Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
An intimate overture. Woodwind instruments in a whispering dialog. With “octant” this second album of the Tied & Tickled Trio begins far away from the Storm and Stress of their self-titled debut. It begins in a mood that is typical for “EA1 EA2”, which was originally released on the small Weilheim-based label Payola in autumn 1999. Also the second track “unwohlpol” - built around an electronic pattern - spreads a calm, nearly melancholic atmosphere. Or “yolanda” with its charming piano tune, a remembrance of Eric Satie or a long autumn walk.
“EA1 EA2“ is a cool, sometimes even a calculated album. It is about reducing and pausing; less free-jazz than the debut. Like in “d.b. track” where the nervous shimmering of electronic noises flows into the warmth of a swelling trombone. “cool jazz” - that's what the press was reminded of.
In some directions “EA1 EA2” is the consequent follow-up to The Tied & Tickled Trio's self-titled first album. It isn't a minor intensive record, but it is intensive in a more introvert manner. The different influences of The Tied & Tickled Trio are clearly separated: Sensitive Jazz without fear of pleasant soundings, noisy but carefully measured electronics and the polyrhythmic drumming of Markus Acher and Casper Brandner, who had both started the Tied & Tickled Trio as a drums-only duo in 1994.
But there was also something new about the debut: “EA1 EA2“ deals with the recording studio's possibilities in a curious and open-minded way. It phrases the difference between the live and the studio situation, which from then on became a challenge for The Tied & Tickled Trio. Seven years later the band has just released film material of one of their recent concerts on their DVD “observing systems” on Morr Music as a result of this process: Their concerts are not just a reproduction of their studio recordings and vice versa.

Tied & Tickled Trio: Ea1 Ea2

Octant (Intro) Tied & Tickled Trio 1'59''
Unwohlpol Tied & Tickled Trio 3'14''
D.b. Track Tied & Tickled Trio 3'31''
Utrom Tied & Tickled Trio 5'48''
Yolanda Tied & Tickled Trio 2'36''
Van Brunt Tied & Tickled Trio 4'18''
Sevastopol Tied & Tickled Trio 3'03''
4 Pole Tied & Tickled Trio 6'18''
Numerate Tied & Tickled Trio 1'40''
Octant (Outro) Tied & Tickled Trio 2'36''
Curry Park Tied & Tickled Trio 4'42''
Monolith Tied & Tickled Trio 4'25''
Wedding Song (T+tt Remix) Tied & Tickled Trio 4'17''

Nice as well:

Tied & Tickled Trio Aelita Morr Music
CD: 7,49 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Tied & Tickled Trio Observing Systems Morr Music
CD: 4,49 € 5,99 €
incl. instant DL
ISAN Clockwork Menagerie Morr Music
2LP+7": 13,99 €
CD: 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
Pascal Pinon Pascal Pinon Morr Music
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL

Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Eine intime Overtüre, gestrichene Becken, Blasinstrumente im zarten Dialog. Mit „octant“ beginnt „EA1 EA2“ weit entfernt vom Stürmen und Drängen seines Vorgängers. Ein Motiv, dass das 1999 auf dem kleinen Weilheimer Label Payola erschiene zweite Album des Tied & Tickled Trios über weite Strecken durchzieht. Auch das auf ein elektronisches Fundament gestellte „unwohlpol“ klingt in ruhiger, manchmal fast melancholischer Atmosphäre. Oder „yolanda“ mit seinem einnehmenden Klaviermotiv, ein wenig Satie, ein langer Herbstspaziergang.
„EA1 EA2“ ist eine coole, manchmal kalkulierte Platte. Glänzte das Debüt des Tied & Tickled Trios drei Jahre zuvor noch durch seine pulsierende Komplexität der Möglichkeiten, wird nun selbstbewusst reduziert und akzentuiert. Seltener sind die Ausbrüche in die Atonalität des Freejazz geworden. Und auch das nervöse Flirren der Elektronik mündet, so in „d.b. track“, in der schlichten Schönheit eines Bläsersatzes. Immer wieder erscheinen kurze Melodien, die über die Länge der einzelnen Stücke aufmerksam moduliert werden.
So gesehen ist „EA1 EA2“ - in der Presse gerne mit „Cool Jazz“-Verweisen bedacht - die konsequente Fortsetzung des selbstbetitelten Debüts. Ein nicht minder intensives Album, wenngleich sich diese Intensität immer wieder nach innen wendet. Deutlicher separiert sind nun die Einflüsse, die Sozialisation der Band: Sensibler Jazz, der auch den Wohlklang nicht scheut. Flirrende, atmende Elektronik. Und immer wieder die nuancierten Rhythmen von Casper Brandner und Markus Acher. Schließlich hatte das Tied & Tickled Trio ja einmal als reines Schlagzeugduo angefangen. Noch immer werden die Stücke auch und vor allem von den Rhythmen und ihren Verschiebungen und Modulationen aus gedacht. Genauso sind es auf „EA1 EA“ aber die Melodien (und Melodiesätze) die lange im Ohr bleiben.
Deutlicher als sein Vorgänger ist „EA1 EA2“ von einem ausgiebigen, neugierigen Dialog mit den Möglichkeiten des Tonstudios geprägt. Heute, sieben Jahre später, ist das Tied & Tickled Trio ein Klangkollektiv, dass deutlich und bewusst zwischen den Bedingungen und Atmosphären im Tonstudio und auf der Konzertbühne unterscheidet und nicht zuletzt deshalb gerade den Konzertfilm „Observing Systems“ veröffentlicht hat.

Tied & Tickled Trio: Ea1 Ea2

Octant (Intro) Tied & Tickled Trio 1'59''
Unwohlpol Tied & Tickled Trio 3'14''
D.b. Track Tied & Tickled Trio 3'31''
Utrom Tied & Tickled Trio 5'48''
Yolanda Tied & Tickled Trio 2'36''
Van Brunt Tied & Tickled Trio 4'18''
Sevastopol Tied & Tickled Trio 3'03''
4 Pole Tied & Tickled Trio 6'18''
Numerate Tied & Tickled Trio 1'40''
Octant (Outro) Tied & Tickled Trio 2'36''
Curry Park Tied & Tickled Trio 4'42''
Monolith Tied & Tickled Trio 4'25''
Wedding Song (T+tt Remix) Tied & Tickled Trio 4'17''
X Plastaz Maasai Hip Hop OutHere Records
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Beans End It All Anticon
LP: 3,75 € 14,99 €
Static Eject Your Mind Static Music
CD: 2,50 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Wechsel Garland Dreams Become Things Strzelecki Books
LP: 4,50 € 17,99 €
incl. instant DL
FM Belfast Brighter Days World Champion Records
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL