The Boats

Songs By The Sea

The Boats Archive BTSARCLP001
  • 2LP: Gatefold Sleeve, Edition of 150 copies
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
The Boats’ gorgeous debut album Songs By The Sea [2004] turns up on vinyl!

Scrolling thru the mists of time to 2004, a very different world indeed, and The Boats formed as an outlet for Kraftwerk-addicted composer Andrew Hargreaves and his pal, Craig Tattersall, fresh from a decade spent with cult post-rock group Hood and as half of The Remote Viewer, to pursue the ideas of post-rock, modern classical and lo-fi electronica along more intimate, personalised ginnels of folk and ambient music, with the cherry on their home-baked treats provided by vocals from another close friend, Elaine Reynolds.

Songs By The Sea was their wistful and charmingly humble introduction to the world; ten tracks balancing exquisitely pop-wise songwriting with gently pulsing, elusive electronics and a patina of crackle that became a real signature of their sound long before everyone else cottoned on and starting putting out pale imitations.

We don’t want to gush about it too much but, listening to it now, and on a format the album always quietly yearned for, it’s just chokingly nostalgic in its own, low-key and endearing style and leaves little doubt in our minds that Songs By The Sea is one of the finest ambient-pop records to emerge from this region.

The Boats: Songs By The Sea

Lessley The Boats
It's Not Your Fault (It's How Air Works) The Boats
And There Are Stars That Fell From The Sky The Boats
You Run Circles Around Me The Boats
All Thumbs and Thumbs The Boats
A Volume Of Typefaces The Boats
Names On A Map The Boats
I Only Missed By One Word The Boats
I Ignore All My Friends The Boats
Kind Regards The Boats
You + Your D. Metal Friend Sonnier Alien Transistor
LP: €14,24 €18,99
incl. instant DL
Emptyset Skin Thrill Jockey
EP: €11,24 €14,99
Manas III Feeding Tube
LP: €19,49 €25,99
The Go Find Brand New Love Morr Music
LP: €7,49 €9,99
CD: €5,00 €9,99
incl. instant DL