Various Artists

Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 85 CD
  • LP : Includes Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
In 1990 apartheid ended in South Africa and an election was held for a unified Germany for the first time since the Berlin Wall fell. That's a quarter of a century ago now and throughout all this time Donna Regina have made music.

„Avec le Temps“ appeared in 1990 and from then on Regina and Günther Janssen have moved with the times, as musicians and as a married couple. So far they have written and recorded 12 albums worth of material. House music in the literal sense of the word as their music has almost always taken shape at Regina and Günther's home. At first always in Cologne, in the mean time also in Berlin.

In so doing they have managed a wondrous feet: to do their thing for 25 years without ever following any trends or succumbing to hype. But their music always sounded fresh, fitting to the times and remained recognizable. This no doubt has much to do with Regina Janssen's breathy voice and Günther Janssen's light hand and his sense for the beauty of melodies. But there's something else to it. In 2007 the De:Bug magazine wrote „In this music lies sovereignty, experience, truth and yes, even such important things as defiance and pride“. That was a good observation at the time however it could easily have been said 18 years earlier and today it still holds true.

Over these 25 years Donna Regina's music has traveled all around the world: to Poland and Portugal, Argentina, Brazil and even Japan. Maybe it was the other way around: they headed out and unpacked their music where ever they were, as a gift or a sign of friendship. Now they are getting something back, for in the end cover versions are really for those who wrote the original. The tributes here come from very old as well as very new friends, from companions over many years and partners in spirit. And what they have found in Donna Regina's music and what they have done with it, that is a gift for every listener to this wonderful compilation.

Various Artists: Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By

Driving In Your Car Dean & Britta 4'51''
End Of September The National Jazz Trio Of Scotland 4'17''
Make My Nana Schlammpeitziger 4'54''
How Beautiful Chica And The Folder 4'06''
Coloured Like Ashes (Monochromie) Leichtmetall 3'42''
Lift Me Up Console 4'55''
Blue (Happy Without You) Il Tempo Gigante 4'18''
Les Claviers De Couleurs Astrobal & Tom Terrien 4'06''
Northern Classic Dani Siciliano 4'16''
Star Ferry Betrand Burgalat 3'20''
Late Mouse On Mars 3'41''
Let's Get Slow (Wolniej Badz) Milka 3'10''
Holding The Mirror For Sophia Loren Thomas Fehlmann 4'19''

Nice as well:

Limp Orion Morr Music
EP: 5,99 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Aquarium Eyes Karaoke Kalk
LP: 14,99 €
CD: 9,99 €
incl. instant DL

Various Artists

Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By

Karaoke Kalk Kalk 85 CD
  • LP : Includes Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
1990 endete die Apartheid in Südafrika und wurde zum ersten Mal nach dem Fall der Mauer eine gesamtdeutsche Wahl abgehalten. Ein Vierteljahrhundert ist das her, und in all dieser Zeit haben Donna Regina Musik gemacht. „Avec le Temps“ erschien 1990, und von dort aus sind Regina und Günther Janssen mit der Zeit gezogen, als Musiker und als Ehepaar. Sie haben Stücke geschrieben und aufgenommen für bislang 12 Alben. Zumeist als im Wortsinne Hausmusik, denn ihre Musik ist fast immer dort entstanden, wo Regina und Günther Janssen leben. Erst nur in Köln, inzwischen auch in Berlin.

Dabei ist ihnen ein Wunder gelungen: Sie haben ein Vierteljahrhundert lang ihr Ding gemacht, ohne irgendwelchen Trends zu folgen oder Hypes zu erliegen. Aber ihre Musik klang trotzdem stets frisch, passte zur Zeit und blieb wiedererkennbar. Das hat sicherlich viel mit Regina Janssens gehauchtem Gesang und Günther Janssens leichter Hand und seinem Sinn für die Schönheit von Melodien zu tun. Aber es ist da noch was anderes. „In dieser Musik stecken Souveränität, Erfahrung, Wahrheit und ja, auch so etwas wichtiges wie Trotz und Stolz“, schrieb De:Bug 2007. Das war gut beobachtet, galt damals allerdings schon fast 18 Jahren zuvor, und heute stimmt es immer noch.

In den 25 Jahren ist die Musik von Donna Regina um die ganze Welt gereist und sie ihr hinterher: nach Polen und nach Portugal, nach Argentinien, Brasilien und auch nach Japan. Vielleicht war es auch umgedreht: Sie sind losgefahren und haben vor Ort ihre Musik ausgepackt, als ein Geschenk oder eine Freundschaftsgabe. Nun wird zurückgeschenkt, denn nichts anderes sind Coverversionen schließlich für jene, die das original geschrieben haben. Hier sind es Tribute von ganz alten und ganz neuen Freunden, von langjährigen Weggefährten und von Verwandten im Geiste. Und was sie in der Musik von Donna Regina gefunden und was sie aus ihr gemacht haben, das ist ein Geschenk auch für jeden Hörer dieser wunderbaren Compilation.

Various Artists: Dis Cover - Donna Regina As Recorded By

Driving In Your Car Dean & Britta 4'51''
End Of September The National Jazz Trio Of Scotland 4'17''
Make My Nana Schlammpeitziger 4'54''
How Beautiful Chica And The Folder 4'06''
Coloured Like Ashes (Monochromie) Leichtmetall 3'42''
Lift Me Up Console 4'55''
Blue (Happy Without You) Il Tempo Gigante 4'18''
Les Claviers De Couleurs Astrobal & Tom Terrien 4'06''
Northern Classic Dani Siciliano 4'16''
Star Ferry Betrand Burgalat 3'20''
Late Mouse On Mars 3'41''
Let's Get Slow (Wolniej Badz) Milka 3'10''
Holding The Mirror For Sophia Loren Thomas Fehlmann 4'19''

Auch schön:

Limp Orion Morr Music
EP: 4,00 € 7,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Aquarium Eyes Karaoke Kalk
LP: 11,24 € 14,99 €
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Ritornell Golden Solitude Karaoke Kalk
LP: 10,49 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €