Various Artists

Autopilot

Albumlabel ALB005 CD
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
A lot has changed in the way musicians, record labels and publishing houses perceive themselves since record company revenues began their steady decline. On the one hand we are pleased to see a new kind of musician – not really all that new – who bypasses several links in the so-called value chain by selling himself on the Internet. On the other hand we bemoan the fate of many record labels, distribution companies and shops that have had to shut down. These music-obsessed specialists, with their taste and expertise, have all but disappeared from the public eye, signifying the loss of the filter role that these institutions used to play. With every bankruptcy filed by a label, record shop, distribution company or music magazine comes a yet another loss of direction.

Music publishers play a special role in the ever-changing music landscape. A lot of the activities that used to be part of the core competences of record companies and artist management agencies have now been taken over by publishers. Music publishers do not sell recorded music, nor do they organize concerts. Instead they handle music rights. This puts them at the center of the discussion about copyrights and intellectual property rights in an era of digitization and the Internet. Ironically, this often goes unnoticed by the general public which, along with the artists, is ¬¬directly affected by the policies of so-called collection societies such as GEMA. In an era of dwindling revenues from music sales, the money earned by music publishers has become the main source of income for many music authors.

The music publisher AUTOPILOT, founded by Willy Schwenken and Guido Möbius in 1997 and run mainly by Möbius since 2000, will come of age this year. Originally a home base for songwriters from all over the world, the profile of the publisher has constantly evolved over the years. Möbius does not know much about the mainstream and considers the chart-worthiness of his publishing repertoire irrelevant. What is important to him is the expressiveness of the music and the personal relationship with the artist. Working in publishing leads people to think in terms of figures, track lengths and Excel tables. On the other hand, Autopilot was conceived from the beginning more as a record label – a label with a broad yet unconventional repertoire and a boss who knows his program and manages it well. The current compilation is not meant to represent the entire range of the Autopilot publishing program. It does not claim to be anything other than a good mixtape, an atmospheric collection of very different kinds of music – timeless releases together with tracks that were previously unreleased or exclusively produced for this compilation. Raise the curtain for Autopilot.

Track by Track

The dark magic of the entirely improvised concerts by the duo Air Cushion Finish can be distinctly perceived in their track Single Black Hole. They have woven a kind of industrial blues into a dense web of amplified, extraneous guitar noises. The sounds of squeaking strings and knocking on wood form a frame around singer Lippstueck’s clear falsetto.

Mesak, head of the Harmönia label and one of the key figures of the Scandinavian Skweee movement, delivers his take on Babylon’s Falling by Guido Möbius, resulting in a stoically reserved, downtempo stoner club track.

Multilayered, repetitive percussion, a sparse guitar melody and the warm voice of Lars Paukstat of Faust: not much more was needed to turn It Was Not Me into a timeless, post-Krautrock hit.

With an edit of their song Bob Ross – The Art Of Painting, Transformer Di Roboter show that they know a thing or two about contemporary club music. Bob Ross Edit is a lesson in advanced songwriting with a hook that stays in your ear for a long time. The complexity of the melodic lines and harmonies contrasts with the sound of presets and an 8-bit aesthetic.

Guitarist, composer and producer F.S. Blumm has made his mark with countless releases featuring a musical language that is entirely his own. Nils Frahm, the celebrated rising star among the new concert pianists, proves to be a like-minded partner for the Berlin native.

Andreas Otto aka Springintgut, a tireless jack-of-all-trades from northern Germany, achieves a fine equilibrium between complexity and lightness with his music. Otto is one of the partners of the Pingipung label and has developed his own instrument, the ‘Fello’, an impressive link between cello and computer.

Berlin native Sicker Man is a very busy theater musician and restless songwriter. Boo, based on cello loops and metal percussion, is one of his most captivating instrumental pieces.

The band name Mini Pops Junior is rather misleading. The duo’s music, consisting of saxophone, sparse electronics, open spaces and long pauses, is anything but cute and sounds more like a dark prophecy.

The sound of water is the predominating element in Oocyte Oil by Black To Comm. Water could also serve as a metaphor for the calmly flowing, subtly shifting music of the Hamburg musician and label boss.

Vor Büchsen is a melancholic miniature from the recent album ‘up, up and astray’ by Frank Schültge alias F.S.Blumm. Schültge masters the songwriting as well as the extensive sound landscape.

Festung by The Marble Man originally appeared on 7-inch vinyl. The drawn-out beats and guitar feedback inspired Guido Möbius to develop his rendition.

Miwon is a master of friendly, relaxed bass music. He invited Falk Nindel to his studio to play Rhodes on his previously unreleased track Shutter.

The only predictable element in the music of Adam Butler alias Vert has always been its unpredictability. After multilingual electronica and neo-ragtime, the exiled Londoner has now turned to songwriting. The melancholic And I Know is a foreshadowing of his new album, set for release on Album Label in 2015.

