €
CD: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley Krómantík Morr Music
CDEP: 13,99 €
10”: 15,99 €
incl. instant DL

Sóley

Don't Ever Listen

Morr Music morr 140
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Seit sie im Jahr 2010 mit der EP Theater Island ihre Solokarriere begann, zeigte sich Sóley Stefánsdóttir unnachgiebig vielseitig und produktiv. Ihre dritte EP Don't Ever Listen folgt in nur kurzem Abstand auf ihr zweites Album Ask The Deep, das im Frühjahr 2015 über Morr Music veröffentlicht wurde. Don't Ever Listen versammelt fünf intime Stücke, die ursprünglich als Demos für Ask The Deep aufgenommen, von Sóley jedoch verworfen wurden, weil sie sich mit dem Album auf weniger Gitarrenklänge konzentrieren wollte. Wie auf ihren vorigen beiden EPs – 2014 veröffentlichte sie Krómantik wieder, eine Sammlung von instrumentellen Klavierstücken – nutzt Sóley das Format als eine Möglichkeit, neue Facetten ihres einzigartigen Könnens zu erforschen.

Die Songs auf Don't Ever Listen wurden im Jahr 2012 entweder auf der irischen Insel Inis Oirr oder in Sóleys Haus in Island aufgenommen. Nachdem Sóley kurz zuvor umgezogen war, musste sie auf eine provisorische Lösung zurückgreifen, solange ihr Heimstudio noch nicht voll eingerichtet war. So entstand eine zweifellos charmante Lo-Fi-Atmosphäre und sogar Sóleys pelziger Mitbewohnerin Tóa wurde ein Platz im Rampenlicht eingeräumt: Als einziger Gast auf der EP trug die Katze ihr wohlgestimmtes Miauen zum Titelsong der EP bei. Während die getragene Klavierballade "I Will Find You" deutlich die Ästhetik von Ask The Deep evoziert und "N.Y. Hotel" – das erste jemals von Sóley aufgenommene Cover –das spröde Original von The Knife behutsam neu interpretiert, stützen sich die drei anderen Stücke stark auf minimalistische Gitarrenmelodien.

Hatte sie ihre Unzulänglichkeiten schon immer in Stärken verwandelt – Sóleys Entscheidung, nicht in ihrer Muttersprache zu singen, erlaubt ihr mehr künstlerische Freiheiten und den einen oder anderen glücklichen Zufall – nutzt die isländische Songwriterin nun die Gelegenheit, sich einem Instrument zu widmen, das sie eigenen Aussagen nach nicht vollständig beherrscht. Das Ergebnis jedoch fällt alles andere als bescheiden aus. Der instrumentelle Minimalismus lässt mehr Platz für Sóleys Stimme, die in perfekter Symbiose mit ihren lyrischen Themen von Sehnsucht, Angst und dem gelegentlichen Geist verdoppelt und bearbeitet wird.
Angesichts ihrer unvergleichlichen Produktivität überrascht es kaum, dass Sóley bereits zwei weitere EPs plant, die den Schwerpunkt auf bestimmte Instrumente – Akkordeon und Orgel – legen und gemeinsam mit Krómantik eine Trilogie bilden werden.

Sóley: Don't Ever Listen

N.Y. Hotel Sóley 2'44''
Wedding Sóley 3'10''
While I Sleep (Scary Adventures) Sóley 2'01''
Don't Ever Listen Sóley 2'00''
I Will Find You Sóley 3'25''

Auch schön:

Pascal Pinon Sundur Morr Music
LP: 15,99 €
CD: 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ela Orleans Circles Of Upper And Lower Hell Night School
2LP: 21,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley Ask the Deep Morr Music
LP: 12,74 € 16,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley We Sink Morr Music
2LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Sóley Krómantík Morr Music
CDEP: 7,00 € 13,99 €
10”: 8,00 € 15,99 €
incl. instant DL