Ulli Bomans

Sort By Dragging

Shitkatapult strike_157 cd
  • CD : Digipak incl. Booklet
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Bremen artist Ulli Bomans is releasing his second album under his real name, 'Sort by Dragging' on the Berlin-based Shitkatapult label. His debut album 'Riven' followed a long series of music productions under his alias Schieres and numerous maxis, albums, remixes and tours together with Marco Haas aka T.Raumschmiere and their band of electronic thunder experiments, Shrubbn!!. This time, the listener loses himself entirely in the gloomy, captivating worlds of sound or, better yet, cities of sound and their digital abysses. It is quite spooky, at times sinister and implies (songs of) the homeland, completely in line with Fritz Lang. Metropolis, only this time in a modern, more modest form, an understanding of traces, excerpts, transcripts from microcosms, which then seem absolutely harmonious and tempered to a strange well-being. All at once, very clear parallels emerge – to the art, images, sculptures, the understanding of his sculptural and visual art, which takes him from Bremen to Detroit and back.

Bomans clears the way with the opening track 'Detroit Tape Noise' as the gloomy intro of noises, clicks and wall of sound is soon followed by a distant beat that functions more as a moving wall than as a drum pattern. Sounds are created from noise, rhythm from the recovery of movement, as manipulation, and somehow become condensed into a track, a song that is not without melody, resonating like an alarm in an ocean of noise. Sound as travesty and music as work that does not feed on software and function. In 'Cheap Seats' we even encounter a real drumbeat, which somehow drags and pushes a Vermona home organ sound into the echo loop and somehow suffers wonderfully. 'One Piece Missing' then brings a clear piano voice into this world of sound, embedding the tradition as if into a painting. It sways very beautifully, that beautiful noise.

This wonderful record dangles and hangs through a time of the signs, a sound forest, a city, a story, an image. 'Screensaver' then ends the nightmare of sound with ringing and roaring under a piano voice that is strangely amazing on top of the sinus bass. It is an immense record.

Ulli Bomans: Sort By Dragging

Detroit Tape Noize Ulli Bomans 2'56''
Leech With A Deed Ulli Bomans 3'22''
Nicotine Ulli Bomans 3'26''
Parents Ulli Bomans 3'04''
Truth Or Dare Ulli Bomans 3'41''
Sort By Dragging Ulli Bomans 3'53''
Sweep Your Floor Ulli Bomans 3'30''
Cheap Seats Ulli Bomans 3'05''
One Piece Missing Ulli Bomans 3'16''
Tumble Dry Wet Ulli Bomans 3'10''
Browser Ulli Bomans 3'37''
Perfect Picture Puzzle Ulli Bomans 1'25''
Screensaver Ulli Bomans 4'47''

Nice as well:

Various Artists Soundscape Versions 02 Soundscape Versions
12”: 4,50 € 8,99 €
incl. instant DL
Andy Stott Too Many Voices Modern Love
2LP: 24,99 €
CD: 18,99 €
Mogwai Atomic Rock Action Records
2LP: 20,99 € 27,99 €
CD: 11,24 € 14,99 €
James Welburn Hold Miasmah Recordings
LP: 15,99 €
CD: 15,99 €
incl. instant DL

Ulli Bomans

Sort By Dragging

Shitkatapult strike_157 cd
  • CD : Digipak incl. Booklet
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Der Bremer Künstler Ulli Bomans veröffentlicht auf dem Berliner Label Shitkatapult mit "Sort by Dragging" sein zweites Album unter seinem eigentlichen Namen. Das Debut Album "Riven" folgte einer langen Reihe von Musikproduktionen unter seinem Alias Schieres, sowie diverser Maxis, Alben, Remixe und Touren gemeinsam mit Marco Haas aka T.Raumschmiere und ihrer Band elektronischer Donner-Experimente Shrubbn!!. Diesmal verliert der Hörer sich gänzlich in düster verzauberten Klangwelten, oder besser, Klangstädten und deren digitalen Abgründen. Schön schaurig ist das und mitunter unheimlich und versteht Heimat(melodien) ganz im Sinne von Fritz Lang. Metropolis nur diesmal in einer moderneren, bescheideneren Art, einem Verständnis von Spuren, Ausschnitten, Abschriften aus Mikrokosmen, die dann auch durchaus mal harmonisch wirken und bizarres Wohlfühlen temperiert. So ergibt sich auf einmal eine ganz klare Parallele zu der Kunst, den Bildern, den Skulpturen, dem Verständnis seiner Bildenden und Visuellen Kunst, die ihn von Bremen nach Detroit führt und zurück.

Mit dem Opener "Detroit Tape Noise" legt Ulli Bomans gleich die Spuren frei, denn dem düsteren Intro aus Rauschen, Knacksern, Wall of Sound folgt gleich ein in sich entfernter Beat, der mehr als sich bewegende Wand funktioniert, denn als Drum Pattern. Hier entsteht Klang aus Geräusch, Rhythmus aus Bergung von Bewegung, als Manipulation und verdichtet sich dann doch irgendwie zu einem Track, einem Song, der auch auf eine Melodie nicht verzichtet, die wie ein Alarm in einem Meer aus Rauschen ertönt. Klang als Zerrbild und Musik als Werk, das sich nicht aus Software und Funktion speist. Bei "Cheap Seats" treffen wir dann sogar doch noch auf einen richtigen Drum Beat, der irgendwie schleppt und einen Vermona-Heimorgel Sound in die Echoschleifen schiebt und irgendwie wunderbar kränkelt. "One Piece Missing" bringt dann auch gleich noch eine klare Klavier Stimme in diese Tonwelt ein und bettet so die Tradition wie in ein Gemälde, sehr schön schwingt das. Das schöne Rauschen.

So baumelt und hangelt sich eine wunderbare Platte durch eine Zeit der Zeichen, einen Tonwald, eine Stadt, eine Geschichte, ein Bild. "Screensaver" beendet dann klingelnd und dröhnend den Klangspuk unter eine Klavier Stimme, die sich merkwürdig toll auf den Sinus Bass legt. Große Sache diese Platte.

Ulli Bomans: Sort By Dragging

Detroit Tape Noize Ulli Bomans 2'56''
Leech With A Deed Ulli Bomans 3'22''
Nicotine Ulli Bomans 3'26''
Parents Ulli Bomans 3'04''
Truth Or Dare Ulli Bomans 3'41''
Sort By Dragging Ulli Bomans 3'53''
Sweep Your Floor Ulli Bomans 3'30''
Cheap Seats Ulli Bomans 3'05''
One Piece Missing Ulli Bomans 3'16''
Tumble Dry Wet Ulli Bomans 3'10''
Browser Ulli Bomans 3'37''
Perfect Picture Puzzle Ulli Bomans 1'25''
Screensaver Ulli Bomans 4'47''

Auch schön:

Various Artists Soundscape Versions 02 Soundscape Versions
12”: 4,50 € 8,99 €
incl. instant DL
Andy Stott Too Many Voices Modern Love
2LP: 24,99 €
CD: 18,99 €
James Welburn Hold Miasmah Recordings
LP: 15,99 €
CD: 15,99 €
incl. instant DL