Various Artists: Autopilot

LP
CD
Single Black Hole Air Cushion Finish 5'45''
Boo Sicker Man 2'54''
It Was Not Me Lars Paukstat 5'15''
Lifted 2nd Take Mini Pops Junior 5'03''
Bob Ross Edit Transformer Di Roboter 3'50''
Oocyte Oil Black To Comm 4'36''
Sip Song F.S. Blumm & Nils Frahm 3'00''
Vor Büchsen F.S. Blumm 1'45''
Northface Springs Springintgut 3'05''
Festung (Guido Möbius Mix) The Marble Man 4'32''
And I Know Vert 3'58''
Single Black Hole Air Cushion Finish 5'45''
Babel In Port To Mesak Mesak & Guido Möbius 5'02''
It Was Not Me Lars Paukstat 5'15''
Bob Ross Edit Transformer Di Roboter 3'50''
Sip Song F.S. Blumm & Nils Frahm 3'00''
Northface Springs Springintgut 3'05''
Boo Sicker Man 2'54''
Lifted 2nd Take Mini Pops Junior 5'03''
Oocyte Oil Black To Comm 4'36''
Vor Büchsen F.S. Blumm 1'45''
Festung (Guido Möbius Mix) The Marble Man 4'32''
Shutter Miwon 3'49''
And I Know Vert 3'58''

Various Artists

Autopilot

Albumlabel ALB005 CD
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Seitdem die Umsätze der Tonträgerhersteller immer weiter zurückgehen, hat sich viel verändert im Selbstverständnis von Musikern, Plattenfirmen und Verlagen. Wir freuen uns einerseits über einen gar nicht mehr so neuen Typus von Musiker, der sich selbst im Internet vermarktet und damit gleich mehrere Stufen der so genannten Verwertungskette überspringt. Andererseits beklagen wir das Schicksal vieler Plattenlabel, Vertriebe und Läden, die den Betrieb einstellen mussten. Das Verschwinden von Geschmack und Kompetenz musikverrückter Spezialisten aus der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung bedeutet den Verlust der Filterfunktion, die diese Institutionen ausgeübt haben. Mit jeder Pleite eines Labels, Plattenladens, Vertriebs oder Musikmagazins geht ein Stück Orientierung verloren.

Musikverlage spielen in der sich rasant verändernden Musiklandschaft eine besondere Rolle. Viele Funktionen, die früher zu den Kernkompetenzen von Plattenfirmen und Künstlermanagements gehörten, werden heute auch von Verlagen übernommen. Musikverlage verkaufen keine Tonträger und veranstalten keine Konzerte. Sie handeln vielmehr mit Nutzungsrechten an Musik. So stehen sie im Zentrum der Diskussion über Copyright und Urheberrechte in Zeiten von Digitalisierung und Internet. Ironischerweise oft unbemerkt von der Öffentlichkeit. Ebenso sind sie - und mit ihnen die Künstler - direkt betroffen von der Politik der so genannten Verwertungsgesellschaften, etwa der GEMA. In Zeiten schwindender Umsätze durch den Verkauf von Tonträgern ist das, was Musikverlage erwirtschaften, zur Haupteinnahmequelle vieler Musikautoren geworden.

Der Musikverlag AUTOPILOT, 1997 von Willy Schwenken und Guido Möbius gegründet und seit dem Jahr 2000 hauptverantwortlich von Guido Möbius betrieben, wird in diesem Jahr volljährig. Ursprünglich ein Heimathafen vor allem für Songschreiber aus aller Herren Länder, hat sich das Profil des Verlags über die Jahre kontinuierlich weiter entwickelt. Mit dem Mainstream hatte Möbius nie viel am Hut, die Chartstauglichkeit seines Verlagsrepertoires spielt für ihn keine Rolle. Entscheidend sind für ihn ausdrucksstarke Musik und der persönliche Kontakt zum Künstler. Verlagsarbeit verleitet dazu, nur noch in Werknummern, Spieldauern und Excel-Tabellen zu denken. Autopilot hingegen war von Anfang an eher wie ein Plattenlabel gedacht. Ein Label mit einem breiten, aber eigenwilligen Repertoire und einem Boss, der sein Programm kennt und überschaubar hält. Die vorliegende Compilation soll nicht die ganze Bandbreite des Autopilot Verlagsprogramms darstellen. Sie will nichts sein als ein gutes Mixtape, eine stimmige Zusammenstellung sehr unterschiedlicher Musiken. Zeitlose Veröffentlichungen treffen auf bisher unveröffentlichte oder exklusiv für diese Compilation produzierte Tracks. Vorhang auf für Autopilot.




Stück für Stück

Die dunkle Magie der durchweg improvisierten Konzerte des Duos Air Cushion Finish wird mit dem Stück Single Black Hole besonders spürbar. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Art Industrial-Blues aus einem dichten Gewebe verstärkter Gitarren-Nebengeräusche. Quietschen von Saiten und Poltern von Holz umrahmen das klare Falsett von Sänger Lippstueck.

Mesak, Betreiber des Harmönia-Label und einer der Protagonisten der skandinavischen Skweee-Bewegung, hat sich dem Stück Babylons Falling von Guido Möbius angenommen. Entstanden ist ein stoisch-unterkühlter Downtempo-Stoner-Clubtrack.

Vielschichtige, repetitive Perkussion, eine sparsame Melodie auf der Gitarre und die warme Stimme von Faust-Mitglied Lars Paukstat - mehr braucht es nicht, um aus It Was Not Me einen zeitlosen Post-Krautrock-Hit zu machen.

Mit einem Edit ihres Songs Bob Ross – The Art Of Painting zeigen Transformer Di Roboter, dass sie nicht nur von aktueller Clubmusik etwas verstehen. Bob Ross Edit ist ein Lehrstück in fortgeschrittenem Songwriting mit einer Hookline, die einen lange Zeit nicht mehr loslässt. Die Komplexität von Melodieführung und Harmonik steht im Gegensatz zum Sound von Presets und 8-Bit-Ästhetik.

Der Gitarrist, Komponist und Produzent F.S. Blumm hat mit einer unübersehbaren Vielzahl von Veröffentlichungen eine ganz eigene Klangsprache geprägt. Nils Frahm, gefeierter shooting star unter den neuen Konzertpianisten, erweist sich als kongenialer Partner des Berliners.

Andreas Otto aka Springintgut, Nordlicht und umtriebiger Hans Dampf in vielen Gassen, gelingt mit seiner Musik scheinbar mühelos der Spagat zwischen Komplexität und Leichtigkeit. Otto ist Mitbetreiber des labels Pingipung und hat mit seinem Instrument „Fello“ ein beeindruckendes Bindeglied zwischen Cello und Computer entwickelt.

Der Berliner Sicker Man ist viel beschäftigter Theatermusiker und rastloser Songschreiber. Mit Boo hat er auf der Basis von Cello-Loops und Metallperkussion eines seiner bestechenden Instrumentalstücke geschaffen.

Der Bandname Mini Pops Junior führt in die Irre. Denn die Musik des Duos, bestehend aus Saxophon, sparsamer Elektronik, weiten Räumen und langen Pausen, ist alles andere als niedlich. Stattdessen klingt sie wie eine dunkle Prophezeiung.

Der Klang von Wasser ist in Oocyte Oil von Black To Comm beherrschendes Element. Wasser könnte auch als Metapher herhalten für die ruhig dahin fließende und subtil veränderliche Musik des Hamburger Musikers und Labelmachers.

Vor Büchsen ist eine melancholische Miniatur aus dem aktuellen Album „up, up and astray“ von Frank Schültge alias F.S.Blumm. Schültge beherrscht das Songwriting ebenso wie die raumgreifende Klanglandschaft.

Das Stück Festung von The Marble Man erschien ursprünglich auf 7inch Vinyl. Guido Möbius hat sich des Stücks angenommen, vor allem wegen des schleppenden Beats und der Gitarren-Feedbacks.

Miwon ist ein Meister freundlich entspannter Bassmusik. Für seinen bislang unveröffentlichten Track Shutter hat er sich Falk Nindel als Gast am Rhodes Piano ins Studio geholt.

Das einzige vorhersehbare Element in der Musik von Adam Butler alias Vert war schon immer ihre Unvorhersehbarkeit. Auf vielsprachige Elektronika folgte bei ihm Neo-Ragtime, nun hat sich der Exil-Londoner dem Songwriting zugewandt. Das melancholische And I Know ist Vorbote seines neuen Albums, das 2015 bei Album Label erscheinen wird.

Various Artists: Autopilot

LP
CD
Single Black Hole Air Cushion Finish 5'45''
Boo Sicker Man 2'54''
It Was Not Me Lars Paukstat 5'15''
Lifted 2nd Take Mini Pops Junior 5'03''
Bob Ross Edit Transformer Di Roboter 3'50''
Oocyte Oil Black To Comm 4'36''
Sip Song F.S. Blumm & Nils Frahm 3'00''
Vor Büchsen F.S. Blumm 1'45''
Northface Springs Springintgut 3'05''
Festung (Guido Möbius Mix) The Marble Man 4'32''
And I Know Vert 3'58''
Single Black Hole Air Cushion Finish 5'45''
Babel In Port To Mesak Mesak & Guido Möbius 5'02''
It Was Not Me Lars Paukstat 5'15''
Bob Ross Edit Transformer Di Roboter 3'50''
Sip Song F.S. Blumm & Nils Frahm 3'00''
Northface Springs Springintgut 3'05''
Boo Sicker Man 2'54''
Lifted 2nd Take Mini Pops Junior 5'03''
Oocyte Oil Black To Comm 4'36''
Vor Büchsen F.S. Blumm 1'45''
Festung (Guido Möbius Mix) The Marble Man 4'32''
Shutter Miwon 3'49''
And I Know Vert 3'58''
Fenster Bones Morr Music
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Terakaft Alone (Ténéré) OutHere Records
LP: 16,99 €
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL