Various Artists

Blue Skied An' Clear

Morr Music morr 030 dcd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
The perfect, personal mix of friends and family – few are fortunate to realise and release such a compilation. With his second, very intimate grasp of music’s status quo (after “Putting the Morr Back into Morrissey”) Thomas Morr again delves deep into his own musical history. Now that many electronic musicians begin to (re-)discover guitars and especially the clever layering of My Bloody Valentine’s finest tracks, “Blue Skied an’ Clear” presents us with a truly loving homage to all time favourites Slowdive. Their eponymous secret hit perfectly describes the label’s overall mood and direction.
After initial, unfortunately unsuccessful attempts to re-release Slowdive’s former oevre (originally put out by the legendary Creation Records), CD1 of this compilation allows label acts as well as guests (Komeit, Skanfrom, Múm etc.) to breathe new life into Shoegazing with their carefully crafted cover versions. Here long-term fans as well as new believers rediscover these damn fine songs, mingling them with their own substance while offering ample room to the ethereal, the audible silence of the originals.
Inspired by Slowdive’s output even sworn instrumentalists like I.S.A.N. unearthed hidden vocal talents and CD2, with its collection of original tracks by Morr Music artists, hints at a similar return to classic band techniques.
Amongst known favourites we spot glimpses of future releases by Populous, a young Italian pitching his clean, reduced sound against sharp Hip Hop beats, the anonymous one-man-project Guitar, a master of layering vocals (a.o. the singer of Donna Regina) and guitars over straight, simple beats, Future 3, the poppier offshoot of System (a joint effort by Dubtractor, Opiate and Acoustic) as well as the successful, well-rounded sum of selected parts of Couch, Notwist, Tied & Tickled Trio and FSK, as MS. John Soda.
Narrow-minded pidgeonholers and style purists are firmly sent back to the bench for a little extra-curricular revision – all tracks on “Blue Skied an’ Clear” bask in a touching, quiet melancholy unafraid of extraordinary beauty, telling us about those little details that can make every day life very, very special.

Various Artists: Blue Skied An' Clear

Alison Future 3 3'11''
Waves Isan 6'54''
40 Days Lali Puna 3'51''
Crazy For You Ulrich Schnauss 6'31''
Here She Comes B. Fleischmann 4'24''
Souvlaki Space Station Limp 5'18''
When The Sun Hits Solvent 3'59''
Altogether Styrofoam 3'57''
Here She Comes Skanfrom 2'29''
Cella's Dream Isan 4'42''
When The Sun Hits Komëit 3'04''
Blue Skied An' Clear Manual 5'32''
Dagger Herrmann + Kleine 4'43''
Machine Gun Múm 3'50''
Summer Haze Manual 5'11''
My Last Journey (Weather Balloon) Isan 5'56''
House Full Of Time Guitar 4'46''
Wherever You Are Ulrich Schnauss 6'38''
Fade Out Your Eyes Styrofoam 5'25''
Clijster Populous 4'22''
Stuff Future 3 3'50''
Discontinued Parts (Instr Mix) Solvent 4'02''
Leaving You Behind Herrmann + Kleine 6'32''
Take A Day Off B. Fleischmann 5'56''
Into Forever Icebreaker International & Manual 5'06''
Same, Same Komëit 4'03''
Solid Ground Ms. John Soda 3'27''
Silent Running Limp 4'34''

Various Artists

Blue Skied An' Clear

Morr Music morr 030 dcd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Das Glück, aus der Aneinanderreihung von Freunden und eigenen Acts das perfekte persönliche Mixtape zu kompilieren, bleibt nur wenigen vorbehalten. Mit dieser zweiten, sehr persönlichen Bestandsaufnahme des musikalischen Status Quo (nach „Putting the Morr Back into Morrissey“) hat Thomas Morr erneut genau zurückgehört in die eigene Musikhistorie: Zu einer Zeit, in der sich viele Elektroniker auf Gitarren und besonders My Bloody Valentines geschickte Schichtungen zurückbesinnen, schenkt uns „Blue Skied an’ Clear“ eine äußerst liebevolle Hommage an die All Time Faves Slowdive, benannt nach ihrem heimlichen Hit, der gleichzeitig treffend die Stimmung beschreibt, unter der das Label betrieben wird.
Nach ersten, leider gescheiterten Versuchen, die ursprünglich beim legendären Creation-Label erschienenen Slowdive-Alben vom Fan für Fans wieder zu veröffentlichen, dürfen auf CD1 dieser Kompilation nun Labelacts und Gäste wie Komeit, Skanfrom oder Múm dem Shoegazertum mit liebevollen Coverversionen neues Leben einhauchen, dürfen damals Dabeigewesene und Nachgewachsene diese schlichtweg feinen Songs völlig neu entdecken und sie ohne verkrampfte Elegie liebevoll mit der eigenen Substanz vermischen und dem Sphärischen, der hörbaren Stille, den verhallten Klängen neuen Raum verleihen.
Inspiriert durch diese Vorlage entdeckten selbst überzeugte Instrumentalisten wie I.S.A.N. verschüttete Gesangstalente, und auch die auf der zweiten CD vertretenen, eigenen Tracks der Morr Music Künstler deuten eine Rückbesinnung auf klassische Bandszenarien an.
Zu bekannten Größen gesellt sich hier Zukunftsmusik von Populous, einem jungen Italiener, der seinen cleanen, reduzierten Sound mit HipHop Beat verbrämt, das anonyme Ein-Mann-Projekt Guitar, der über gerade, simple Beats Stimmen (u.a. der Sängerin von Donna Regina) und Gitarren schichtet, Future 3, die pop-lastigere Variante des Gemeinschaftsprojekts System von Dubtractor, Opiate und Acoustic, sowie die gelungene, runde Summe diverser Elemente und Mitglieder von Couch, Notwist, Tied & Tickled Trio und FSK als MS. John Soda.
Schubladendenker oder Stilpuristen verweist „Blue Skied an Clear“ damit locker in die Ecke zum Nachsitzen – die hier vertretenen Tracks sonnen sich in der Vielfalt einer ruhigen Melancholie, die das Schöne, das Ergreifende nie scheut und von Dingen berichtet, die den Alltag besonders machen.

Various Artists: Blue Skied An' Clear

Alison Future 3 3'11''
Waves Isan 6'54''
40 Days Lali Puna 3'51''
Crazy For You Ulrich Schnauss 6'31''
Here She Comes B. Fleischmann 4'24''
Souvlaki Space Station Limp 5'18''
When The Sun Hits Solvent 3'59''
Altogether Styrofoam 3'57''
Here She Comes Skanfrom 2'29''
Cella's Dream Isan 4'42''
When The Sun Hits Komëit 3'04''
Blue Skied An' Clear Manual 5'32''
Dagger Herrmann + Kleine 4'43''
Machine Gun Múm 3'50''
Summer Haze Manual 5'11''
My Last Journey (Weather Balloon) Isan 5'56''
House Full Of Time Guitar 4'46''
Wherever You Are Ulrich Schnauss 6'38''
Fade Out Your Eyes Styrofoam 5'25''
Clijster Populous 4'22''
Stuff Future 3 3'50''
Discontinued Parts (Instr Mix) Solvent 4'02''
Leaving You Behind Herrmann + Kleine 6'32''
Take A Day Off B. Fleischmann 5'56''
Into Forever Icebreaker International & Manual 5'06''
Same, Same Komëit 4'03''
Solid Ground Ms. John Soda 3'27''
Silent Running Limp 4'34''