Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
It’s never easy to end things. Not for me, not for you, and not for musicians, either. It is an under appreciated discipline for bands to bid farewell to the costumes and habits that they once held dear and to break new ground in opposite directions. When the first demo cassette by Cologne’s Urban Homes was released in early 2011, the four songs constituted a blend of the musicians’ former musical projects, like Yage, PTTRNS, and Airpeople – a lot of what had been special and sophisticated in Punk and Hardcore in the Rhine region over the past 13 years. Measured by that, »Centres« is a revolution, a document of the band’s astute awareness and high standards.
“The change came when our drummer left the city for several months,” the band explains, describing the beginning of the process that resulted in the changes that lead to »Centres«. As a reaction to their drummer’s professional hiatus, Urban Homes decided to start from scratch with a Roland TR-707 drum machine. Shaped and influenced by ever changing musical predilections, the group developed a style that drew influence from house music, dub, kraut rock, balearic, and disco – a sound that is complex and structured, but powerful when performed live. Because of this, »Centres« resembles a producer-record, yet it comes from a band that is rooted in the guitar underground, a design that is comparable to what bands such as Supersystem, !!! and The Rapture did to North American post-punk.
The individual tracks on »Centres« provide hints to the band’s development process. “Full Trance Effect”, with its acoustic drum set, can be considered a relic of the early days. The record’s final track, “Untitled Luv,” is a spacey and slow growing eleven-minute rave, which brings together all of the group’s influences, marking the boundary for a house-music sound that can actually be played as a band. At this point, »Centres« fully abandons classic song structure and embraces the dynamics of electronic music, a sound that is clever, ingrained in a tradition, and imperative in its consequence.

Urban Homes: Centres

Ivory Tower Guard Urban Homes 5'01''
Aurora Urban Homes 6'55''
Ayran Gifbek Mersi Urban Homes 6'13''
Full Trance Effect Urban Homes 6'16''
Untitled Luv Urban Homes 11'07''
Teen The Way And Color Carpark
2LP: 9,50 € 18,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €
ISAN Greencracked / Catgot A Number Of Small Things
7”: 2,50 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL
FM Belfast Underwear A Number Of Small Things
7”: 2,50 € 4,99 €
incl. instant DL
Signer Next We Bring You The Fire Carpark
LP: 7,50 € 14,99 €

Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Schluss machen ist nie einfach. Nicht für mich, nicht für dich, auch nicht für Musiker mit ihrer Musik. Deshalb ist es für Bands eine unterschätzte Königsdisziplin, mit liebgewonnenen Gewohnheiten zu brechen und konsequent in eine entgegengesetzte Richtung zu gehen. Als das erste Tape des Kölner Quartetts Urban Homes 2011 erschien, waren die vier darauf enthaltenen Songs noch eher ein Querschnitt der vorherigen Bands der Musiker: Yage, PTTRNS, Airpeople – also viel von dem, was an (Post-)Hardcore und -Punk aus der rheinischen Region in den letzten 13 Jahren fein und besonders war. Gemessen daran ist »Centres« eine Revolution, ein Dokument der wachen Auseinandersetzung und des hohen Anspruchsdenkens dieser Band.
»Der Umbruch kam, als unser Schlagzeuger für ein halbes Jahr wegzog«, beschreiben sie den Ursprung dessen, was nun mit »Centres« seinen (vorläufigen) Schlusspunkt erhält. Urban Homes packten als Reaktion auf die berufsbedingte Auszeit ihres Drummers einen Roland TR-707 Drum-Computer aus und wagten einen Neuanfang. Geprägt durch sich verändernde musikalische Vorlieben entwickelte die Band einen fein ziselierten, federnden House-Sound mit Dub-, Krautrock-, Balearic- und Disco-Einflüssen, der komplex klingt, aber auch live seine Kraft nicht verlieren soll. Deshalb ist »Centres« ein Album, das einer Producer-Platte ähnelt, das aber von einer Band mit Wurzeln im Gitarren-Underground kommt und konzertiert wird. Eine Entwicklung, die vergleichbar ist mit dem, was Bands wie Supersystem, !!! oder The Rapture Mitte des letzten Jahrzehnts für den Postpunk Nordamerikas einläuteten – nur noch konsequenter.
Sogar die einzelnen Songs auf »Centres« geben Hinweise auf den Entwicklungsprozess der Band. Während »Full Trance Effect« mit seinem analogen Schlagzeugspiel noch Relikte der Anfangsphase aufweist, ist »Untitled Luv«, das Schlussstück des Albums, ein sich in seiner spacigen Überdrehtheit langsam zuspitzender elfminütiger Quasi-Rave, der alle Einflüsse der Band zusammenbringt und einen Grenzpunkt markiert für einen House-Sound, den eine Band gemeinsam einspielen kann. Hier verabschiedet sich »Centres« vollends von Hooklines und Hymnen und taucht ein in eine Dynamik von elektronischer Musik, die gescheit ist, sich in eine Tradition einbringt und in ihrer Konsequenz zwingend ist.

Urban Homes: Centres

Ivory Tower Guard Urban Homes 5'01''
Aurora Urban Homes 6'55''
Ayran Gifbek Mersi Urban Homes 6'13''
Full Trance Effect Urban Homes 6'16''
Untitled Luv Urban Homes 11'07''
Teen Carolina Carpark
EP: 6,00 € 11,99 €
Heavy Winged Sunspotted Type
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
The Go Find Miami Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
LP: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Serengeti & Polyphonic Terradactyl Anticon
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €