Various Artists

Pop Ambient 2017

Kompakt Kompakt CD 135
  • LP: Includes download, light corner wear on one side (traces of transport)
incl. 19 % VAT, excl.  Shipping
Delivery outside of EU is 15,96% off.
POP AMBIENT - our longest-running compilation series after Total - sees a new instalment for 2017, featuring exclusive material from acclaimed genre veterans and series newcomers JENS-UWE BEYER, YUI ONODERA & SCANNER, MAX WÜRDEN, LEANDRO FRESCO, THORE PFEIFFER, KENNETH JAMES GIBSON and SOULSAVERS remixed by WOLFGANG VOIGT.

Following his own cues from preceding entries, Pop Ambient chief curator Voigt again strikes a perfect ratio of established producers and debuting guests: our complete Pop Ambient solo album crew makes an appearance, from JENS-UWE BEYERs atmospheric soundscapes on the tracks FINAL 9.1 and FINAL 10, to THORE PFEIFFERs glitch romance GOOD LIFE, LEANDRO FRESCOs beatific drone fests SONIDO ESPAÑOL and EL ABISMO, as well as KENNETH JAMES GIBSONs melancholic epic HER FLOOD KNOCKED ME TO THE GROUND (BUT I WAS ALREADY THERE. Other returning artists include ANTON KUBIKOV of SCSI-9 fame (with electronic reverie DEKKA) and Cologne soundsmith MAX WÜRDEN, who was last seen releasing wonderfully immersive albums on BineMusic and Wolfgang Voigt’s very own Exponate series. His guitar-infused, dubbed-out cut FERNFELD and the mysterious electronic mantra 186.000 MILES PER SECOND are particularly striking renditions of the rich sonic narratives possible in Pop Ambient.

For the 2017 release, we welcome Tokyo-based Pop Ambient novice YUI ONODERA with his tracks CROMO1 and CROMO2, which both serve as opener: a trained musician and architectural acoustic designer by trade, Onodera embeds diverse influences from traditional sound design, film scores, contemporary composition and electro-acoustic experimentation in his work, resulting in intricate drone sculptures and sound skylines. This skill set gels naturally with the sonic sensibilities of iconic experimental composer SCANNER who teams up with Onodera for the cut LOCUS SOLUS - it’s an incredible honour to have such a towering figure in advanced electronic music on board. Wolfgang Voigt himself makes an appearance as remixer, turning the track HAL from electronic-rock-gospel duo SOULSAVERS’ 2015 album “Kubrick” into a voluptuous and immersive sound journey. It’s the cherry on top of a particularly fluffy cake that will prove irresistible to any connoisseur of ambient music.

Various Artists: Pop Ambient 2017

Cromo2 Various Artists
Her Flood Knocked Me To The Ground (But I Was Already There) Various Artists
Hal Various Artists
Locus Solus Various Artists
Final 9 Various Artists
Fernfeld Various Artists
Dekka Various Artists
Sonido Espanol Various Artists
Good Life Various Artists
186,000 Miles Per Second Various Artists
El Abismo Various Artists
Final 10 Various Artists

Nice as well:

ISAN Glass Bird Movement Morr Music
LP+7": €18,99
CD: €7,50 €14,99
incl. instant DL
Sin Fang Spaceland Morr Music
LP+12": €18,74 €24,99
LP: €14,99 €19,99
CD: €7,50 €14,99
incl. instant DL
Nadia Reid Preservation Basin Rock
LP: €18,99
CD: €13,99