Various Artists

Not Given Lightly - A Tribute To the Giant Golden Book Of New Zealand's Alternative Music Scene

Morr Music morr 090-2cd
Incl. Instant Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Are sounds sent on a journey they come back in echoes. This compilation is widely traveled - around half of the world and to another time. To the 1980ies when just in New Zealand the archetype of what was called Indie Pop later on was pressed on vinyl and soon defined a new way of how Indie pop has seen itself, concerning sound as well as attitude. "Flying Nun", "Xpressway", "IMD" or "Corpus Hermeticum" were the names of the labels, The Clean, The Chills or Tall Dwarfs the names of the bands. Pop songs or rather hits were born in garages and pressed on screen printed seven inches. A relevant music culture beyond a big and global music industry was thought and lived. Maybe just because it has not reached New Zealand before.
There was a promise in songs like "Not given lightly" by Chris Knox or "Pink Frost" by The Chills. And this promise was heard. In the US Pavement, Yo La Tengo and Sonic Youth referred to New Zealand's Alternative music scene directly. In Germany artists as well as label runners adapted this DIY-idea. Markus Acher, who is part of this compilation with "Lali Puna", played together with Graeme Jefferies. Suddenly, LoFi was present everywhere. And last but not least Morr Music would not have been thinkable without this DIY-idea. Even if the musical means and forms differed in the meantime New Zealand was carried in the heart. "Since a few years", says Thomas Morr, "I have begun to play Flying-Nun-records more often. The songs are simply too great, it would be a pity to leave them to a specialist's knowledge only." Now the Morr Music family has made them to their own in a fantastic way.
Morr Music has recorded its own being and becoming in conceptual compilations twice before. In 2000 "Putting the Morr back into Morrissey" defined the way of how Morr Music sees itself. Besides, it defined the aesthetics of a genre that was called Indietronic once. "Blue Skied An' Clear" - a homage to the British band Slowdive - set to music the status of individual as well as collective sound biographies within the Morr universe.
Now there is "A Tribute to the Giant Golden Book of New Zealand's Alternative Music". It is here partly because the world goes in circles, because this timeless music fits perfectly in a time in which the production conditions of pop music are radically restricted last but not least because of economic conditions. But there is no reason to complain about - this can be learned from the records of that time, too. Particularly because the laptop is heir to the four-track recorder today and at least the sounds have all the freedom possible. "Not Given Lightly" is the archaeology of an atmosphere of breaking up. The latter - consciously or unconsciously - resonates too within most of Morr Music releases. "Not Given Lightly" is an affair of the heart, not only for Thomas Morr. Almost inevitable that with Surf City a young band from New Zealand has meanwhile put its name down on the Morr Music map.

Various Artists: Not Given Lightly - A Tribute To the Giant Golden Book Of New Zealand's Alternative Music Scene

I Like Rain Lali Puna 4'14''
Kaleidoscope World People Press Play 3'58''
Death And The Maiden Tarwater 3'28''
All My Hollowness To You It's A Musical 2'26''
Not Given Lightly B. Fleischmann 4'59''
Pink Frost (The Go Find) The Go Find 3'53''
Glide Guther 3'37''
Afternoon In Bed The Wooden Birds 3'13''
Bee To Honey Butcher The Bar 1'24''
I Think I´d Thought I´d Nothing Else To Think About Sin Fang Bous 2'10''
Up In The Sky Borko 4'08''
Pink Frost (Masha Qrella) Masha Qrella 4'34''
Prisoner Of A Single Passion Saroos 4'17''
Anything Could Happen American Analog Set 4'09''
On An Unknown Beach Bobby & Blumm 3'53''
Light Contriva 4'41''
Harmonic Deluxe ISAN 6'24''
You Forget Electric President 4'13''
Stoffelse Benni Hemm Hemm 3'21''
Wandering Radical Face 3'57''
New Science Guther 3'21''
Nothings Sin Fang Bous 2'56''
Singing Arc (Compilation Version) Seabear 2'27''
Snakes Butcher the Bar 3'15''
Kudos Surf City 3'09''
White Noise Electric President 4'39''
In Case Of Harmony It's A Musical 3'53''
Cornfields Seavault 5'59''
Zodiac Populous 2'18''
Dubstar Saroos 5'08''
Captain Tarwater 3'33''
Happy Chord Whore ISAN 4'04''
Take A Sip Bobby & Blumm 3'12''
Aldebaran Waltz (Compilation Version) B. Fleischmann 7'11''
Múm Early Birds Morr Music
2LP: 14,24 € 18,99 €
CD: 5,00 € 9,99 €
incl. instant DL
Munch Munch Wedding Ep Tomlab
7”: 3,59 € 4,79 €

Various Artists

Not Given Lightly - A Tribute To the Giant Golden Book Of New Zealand's Alternative Music Scene

Morr Music morr 090-2cd
Incl. Instant Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Schickt man die Töne auf Reise, kommen sie in Echos zurück. Diese Compilation ist weit gereist - um die halbe Welt und in eine andere Zeit. In die 1980er Jahre, als ausgerechnet in Neuseeland der Archetypus dessen auf Vinyl gepresst wurde, was bald darauf als Klang und als Haltung ein neues Selbstverständnis von Indiepop definierte. "Flying Nun", "Xpressway", "IMD" oder "Corpus Hermeticum" hießen die Labels, The Clean, The Chills oder Tall Dwarfs die Bands. Popsongs, besser: Hits, wurden in Garagen geboren und auf siebbedruckte Seveninches gepresst. Eine relevante Musikkultur jenseits einer großen, globalen Musikindustrie wurde gedacht und gelebt. Vielleicht auch, weil die es nicht wirklich bis Neuseeland geschafft hatte.
In Stücken wie Chris Knox' "Not given lightly" oder "Pink Frost" von The Chills lag ein Versprechen. Und es wurde erhört. In den USA bezogen sich Pavement, Yo La Tengo, Sonic Youth direkt auf New Zealand's Alternative Music Scene. In Deutschland adaptierten Künstler und Labelmacher diesen Do it yourself-Gedanken. Markus Acher, der mit "Lali Puna" auch Teil dieser Compilation ist, spielte mit Graeme Jefferies. LoFi war plötzlich in aller Ohren. Nicht zuletzt Morr-Music wäre ohne dieses Selbstverständnis des Selbermachens kaum denkbar. Waren die musikalischen Mittel auch zwischenzeitlich andere, trug man doch dieses Neuseeland immer im Herzen. "Seit einigen Jahren", so Thomas Morr "habe ich Flying Nun-Platten wieder häufiger aufgelegt. Es sind einfach so viele großartige Songs, zu schade, um sie einzig einem Spezialistenwissen zu überlassen" Jetzt hat sie die Morr-Music-Familie großartig zu ihren eigenen gemacht.
Zweimal bereits hat das Label das eigene Sein und Werden in konzeptionell angelegten Compilation festgehalten. "Putting the Morr back into Morrissey" hatte im Jahr 2000 das Selbstverständnis von Morr Music und darüber die Ästhetik eines Genres definiert. Indietronic sagte man damals dazu. "Blue Skied An' Clear" - eine Hommage an die britische Band Slowdive - hat den Stellenwert individueller wie kollektiver Sound-Biografien innerhalb des Morr-Universums vertont.
Nun also "A Tribute to the Giant Golden Book of New Zealand's Alternative Music". Und das auch, weil die Welt in Kreisen geht, weil diese zeitlose Musik so gut in eine Zeit passt, in der sich die Produktionsbedingungen von Popmusik nicht zuletzt aufgrund ökonomischer Rahmenbedingungen radikal beschränken. Kein Grund zur Klage allerdings, auch das kann man von den Platten von damals lernen. Zumal das Vierspurgerät längst vom Laptop beerbt wurde und mindestens die Klänge längst alle Freiheiten der Welt haben. "Not Given Lightly" ist die Archäologie einer Aufbruchsstimmung, die - bewusst oder unbewusst - in den meisten Veröffentlichungen von Morr-Music schwingt. "Not Given Lightly" ist eine Herzensangelegenheit, nicht nur für Thomas Morr. Zwangsläufig geradezu, dass sich mit Surf City nun auch eine junge Band aus Neuseeland auf der Morr Music-Landkarte eingetragen hat.

Various Artists: Not Given Lightly - A Tribute To the Giant Golden Book Of New Zealand's Alternative Music Scene

I Like Rain Lali Puna 4'14''
Kaleidoscope World People Press Play 3'58''
Death And The Maiden Tarwater 3'28''
All My Hollowness To You It's A Musical 2'26''
Not Given Lightly B. Fleischmann 4'59''
Pink Frost (The Go Find) The Go Find 3'53''
Glide Guther 3'37''
Afternoon In Bed The Wooden Birds 3'13''
Bee To Honey Butcher The Bar 1'24''
I Think I´d Thought I´d Nothing Else To Think About Sin Fang Bous 2'10''
Up In The Sky Borko 4'08''
Pink Frost (Masha Qrella) Masha Qrella 4'34''
Prisoner Of A Single Passion Saroos 4'17''
Anything Could Happen American Analog Set 4'09''
On An Unknown Beach Bobby & Blumm 3'53''
Light Contriva 4'41''
Harmonic Deluxe ISAN 6'24''
You Forget Electric President 4'13''
Stoffelse Benni Hemm Hemm 3'21''
Wandering Radical Face 3'57''
New Science Guther 3'21''
Nothings Sin Fang Bous 2'56''
Singing Arc (Compilation Version) Seabear 2'27''
Snakes Butcher the Bar 3'15''
Kudos Surf City 3'09''
White Noise Electric President 4'39''
In Case Of Harmony It's A Musical 3'53''
Cornfields Seavault 5'59''
Zodiac Populous 2'18''
Dubstar Saroos 5'08''
Captain Tarwater 3'33''
Happy Chord Whore ISAN 4'04''
Take A Sip Bobby & Blumm 3'12''
Aldebaran Waltz (Compilation Version) B. Fleischmann 7'11''
Skallander Skallander Type
CD: 3,00 € 5,99 €
Lorenzo Senni Early Works Kesh
CD: 7,00 € 13,99 €
incl. instant DL
Takeo Toyama Etudes Karaoke Kalk
LP: 7,00 € 13,99 €
CD: 3,50 € 13,99 €