• LP: Includes download, Incl. printed Inner Sleeve, 180 gr Vinyl
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
Following on from 2015's Flailing Tomb LP, which appeared in numerous 'best of the year' lists, Petrels – the solo project of London-based musician and illustrator, Oliver Barrett – returns with new album, Jörð.

From the ethereal choral build of 'A Little Dust' (adapted from words by W. B. Yeats), to the euphoric aural scree of 'The Last Shard Falls', and the driving, long-form song structures, interwoven arrangements and mythological trappings of 'The Long Man', previous listeners of Barrett's work will find much to welcome in a record that builds on the distinctive, ecstatic Petrels sound.

Elsewhere, Barrett teases this sound into new shapes; 'Terra Nullius' takes an oscillating woodwind cluster and hangs from it a defiant and densely constructed (almost)pop song; 'Waldgeist' slowly unravels a deceptively simple string refrain in an elegiac and gently expanding, haunted pastoral arrangement; and 'Seithenyn Sleeps' encapsulates the joyously overwhelming live Petrels sound into a swirling, enveloping closer.

Drawing together the numerous strands of Petrels releases so far whilst confidently weaving them together into something new that promises even more to come, Jörð is another singular release from this restlessly inventive and inventively restless artist.

Since releasing his debut Haeligewielle in 2011, Petrels has toured across Europe and shared a stage with the likes of Tim Hecker, FIRE!, Nate Young (Wolf Eyes), Trouble Books, Demdike Stare, Nadja, and Hans-Joachim Roedelius (Cluster). Having also collaborated with and provided remixes for artists as varied as Duane Pitre, Brassica, Talvihorros and Max Cooper, Petrels' output is proving to be thrillingly eclectic and unpredictable.

Petrels: Jörð

A Little Dust Petrels
Terra Nullius Petrels
The Last Shard Falls Petrels
Waldgeist Petrels
The Long Man Petrels
Seithenyn Sleeps Petrels

Nice as well:

Rayon A Beat of Silence Morr Music
LP: €16,99
CD: €14,99
incl. instant DL
ISAN Greencracked / Catgot A Number Of Small Things
7”: €4,99
LP+7": €18,99
incl. instant DL
Mouse on Mars Lichter Infinite Greyscale
10”: €20,99
incl. instant DL