Von Spar


Italic ITA100CD
  • LP+CD : Includes Download
  • CD : Includes Download
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Precarious bon vivants, gifted musicians, radical guys – VON SPAR are many things, but above all, they are one of the most amazing bands in the realms that the British music press once baptized as Krautrock. Sebastian Blume, Jan Philipp Janzen, Christopher Marquez and Phillip Tielsch have in past been praised even more than the revenants of the genre (in 2012, together with Stephen Malkmus, before the watering eyes of CAN founding members Irmin Schmidt and Jaki Liebezeit, they provided a reinterpretation of the album "Ege Bamyasi" at the Cologne Weekend Festival) – even if the four were inspired equally by techno, synthpop, noise, post- punk and new music.

"The concept of the collective VON SPAR seems to be to torpedo listeners' expectations from album to album," wrote the German newspaper TAZ about their last album "Foreigner". And once again, much is new on "Streetlife". Four of the eight pieces were recorded with the Canadian singer Chris Cummings, aka Marker Starling (formerly Mantler), whose fragile voice at moments recalls that of the great communist and musician Robert Wyatt. Other pieces feature the voice of Ada (Pampa Records) and of Scout Niblett (Drag City), for whom Jan Philipp Janzen has played drums on various tours (as he has for the likes of Owen Pallett and The Field).

"Streetlife" has emerged as a heterogeneous album ranging from melodic piano disco ("Chain Of Command"), to tripped out soundscapes ("Hearts Fear"), to grandiose soft rock ("Try Though We Might"). One might call it music for a better world, if that didn't sound so lofty. Yet VON SPAR are not at all lofty, they are wide awake. This is not escapism, but life in the streets. And that's how they live it.

Von Spar: Streetlife

Chain Of Command Von Spar 4'40''
Breaking Formation Von Spar 4'31''
Hearts Fear Von Spar 5'10''
V.S.O.P Von Spar 6'38''
Ahnherr der Schtwätzer Von Spar 6'57''
Try Though We Might Von Spar 4'30''
Duvet Days Von Spar 8'15''
One Human Minute Von Spar 7'01''

Nice as well:

Von Spar

Streetlife

Italic ITA100CD
  • LP+CD : Includes Download
  • CD : Includes Download
Preise inkl. 19 % USt, exkl. Versandkosten.
Sendungen außerhalb EU sind 15,96% günstiger.
Prekäre Bonvivants, begnadete Musiker, radikale Typen – VON SPAR sind vieles, vor allem aber eine der erstaunlichsten Bands aus jenen Gefilden, deren spannendere Musik von den Briten Krautrock getauft wurde. Sebastian Blume, Jan Philipp Janzen, Christopher Marquez und Phillip Tielsch wurden in der Vergangenheit öfter als Wiedergänger des Genres gefeiert, auch wenn sich die vier gleichermaßen von Techno, Synthpop, Noise, Postpunk und Neuer Musik inspirieren ließen. (U.a. lieferten sie 2012 gemeinsam mit Stephen Malkmus vor den Augen der gerührten CAN Gründungsmitglieder Irmin Schmidt und Jaki Liebezeit eine Neuinterpretation des Albums "Ege Bamyasi" auf dem Kölner Weekend Festival).

"Das Konzept des Kollektivs VON SPAR scheint zu sein, Hörerwartungen von Album zu Album zu torpedieren", schrieb die TAZ über das letzte Album "Foreigner", und tatsächlich ist auf "Streetlife" wieder vieles neu. Vier der acht Stücke wurden mit dem kanadischen Sänger Chris Cummings aka Marker Starling (formerly Mantler) eingespielt, dessen fragile Stimme in manchen Momenten an den großen Kommunisten und Musiker Robert Wyatt erinnert. Auf weiteren Stücken singen Ada (Pampa Records), so wie Scout Niblett (Too Pure, Drag City), für die Jan Philipp Janzen auf verschiedenen Tourneen in der Vergangenheit Schlagzeug gespielt hat (wie u.a. auch für Owen Pallett und The Field).

"Streetlife" ist ein heterogenes Album geworden, das von melodischem Pianodisco ("Chain Of Command") über vertrippte Soundscapes ("Hearts Fear") und pompösen Softrock ("Try Though We Might") in eine bessere Welt führt, könnte man sagen, klänge das nicht so pathetisch. Denn VON SPAR sind nicht pathetisch, sondern hellwach. Das ist kein Eskapismus, sondern life in the streets. And that’s how they live it.

Von Spar: Streetlife

Chain Of Command Von Spar 4'40''
Breaking Formation Von Spar 4'31''
Hearts Fear Von Spar 5'10''
V.S.O.P Von Spar 6'38''
Ahnherr der Schtwätzer Von Spar 6'57''
Try Though We Might Von Spar 4'30''
Duvet Days Von Spar 8'15''
One Human Minute Von Spar 7'01''

Auch schön: