The Year Of

Slow Days

Morr Music morr 066-cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
A soft humming. A clarinet from a distance. Disconnected sounds, searching, waiting. With “Mantra” “Slow Days” begins as expected - at least with regard to this line up. Bernhard Fleischmann, Christof Kurzmann, Burkhard Stangl (here as Paul Kling), Martin Siewert and Werner Dafeldecker are all together experimentalists of beats and sounds, trained in post-Jazz and improvisation, noisy, fragile, encoded. It sounds exactly like that what people like to call art. And in Vienna one is able to achieve this in a very special, hearty way.
“Slow Days” has actually become a hearty, heart-warming record. A pop album, that certainly is a small surprise. Already the polymorph “mantra” finishes after one and a half minutes in a songwriter's intimacy.
The five have already left a slight presentiment on Bernhard Fleischmann's album “Welcome tourist” (Morr 2003), “take your time” was the name of the track. “sleep” was another track on “Welcome tourist”, an electronic track back then, garnished only with Christof Kurzmann's voice. For “slow days” it has become a chamber music inspirited country song, a chamber that permits a view on the sunset, with fainting guitars, a vibraphone, with warm distortions. “Don't get me wrong, it's just a song“ sings Christof Kurzmann very close to your ear. Maybe it is even closer than that.
“Alone” is a further longing melody, or “there's something about you“. Songs in cinemascope, wide and close, dense and open. Likeable at first sight, as are Christof Kurzmann's lyrics are already at first listening. On “Slow Days”, however, very much happens between the lines, between the arrangements. Recorded together with Christoph Amann in his Vienna-based studio one has left a lot space to that. This can be listened to within “Stephen Hawking” as well, the euphoric, accelerated track of a slow, euphorising record.

The Year Of: Slow Days

Mantra The Year Of 3'50''
There´s Something About You The Year Of 4'36''
Stephen Hawking The Year Of 3'53''
I Love You The Year Of 4'28''
Bees Be The Year Of 3'17''
Calling Sky The Year Of 14'40''
Sleep The Year Of 5'43''
Ronnie Hawkins The Year Of 3'54''
ISAN Salamander Morr Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Popnoname Surrounded by Weather Italic
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
AGF & Craig Armstrong Orlando AGF Producktion
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Mogwai Atomic Rock Action Records
2LP: 20,99 € 27,99 €
CD: 11,24 € 14,99 €

The Year Of

Slow Days

Morr Music morr 066-cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Ein leises Surren, eine entfernte Klarinette, lose Klänge, suchend, wartend. Mit "Mantra" beginnt "Slow Days" erwartungsgemäß - hinsichtlich dieser Besetzung zumindest. Bernhard Fleischmann, Christof Kurzmann, Burkhard Stangl (hier als Paul Kling), Martin Siewert und Werner Dafeldecker sind allesamt Dekonstruktivisten der Takte und der Töne, in Post-Jazz und Improvisation geschult, noisy, fragil, verschlüsselt. Kunst wird so was gerne genannt. Und in Wien bekommt man das besonders herzlichst hin.
In der Tat ist "Slow Days" eine herzliche, herzenswarme Platte geworden. Und ein Popalbum, was sicher eine kleine Überraschung ist. Bereits das polymorphe "mantra" mündet nach eineinhalb Minuten in einnehmender Songwriter-Intimität.
Eine leise Vorahnung hatten die fünf ja schon auf Bernhard Fleischmanns Album „Welcome Tourist“ (Morr 2003) hinterlassen. „take your time“ hieß damals das Stück. Auch "sleep" war bereits auf "Welcome Tourist" zu hören, noch als rein elektronischer Track, nur garniert mit Christof Kurzmanns Gesang. Für "slow days" ist daraus nun ein kammermusikalischer Countrysong geworden, eine Kammer mit Blick auf den Sonnenuntergang, mit verhallten Gitarren, einem Vibraphon, mit warmen Verzerrungen. „Don't get me wrong, it's just a song“ singt Christof Kurzmann ganz dicht an Deinem Ohr. Vielleicht ist es mehr als das.
„Alone“ ist eine weitere Sehnsuchtsmelodie, oder „there's something about you“. Lieder in Cinemascope, weit und nah, dicht und offen. Einnehmend bereits auf den ersten Blick, wie es auch Kurzmanns Lyrics bereits beim ersten Hören sind. Aber auf „Slow Days“ passiert viel zwischen den Zeilen, zwischen den Arrangements. Aufgenommen gemeinsam mit Christoph Amann in dessen Wiener Studio, hat man all dem viel Raum gelassen. Nachzuhören auch in „Stephen Hawking“, dem euphorischen, beschleunigten Stück einer entschleunigten, euphorisierenden Platte.

The Year Of: Slow Days

Mantra The Year Of 3'50''
There´s Something About You The Year Of 4'36''
Stephen Hawking The Year Of 3'53''
I Love You The Year Of 4'28''
Bees Be The Year Of 3'17''
Calling Sky The Year Of 14'40''
Sleep The Year Of 5'43''
Ronnie Hawkins The Year Of 3'54''
Gudrun Gut I Put a Record On Monika Enterprise
LP: 13,99 €
CD: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
ISAN Salamander Morr Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL