incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Too Many Trees In The Forest
Classical music and Jazz meet buzzing Electronica. Takeo Toyama was born in Osaka, Japan, in 1965. His classical influence is owed to his mother who would listen to Beethoven and Chopin at any given opportunity. Coming from a Rock/ Pop background rather (Takeo was singing and playing in various punk-, soul- and rockbands) the learned pianist soon discovered the world of pure instrumental sounds. His first remixes were for the well-known japanese producer and label boss Nobukazo Takemura. 1998 saw the release of Toyama’s first solo album „Ground Piano“ (Current Label), for which he recorderd almost all the instruments himself.
Discordant harmonies and fast changing beats are the trademark of Takeo’s sound variations. Right now what he’s becoming more and more known for throughout Europe are his digital compositions for analogue instruments. Electronic transformation and fancy feats were the characteristics of Toyama's first release, "Hello 88", on Karaoke Kalk (2003). The album had already been released on Japan Overseas (a label which unfortunately doesn't exist anymore) in 2001. An extra track, "Lithium", was added to the Karaoke Kalk re-release. The album received overwhelmingly good feedback both in Japan and Europe. The highlight of the album are the vocal parts that remind very much on the Beach Boys and prove Takeo's great affinity for pop music. After recording five full-length albums he has now started to arrange tracks for various artists, TV shows and animations. He is also in great demand as a composer for modern dance choreographies.
The licensed "Hello 88" was followed by several other releases on Karaoke Kalk, e.g. "Der Meteor", an exclusive track for the first Kalk Seeds compilation (2005) and "Bobbin" on Kalk Seeds 2 (2008), a track that can be heard on his most recent longplayer "Etudes", too. 2005 Takeo went on tour together with several other Karaoke Kalk artists, playing 16 shows in 8 different countries. Furthermore he contributed in the Remix album "Versions of The Prepared Piano" (2007) which collects various interpretations of tracks from the album "The Prepared Piano" by Hauschka. Toyama chose the track "Kein Wort" and transformed it into his own version "Kotoba Naku".
Takeo Toyama's songs sound very cheerful as if they were made for some sort of amusing sunday afternoon cartoon. But despite their gay whistles the compositions drift into saturnine realms too sometimes, awaking the evil monster in a classic silent movie. His new release, "Etudes", presents itself very dynamic and with an extraordinary spectrum of sounds: piano, melodica, strings, accordion. This album too has been previously released on Japan Overseas (2003). Taeo has always used a great number of instruments for his little willful orchestra. The catchy melodies are flattering the ears but for short, before explosive and melancholic thunderstorms pierce the mind. Recurring structures don't materialize. Takeo tells us his little stories in a kind of blue and very authentic manner, browsing all the different worlds of international sound-design.

Takeo Toyama: Etudes

Tremolo Takeo Toyama 4'14''
Gauche Takeo Toyama 8'01''
Drawing Takeo Toyama 38''
Leo Takeo Toyama 4'36''
Bobbin (Album Version) Takeo Toyama 2'31''
Troll Takeo Toyama 4'15''
Odd Takeo Toyama 3'22''
Hectopascal Takeo Toyama 5'20''
Drops Takeo Toyama 2'39''
Tuner Takeo Toyama 4'55''
Stitch Takeo Toyama 5'43''
The Ugly Girl Takeo Toyama 4'30''

Nice as well:

It's A Musical For Years And Years Morr Music
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
ISAN Salamander Morr Music
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Rayon Il Collo e la Collana / Libanon Alien Transistor
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Saroos Return Alien Transistor
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Múm Smilewound Morr Music
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL

Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Too Many Trees In The Forest
Klassik und Jazz trifft auf fiepsige Elektronik. Takeo Toyama wurde 1965 in Osaka, Japan geboren. Den klassischen Einfluss verdankt Takeo seiner Mutter, die zu jeder Gelegenheit Beethoven und Chopin hörte. Ursprünglich kommt der gelernte Pianist aus dem Rock- und Popbereich. Er sang und spielte selbst in diversen Punk- Soul und Rockbands. Doch schon bald entdeckte er für sich die instrumentale Klangwelt. Die ersten Remixe bearbeitete er für den bekannten japanischen Produzenten und Labelmacher Nobukazu Takemura. 1998 erschien Toyamas erstes Soloalbum „Ground Piano" (Current Label) auf dem er fast alle Instrumente selbst einspielte.
Disharmonische Akkorde und schneller Rhythmuswechsel sind die Markenzeichen von Takeos Sound-Variationen. Sein digitales Komponieren für analoge Instrumente machen ihn nun auch europaweit bekannt. Elektronische Verfremdung und schrille Spielereien gab es zum Beispiel 2003 auf Toyamas ersten Karaoke Kalk Release „Hello 88“ zu hören. Diese wurde bereits 2001 auf "Japan Overseas" veröffentlicht, einem Label was heute leider nicht mehr existiert. Auf der Karaoke Wiederveröffentlichung gab es zusätzlich den Bonus Track '“Lithium“ zu hören. Die Platte erhielt auch in Europa ausschließlich positive Kritik. Als Höhepunkt gibt es Gesangsparts, die an die Beach Boys erinnern und sowieso liebt der Japaner Popmusik. Nach insgesamt fünf Studioalben profitieren nun auch andere Menschen von seiner künstlerischen Fähigkeit. Er arrangiert Stücke für diverse Sänger, TV-Shows und Animationen. Auch für Tanz- und Choreographien wird der Komponist immer und gerne gebucht.

Nach dem Lizenzieren von „Hello 88“ folgten weitere Beiträge auf Karaoke Kalk. Da wäre zunächst „Der Meteor“, ein exklusiver Track für die erste Kalk Seeds-Compilation (2005). 2008 folgte mit „Bobbin“ ein weiteres Stück auf Kalk Seeds 2, das jetzt auch auf seinem aktuellen Longplayer „Etudes“ zu hören ist. 2005 ging es mit anderen Karaoke Kalk-Künstlern auf eine ausgedehnte Live-Tour. Dabei spielte Takeo 16 Konzerte in 8 Ländern. Des weiteren gibt es von ihm einen Songbeitrag auf der Remix CD "Versions Of The Prepared Piano". Dabei handelt es sich um eine Zusammenstellung aus dem Jahre 2007, diverser Interpretationen des Künstlers Hauschka. Toyama selbst mixte das Original „Kein Wort“ in seine Version „Kotoba Naku“ um.
Takeo Toyamas Songs klingen fröhlich, wie geschaffen für einen unterhaltsamen Trickfilm am Sonntagnachmittag. Trotz allerlei heiteren Flöten-Tönen gleiten die Kompositionen gerne auch in düstere Gefilde und erwecken das böse Monster in einem Horror-Stummfilm-Klassiker. Sehr dynamisch präsentiert der Japaner seine neuste Veröffentlichung „Etudes“ 2008 mit einem außergewöhnlichem Klangspektrum. Piano, Melodika, Streicher, Akkordeon. Die Platte erschien bereits 2003, ebenfalls auf dem Label "Japan Overseas". Takeo benutzte schon immer viele Instrumente für sein kleines, eigenwilliges Orchester. Die gängigen Melodien umschmeicheln nur für kurze Zeit die entspannten Ohren bevor das explosive und melancholische Donnerwetter das Hirn durchbohrt. Sich wiederholende Strukturen bleiben aus. Traurig und sehr authentisch erzählt uns Takeo seine kleinen Geschichten und durchstöbert dabei die verschiedenen Welten des internationalen Sound-Designs.

Takeo Toyama: Etudes

Tremolo Takeo Toyama 4'14''
Gauche Takeo Toyama 8'01''
Drawing Takeo Toyama 38''
Leo Takeo Toyama 4'36''
Bobbin (Album Version) Takeo Toyama 2'31''
Troll Takeo Toyama 4'15''
Odd Takeo Toyama 3'22''
Hectopascal Takeo Toyama 5'20''
Drops Takeo Toyama 2'39''
Tuner Takeo Toyama 4'55''
Stitch Takeo Toyama 5'43''
The Ugly Girl Takeo Toyama 4'30''
The Dodos Individ Morr Music
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
ASUNA Tide Ripples Home Normal
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Feels Feels Castle Face
LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €